Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
22
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2014
This is a pretty good entry in the franchise. I like the fact that the plot picks up from the original film and that the local police become the antagonists of the film freeing up Leatherface to become an unlikely anti-hero! The filmmakers clearly wanted to do something different in this entry as it would have been stale to keep remaking the same film constantly which is what it's forebears are. (Although Nispels remake is good).

The cast is ok, the actors are likeable and the leading lady Alexandra Daddario who plays heather is both likeable and sympathetic. She is the innocent one caught up in all this and the audience should sympathise with her. (I know I did). she is also very attractive and very pleasing to look at. The film unfortunately does fall down in a few places though. The timeline is wrong as by my accounts Heather should be aged 39 and she clearly looks about 25. There are also some unfortunate dialogue moments in the film particularly towards the end of the film that the filmmakers must find regrettable.

Apart from those unfortunate instances, all in all, the film is good. It is well directed, violent in places with lots of gore and I think largely succeeds in what it was trying to accomplish. Some fans of the franchise might be put of by this new Leatherface but I think for the franchise to continue and evolve it is necessary to try and flesh out the character a bit. Am looking forward to the next instalment. 7/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2016
This movie had an awful amount of potential. It felt to me like it was now or never to do a sequel to the original, people are starting to give up hope with all the bad TCM films that have come out.

The first minute or two of this film is great, that however is because it is a recap of the original. Seconds after you realise mistakes throughout the entire film. People moan about the stupid timeline and the fact that heather should be like late 30's and Leatherface should be about 60 but I can let that go, however there are so many things that do bother me, for example:

In the original you had the hitchiker, the cook and Leatherface. This film starts literally minutes after and yet there are like four extra family members at the residence. I can understand calling family for help at this moment but there is a young lady and a newborn baby at the house. Why would you bring a young lady and a baby to a dangerous situation such as this? Simply because they need Heather to be there for future reference. It's stupid that within seconds this film is littered with mistakes. Maybe that doesn't bother you, fine forget that. What about a Sheriff letting a mob burn the house down to the ground? Doesn't sound very "sheriff like" to me.

The story feels like it's been written by a teenager who is still in school it's that far-fetched and unrealistic!
However, I give this film three stars because it has some good points. I watched the bonus features and you notice how hard they've tried to make this a good sequel, even down to recreating the original house from nothing just to have to end up burning it. I also feel that Dan Yeager acted out the part of Leatherface very well, it wasn't his fault that the script was so poor! All in all everybody really put a lot of effort in to this movie and it does shine through, all the mistakes and plot holes let the movie down though, especially the ending.

This is worth a watch but not much more. Normally I'd suggest renting it but this film is currently £5 on Blu Ray and I think that's a good deal, it's about what this film is worth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
I liked this film. I liked this film because it is better than those films that feature, and I use the term loosely, 'singers'. Yes yes this film is crazy OTT violent, but it's supposed to be, it's not Walt Disney, it's horror slasher. Not for children. Shaun Sipos (final destination part 2) says the c word and then meets a very sticky end. The goth guy from cherry falls gets an extremely harsh execution scene. I actually felt sorry for leatherface at one point so if was enormously satisfying to see him get his groove on. The lead actress is ok, tolerable. There's not much more to type. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
This film is actually pretty good, and definitely the best of the trio of modern Texas Chainsaw movies. I won't get into the details of the plot, as many people have outlined it in detail already, but suffice it to say, the characters, scenic location and pleasingly different storyline make for an enjoyable experience.

The film impressed me with the extra bits of story and scenery that took a while to build up. The cinematography is excellent, and you really get a feel that the film-makers enjoyed the environment they were shooting in. Alexandra Daddario in the lead role is a complete charmer, she proves to be a cool, calm, and collected young woman who cuts a stunningly beautiful figure in her crop top and low-rise jeans.

The transfer to Blu-ray is impeccable, with only fine banding during transitions. Slight grain has been added, to give it a more filmic look, as it was (commonly) shot digitally. Audio is excellent, with a lossless 7.1 track providing punch during the many jump scares.

Overall i overwhelmingly recommend this film, especially if you thought the movie from 2003 with Jessica Biel was good, this one is much better.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
The film is flawed with inconsistances like the age of the characters and that bit where Leatherface jumps over a sorrounding fence (with Chainsaw in hand) despite all other scenes emphasisng a bad leg and limp! If you are a fan of the original then the extras on the blu ray make up for it. What really struck me about the film watching the second time is how the film-makers basically kill off the previous franchise in the first 7 minutes and get key players from the original to basically sign it's death warrant. Money talks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
Here we go again, another desperate attempt to re-vamp the iconic franchise. 'Texas Chainsaw' really isn't anything special. It's generic, cliched and to be frank - boring. Like most Hollywood remakes, it adds nothing new to the genre. What do you expect? It's a movie created for kids who know very little about horror or cinema!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
It's been about 8 years since we last saw Leatherface in the cinema and finally after all this time he gets the justice he deserves, the remake in 2003 was pretty good but it lacked a lot in that it's a horror movie with hardly any blood and guts! But this new version is a splatterfest!! Lionsgate certainly have done a better job than Newline did with it, the story continues immediately after the events of the original 1970s version which is great as it incorporates footage from the original during the open sequence then cuts straight into what happened next, you can forget about the awful original parts 2 and 3 as they have been completely disregarded which is for the best. The story cuts to years later as new events take place, the story is very good and well paced with a pretty decent cast to carry it, Leatherface looks brilliant and exactly similar to the original and the film is not shy of the red stuff, plenty of chainsaw action as Leatherface really take centre stage now as the lead villain, the gore is very good and it's the first time we see somebody really cut in half!! I really don't understand the negativity for this it could have been much worse is it had been another Michael bay production, there are a few discrepancies in the time line but nothing major people are just nitpicking, its certainly one of the best movie maniac films in a while and Leatherface is awesome, if you're a fan of good horror movies this is certainly a must see. The 3D was ok just another gimmick to make money really it wasn't needed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
This Simply An Amazing Movie That Redefines the Texas Chainsaw Massacre Franchise, with an Entirely New Direction for the futere movies. It's starts where the 1974 original classic ends with the locals looking for revenge on the sawyer family & leatherface, they burn the house to the ground and take the chainsaw as a trophy in their local bar and assume that leatherface died in the fire along with his twisted family.

As the locals celebrate one of them finds a woman woman injured from the flames of the fire and find a baby with after killing the woman he takes. Then we pick up modern day where the baby has grown up & is planning a road trip with her boyfriend and her freinds to collect her grandma's house, they pick up a hitchiker along the way & as they arrive at the house they are unaware of the crazed lunatic chainsaw wielding mad man living in the basement below.

So I Leave it there for anyone who wants to watch this move can see what happens for themselfs, Overall a great movie that has a ton of extra's (on the Blu-Ray version)that will please fans and will be a great history lesson for new or casul fans of the texas chainsaw massacre frranchise, Enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
A LITTLE BETTER THAN THE 1974 ORIGINAL MOVIE.!
I LOVE HOW THE CHAINSAW COUGHES WHEN STARTED UP.!
A REALLY GOOD MOVIE.
PLENTY OF EXTRAS " INTERVIEWS - TO CAST - SPECIAL FX "
DOLBY DIGITAL - NIGHT TIME 2 CHANNEL AUDIO.
DTS HIGH MASTER 7.1 AUDIO / DTS 7.1 TEST SET UP.!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
After 1974, the Texan townspeople suspected that the Sawyer family were responsible.

A mob of enraged locals surrounded the Sawyer house, burning it to the ground and killing every last member of the family.

Decades later, Heather learns that she has inherited a Texas estate from her grandmother.

she decides to bring her friends along on the road trip to investigate her inheritance.

On arrival she uncovers she has inherited a mansion but is yet to uncover the terrors that lurk in the basement below it....

So in theory, this film is a direct sequel to the first movie, disregarding the originals sequels and taking a big, huge risk. It failed miserably, but kudos for the makers of the movie for trying to do something a little different.

again with these sort of movies, the main problem is the character development. There is none here, and the gang of kids are the usual unlikeable lot that you don't mind being killed.

The main girl is a little more human, but she turns out weird at the end anyway. Gore is really fake and in your face, and Clint Eastwoods son turns up a second time in my movie viewing month, not doing much other than trying to look like his dad back in the day.

If you are looking for something that could restore your faith in the horror genre, especially the remake side, you won't find it here.

If you want a silly movie you can have on in the back ground, where you can laugh at scenes where the 3D should be, and not worry about plot development, but have a pretty twisted ending, you could do a lot worse.

but only just...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse