Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
18

on 7 September 2013
Robert Gordon's telling of Muddy's life and music takes you deeper into the river of blues origins than any other music biography.

He weaves in the country air and the city's concrete with the music that influenced the world.

After reading this I launched back into Muddy's music with new ears and direction. The book has brought me closer to the sound I have previously played to death and will do so all over again. Great read and great road tales.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2013
Insightful account of a very interesting and massively influential character. Looks into his family life as a patriarch to a large family and well respected musician of the era.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2014
Arrived on time and well packaged, what more can I say than hours of wonderful music by a talented musician.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2013
best book i have read on the blues. details the times, music, and the great man himself. warts and all, no whitewash. 2nd hand book in great condition too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2015
A great history of his life and music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2017
An excellent book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2016
definitive in my book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2012
As one of only two biographies of Muddy Waters and this one now being out of print and hard to obtain I found the book a real pleasure. It gives a different narrative and viewpoint to the biography by Sandra Tooze, which, incidentally, is just as good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2002
This book is one of the best in the genre of blues biographies. Despite the years that have past since Muddy's departure I was left with the feeling that I had known the great man himself. An intimate but respectful view of "the life and times" of one of the greatest historical figures in blues history.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)