Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
65
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2017
Not easy movie but lot of acting for thinking. Not as todays Singing with the stars nothingness. Good class description of social bounderies in English society . Well made drama with social content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
Watching the old Bogarde films and having read recently The Authorised Biography I have honestly developed a greater respect for. the man. I also recommend Victim which I bought from Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
There is a need for an edition of THE SERVANT which includes, as extras, the deleted scenes. In the interviews published as LOSEY ON LOSEY, the director told Tom Milne that he 'would really like to restore all the scenes that were cut. They do still exist'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Completely satisfied thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Great film, gorgeous print, and received in a timely manner. I love amazon.co.uk!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2016
Two of the best Dirk Bogarde films represent very good value jt
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2016
Interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2011
The most erotic scene ever filmed with no nudity whatsoever ... just your imagination. It contains the Master of the house and Baratts 'sister' in the kitchen (if my memory serves me correct) There is a dripping tap, innuendo, huge amounts of discomfort, anticipation and not a nipple in sight. Wonderful, wonderful acting!
33 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2009
'The Servant' used to be shown on telly - a lot. It seemed to crop up just about every school holiday - on BBC2, where it was shown at a 'respectable' hour when young minds could not possibly be corrupted by it.

As I child, I loved it. I knew it virtually off by heart, without really understanding a word of it.

Thirty years later, and rather more grown up, I rejoiced at its release on dvd. Douglas Slocombe's stunning black and white photography looks infinitely finer than it ever looked on telly, and the nasty little world that Joseph Losey and Harold Pinter have created from Robin Maugham's novel is compelling viewing.

There are some magical moments of pure Pinter, both tragic and very amusing, and for my money this film is vastly superior to the rather tedious 'Accident'. The performances are remarkable, with the crown of course going to Dirk Borgarde, whose creepy Barratt manages to act everyone off the screen without upsetting the balance.

'The Servant' sums up an era, and the hard winter of 1963 is shown to great effect. The rain and snow over a bleak London are obviously the real thing - and every bit as chilly as the emotions of the characters portrayed.

This film is one for the collection. Enjoy (if that's the right word!)
22 Comments| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)