Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
Keela Men's Belay Advance Jacket - Desert, XXX-Large
Size: XXX-Large|Colour: Desert|Change
Price:£65.65 - £67.54

on 31 January 2012
Excellent design and quality, which is to be expected from this manufacturer. At a little over 570g this gives an indication of how generous the manufacturer has been with the Primaloft insulation. The insulation is extremely effective.

All the zips are robust and detailing and finish is to a very high standard.

I am 183cm tall and weigh around 90 kilograms, and the XL is a very good fit, not too tight around the torso over a baselayer, and/or thin fleece, and with plenty of room in the upper arms. From the elbow to the wrist, the sleeves taper. The sleeves are generous in length. The tapered lower sleeves and low-profile 'hook and loop'cuff adjusters are very much suited to wearing under long insulated gauntlets.

The jacket is also excellent for everyday wear.

The XL Keela Advance fits well under an XXL Keela Stashaway.

Dimensions of XL size when laid flat -

Armpit to armpit: 26 3/4 inches
Armpit to sleeve cuff 26 inches
Length of front zip (including tunnel neck): 29 3/4 inches
Height of tunnel neck: 4 inches
Length from rear of tunnel neck to rear hem: 34 inches.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2013
I bought this jacket for fly fishing in the winter because it is less than half the price of other jackets using Primaloft insulation - which is one of the best, currently. It's not really been very cold so far, but I've used it a few times and compared it for warm with a top-of-the-range Berghaus windstopper fleece and this jacket is definitely much warmer than a fleece. This makes it a really good when comparatively inactive - as in fishing. It feels like it will be reasonably hard wearing and will shed a shower, but not keep out a downpour. Fit's nicely under my fly vest.
Update. I've now been using this jacket for a good number of months and can report that it does indeed shed a shower and remains in good shape and still really warm. I have also seen the other benefit of Primaloft: it compresses into a small space, which means you can stuff this jacket into a small bag - or in my case the back pocket of my fly vest - so it's completely out of the way until it gets cool enough to need to put it on. Definitely one of my best buys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2012
Originally bought the black one and so impressed I bought the green one as well. Lovely and warm whatever the weather, the colder it is the warmer it feels. Better than a fleece jacket and I've had a few. Did a lot of research into Primaloft jackets which are now all the rage and tried on the Rab, Berghaus and North Face versions. As far as I am aware there is more Primaloft filling in the Keela than the others especially in the sleeves and I feel that overall it can hold its head up high in this exalted company. Have washed the black once (use non bio) and it came out as good as new. The pockets have some sort of handwarming material in them which works well on a cold day. Feels bulky when on but crushes down quite small to pack and feels good as a layer underneath a waterproof shell when its really heaving down. Good value product all round. Looks good too with jeans etc although my wife says I look like a doorman on a nightclub.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2017
As always top quality product from Keela I have previously purchased a number of items from Keela including waterproof jackets and fleeces on this occasion I purchased a Belay jacket which fits perfect and is really warm considering it's thickness and weight another top quality product from Keela at a very reasonable price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2011
I bought a Keela SDP Prosport jacket at the start of winter, it is 100% waterproof but offers little thermal insulation. After trying various combinations of layering I decided to go for the Belay jacket, the idea was to wear the Belay beneath the Prosport to provide a warm and waterproof combination.
In practice this works very well - but it has to be very cold before you need to wear both jackets. The big surprise for me is that the Belay works very well over just a thin base layer, it is extremely warm despite being what I would describe as only a medium thickness jacket and is totally windproof. The jacket looks quite good and is comfortable to wear, the pockets are very good at keeping your hands warm but don't offer a huge amount of storage room - in addition to this there is just one small inside pocket.
I tend to use the Belay as my jacket of choice, the only time I would use the Prosport is if rain is likely.
Like most Keela products, the jacket performs well and looks good without any garish labelling - very pleased!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2013
Bought this jacket a few years ago for a winter ascent of Ben Nevis, but it's so comfortable and versatile that I just ended up wearing it all the time. It is unbelievably warm and comfortable, and quite lightweight too. I've been wearing it solidly for three years and it's still going strong, albeit perhaps getting a little too tatty to use for evenings at the pub now...never mind, I've just bought another one on Amazon! Never did use it on Ben Nevis (or Snowdon) despite having it with me, as my Keela Summit Advance base layer and Keela Munro Jacket were plenty warm enough, despite -15c temps. Buy this Jacket, you won't be disappointed...aside from side pocket flaps occasionally getting caught in the zips, and the inside pocket being a bit small for most wallets, it is perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2013
Got this after some good reviews. Had planned to keep as a spare warm jacket for hill walking in the winter. Super warm and very light weight. Packs into a pretty small space but deceptively warm for such a small jacket. Got a large as I'd heard the fittings were on the neat size and wanted a bit more room for clothes underneath.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2014
Keela is a brand I only really picked up through some military friends. The company produces quality garments at a reasonable price. Granted some things are better than others but if soldiers are happy to spend their hard earned money on this kit to supplement their issue kit that's a good recommendation
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2013
I have no criticisms of this jacket. My wife bought it for me as a Christmas present and I love it. It is lightweight but toasty warm, sleeves are a good length for my gorilla length arms. There is no tightness at the armpits despite a good snug fit. Size medium fits me as a 40 inch chest with a jumper worn underneath.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2014
Excellent warmth for -5 to +10C range. Low weight, very well made. Good trim and attention to details but with no frills. Waist is elasticated and it even zips into a Berghaus jacket as a liner. On its own it is great over a shirt or Tshirt. Only the cuffs are a little let down as not elasticated too. Best value for money and warmth per weight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)