Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
37
4.5 out of 5 stars
Ernest and Celestine [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 February 2017
My boyfriend picked this film for us to watch for the first time on a day I was feeling down. We both loved the story, the water colour drawings, the animation, the voices, the creativity and the cuteness. I was cheered from the first 5 mins. This is one adorable animation film, not at all patronising or silly. It is original, great for adults and children, endearing and wonderful. A new favourite.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
Absolutely one of my all time favourite films, the artwork is beautifully done in watercolour, a joy to watch. The storyline has some very teachable points on friendship, loyalty and not judging people who are different. There are some laugh out loud moments relating to the police chases from 'bear world' and 'mouse world' really funny, and a tear jerking ending, a happy one at that.
Great family film, in French with English subtitles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2017
Lovely animation in french, downloaded to my ipad using amazon prime video app and easily enough controlled by my 2 year old for long car journeys. Pity theres no way to turn the subtitles off, they spoil the beautiful animations and pointless for small children who must be the prime audience of this film. Why is it so hard to get foreign language films for download in the UK?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2017
Couldn't read subtitles as they were white and often blended into the background, hence , had little idea what the plot/storyline was.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
In French with English subtitles, this is a very enjoyable film. We have enjoyed it in the family, but I also teach French in primary schools and my KS2 classes have really enjoyed it. In England when a child loses a tooth and places it under the pillow, it's the tooth fairy that takes it away and leaves in its place a coin. However, in France, this job is performed by the little mouse - la petite souris - and this point of cultural information provides an interesting discussion amongst children in the class. As for the film, the graphics and animation are wonderful, lovely narrative and incidental music; food for thought about friendship, kindness, society, the law - altogether a lovely experience.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
I really loved this movie, and i have been meaning to get it for a long time.......
The story is great and fun and i would encourage all to watch young and old, for it also shows love and caring has no boundaries and any differences are not important.
So many great little lessons in animated form but true to real life, so get it, sit back relax and enjoy 10/10
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
The French animated feature film Ernest & Celestine is a ligthhearted and introspective animated film that draws you into the charming, quirky world of two unlikely friends. They go out on a limb to help each other, even if it means facing the consequences. The whole movie looks like a watercolour storybook come to life, with deceptively gorgeous character animation and a beautiful gauche colour palette.

The world of Ernest & Celestine is split into the bear world and the sutberranean mouse world. Both Ernest the bear and Celestine the mouse are outcasts from their societies, down on their luck and neither wanting to fit into what is asked of them. When the two agree to help each other out as their situations are especially bleak, they strike up an odd, charming and often hilarious friendship.

With both lots of humour and beautiful, heartfelt moments, Ernest & Celestine is a beautiful reminder of the simple, poignant beauty that animated movies can bring to life.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
...I shall call her Celestine. Or at least I would if speaking in an exaggerated French accent for the rest of my days were a realistic option. This is an animation with a thumping big heart. The fluid, pure artwork and score set off the platonic love story rather wonderfully and the charming details throughout the script are second to none. The myriad of uses the director finds for mousetraps (other than the obvious of course) will have you smiling throughout.

There are many messages to uncover during this boy meets girl, girl makes boy less grumpy, boy nurtures girls secret ambition tail. Ahem, tale. And the brilliant characterization really carries the moral meaning without impinging on the sweet simplicity of this poignant little film. I will be buying this as a present for someone I love.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
It's a very cute movie. The storyline is nice, and the drawings superb.
The dvd package itself was just the dvd and a printed cover, no booklet or anything, but I don't mind because I guess these guys did not have the budget for it.
Loved the show, will definitely watch whatever they have to offer in the future.

Well done!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
This animation brings to life the beautiful Ernest and Celestine books. I particularly loved the way that they have kept the original look, using the original book illustrations as the basis of the animation style. The soundtrack is great and I dare say this will go on to become a staple, childrens classic. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)