Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2013
I finally became frustrated with the unreliability of a radio-controlled alarm clock I bought from Aldi a few months back (it kept randomly switching between UK and European radio transmitters, jumping an hour forwards or backwards each time), and decided to replace it with this Acctim clock.

What a difference! Not only did this clock lock onto, and hold, the radio time signal almost immediately, everything about its design is great. The user interface is perfect: a sliding on-off switch for the alarm, with some red paint showing when its on; an easy-to-hit combined snooze and light button on the top; straightforward clock and alarm setting buttons; and a display that shows at a glance all of the most pertinent information (time, radio strength indicator, temperature (switchable between C and F), day of the week, alarm time when the alarm is on, and date when the alarm is off).

I was a little nervous about the "night glow" backlight feature, but shouldn't have worried. The glow is really very dim: enough to read the time by, but barely enough to cast a glow onto the surface even immediately in front of the clock. Moreover, there is a button on the back to turn this feature off altogether, if you don't like it (and to substantially prolong the battery life, I would imagine).

The user guide recommends changing the batteries (two AAs) every 12 months, if you use the night glow feature. If this is right, then that doesn't seem too bad.

My only slight word of caution is that, like all LCDs, it has a relatively narrow range of viewing angles. In particular, if you look up at the clock from below, by more than a few degrees, the digits can start to fade. Mine is fine from horizontal or a bit above, and side-to-side visibility is also quite good. If mine is typical, then it's just if you want to place it on a surface higher than your pillow (and don't want to have to reach up and lift the clock down to read the time), you might be better off with a different design (e.g. an LED clock).

Highly recommended!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
I wanted a bedside alarm clock that was well made, not too small, not too large, with temperature readout with an alarm that starts quietly and increases in volume, and very importantly, a subtle nighttime display that doesn't light up the whole room. I chose this one and wasn't sure it would fit the bill but I've been very pleased with it. Despite being made of plastic, it looks and feels fairly high quality. The display is clear, with decent lighting for night time display but thankfully not too bright! During the day the numbers are adequately readable - a mains powered clock would be brighter - but I find it satisfactory. Auto time setting by radio worked quickly. It's battery powered and the manual advises changes batteries one per annum. The alarm sound is a gentle beep, that gets more frequent - no being woken by a jarring buzzer noise. I recommend it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
This clock is fine during normal ambient daylight illumination levels, but at night time in the dark as a bedside clock, it is worse than a chocolate teapot!
The display is almost invisible unless the backlit feature is enabled and the clock is tilted at an unusual angle backwards--this only last for 5 seconds--is this something you would want to be doing when you are tired and in bed-- pure, attractive piece of junk! Don't buy unless you don't want it for a bedroom environment.
N.B. The advertising pictures shown are only represent the display with the 5S backlit feature enabled!!!!!!!!!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
Total agreement with the other 5* reviews which cover the functions of this clock. I would add biggest & clearest display on a clock of this size & a night time readable display without my glasses on & all done without the need for mains connection or pressing of buttons.(Nightlight switches off during daylight) Sturdy feel to its construction & good quality buttons.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
Neat and compact but with a decent size face. Found the time within about 3 minutes. Controls and settings are easy to work. I'm pleased with it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
I've always avoided battery powered alarm clocks because I don't like to worry about the battery but after some thought I ended up going with this because it seemed to be the best clock I could find, with it's dim all night light (which turns off during the day), big display and sleek look it's fab. I don't really keep track of the temperature function and it doesn't seem to be correct. Anyway it receives time at 2, 8 am/pm or that's what it said in the instructions, it seems to work differently in that respect, though.

Now just to see how long the battery lasts (considering my clock isn't next to a light source so it's light is probably on more than it is off.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
Have bought this for an elderly relative so she can see the time clearly during the night without having to put the light on and also for the alarm so she doesn't sleep to late in the morning Firstly the time is very clear and you just have to touch the top of the clock for it to light up and secondly the alarm starts very low and slow with one beep then increasing to 2 beeps then 3 beeps etc getting louder each time which will not waken anyone with a start. Also finds its own time and makes sure it is keeping time Overall very impressed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
These clocks are great! Simple and inuitive to use, with the time accurately set automatically. There are also no annoying beeps when pressing buttons (unlike previous clocks I've been unfortunate enough to buy online. The time is easy to read and the very subtle backlight when dark makes it easy to read when half-asleep without lighting-up the entire room - and you can turn it off if you don't need it. Great alarm clock that even my wife approves of!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
I love the fact that this alarm clock always shows an accurate time.
The alarm is simple to use and wakes you with an ascending beeping. There is a snooze function but I don't use this.
The display is illuminated so it can be read at night, however it is a bit dim so I have to peer to see the time.
Nice touch that it shows temperature and date.
For the money I would recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
Clear, unobtrusive and gives only the information needed. Simple to use, nice alarm signal. You can't go wrong with this clock.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)