Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Handmade Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Pre-order now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
31
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2016
I only heard of Midge Ure after playing Metal Gear Solid V : The Phantom Pain and hearing that fantastic cover of David Bowie's 'The Man Who Sold The World,' (which is on this collection) and searching like a mad man for the identity of the artist responsible. I knew I had to have a physical copy of that awesome track.
Prior to this I had little to no knowledge of Midge or even Ultravox! I have since learned he was a floating member of one of my favourite old school bands - Thin Lizzy - which has sweetened the deal for me! The only issue with this is I have no idea if there is any other 'essential' or 'classic' Mr. Ure tracks that have been left off this collection (e.g. a Lynyrd Skynyrd collection without 'Freebird,' ...aaaarrrrggghhh!!!).
The style of the songs vary greatly, perhaps more than any other collection I can think of. Ranging from typical synth-driven 80's pop ('If I Was), hard rock instrumentals ('The Chieftain/The Dancer') whatever 'Textures' is, and songs that mix in a bit of everything like 'Call Of The Wild.'
Ure is a guitarist, and whilst the guitar has a pretty heavy presence on these songs, they never really take centre stage and you wouldn't describe the sound as that of a 'riff band' like Metallica, Led Zeppelin etc. Every instrument serves the song and their strong sense of melody first and foremost.
There are some live tracks here as well, how much of it is actually 'live' and not overdubbed I haven't a clue, but if there is no overdubbing, Midge Ure sounds like the finest live act on the planet!
Loses a star as around 5/6 of the 33 tracks are different versions of the songs already on this collection and there are around a trio a quite plodding tracks. Otherwise, a great collection of the Master's Works!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
Recently caught Midge Ure live & forgot how many great 'solo' songs he had. This is a great collection of his post Ultravox work with some added 12" mixes (remember them). I took a star off rating because the version of "Fade To Grey" is a live version. All in all a great album....
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
Having been to see Midge live recently I thought it was time to invest in the back catalogue. All the classics are here, cleaned up and remastered. This is a great selection of his hits across the years with some great and rare live tracks including his contributions to Ultravox and Visage.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
Brilliant - literally. Singer, songwriter, guitarist, producer. Midge Ure will always be synonymous with Ultravox and wit Bob Geldof, Band and Live Aid. There was so much more to the lad from Cambuslang though. He was in The Rich Kids, toured as a guitarist (albeit briefly) with Thin Lizzy, was a founder member of Visage..
There is a lot here - solo work and collaberations - notably After A Fashion - enjoy...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
This great value collection is a wonderful showcase of the mega talented Ultravox frontman's solo output.
All the hits are here...plus many more classic album tracks that highlight just what a remarkable musician this likeable Glaswegian truly is.
Mainly known as a "synth" star of the 80's "The Works" provides undeniable proof that Midge is also one of the finest exponents of an electric guitar...witness the brilliant solo in "Dear God".
Fantastic stuff from a true icon!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
Whilst the quality of the music on these discs is unquestionable, has no-one else noticed the skip after 26 seconds of 'Fields of Fire'? I've returned my initial copy to Amazon and the replacement received today has exactly the same fault.
2222 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
A collection of Midge Ure's solo tracks from his solo albums (not Ultravox) as well as his work with Visage and Thin Lizzy.A very good and comprehensive collection of songs on two CD's. I just love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
I've been a big fan of Midge's music since way back, and after a good 15 years away from it, listening again has been wonderful. He has such a unique voice, and just hearing it again takes me right back to my happy teenage years. I am listening again to all the music he has written, including some new stuff I have missed through out the last few years, and I am not disappointed. (reading his book too...very interesting!) This new collection of his best works is a great mix up of old classics, and live recordings, and a must for any fan. Been singing at the top of my voice on every car journey since this popped through the letterbox yesterday. Go on...treat yourself.
33 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
Anyone wanting to get an idea of just how good Midge is should buy this cd. Outstanding value for money and beats the other "hits" hands down. A few fans have bemoaned the lack of very rare tracks but anyone looking for something a little bit special should give this a whirl!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
This album is truly amazing and i haven't stopped listening to since i bought it. Between this and Ultravox the albums boxed set, i just can't get enough of these guys.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse