Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2017
really useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
Interesting booking for anyone who likes restoring old stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
This is a fantastic resource for the enthusiastic DIY decorist! It is extremely helpful and demystifies the various techniques. I have just finished my first piece and can't wait to start my next project. Brava Barb Blair :-)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
I was really excited about purchasing this book. I checked the reviews and it looked like it was exactly what I was after. However when it arrived I discovered the techniques described were all pretty basic. She takes sometimes beautiful pieces of antique furniture and wrecks them. Her approach does not seem to consider the piece in question and be sensitive to it's shape etc. She also gives poor advice at times, such as suggesting you wipe over a freshly sanded wooden piece of furniture with a damp towel. That is absolutely the last thing you should ever do, it will raise the grain of the wood and undo all that work sanding! I found the author to be a bit of an idiot and I didn't learn anything new. In addition this is an American book so some of the products she talks about aren't well known here (such as mod podge which I discovered is an expensive way to purchase pva glue). There were no interesting techniques, just paint, sand back or decoupage. Nothing new and nothing interesting. On the plus side, if you don't have any common sense and don't know one end of paintbrush from the other then this might be the book for you. The explanations she gives are very clear. This is the only good thing I can say about this book.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
Great book with practical advice and list of actual products used. Photos of finished pieces show a real consideration for the design chosen for each piece of furniture.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
The book contents were not as informative as I would have liked.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2015
This is a nicely bound book and full of useful tips. The information given is a little sparse if you are a complete newcomer and some of illustrations show items that will not be readily available in todays market place. Overall though a good book and worth buying for the ideas.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
If you want to tart up furniture this is a great place to start. Good ideas, easy to follow with lots of pictures
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
I really love this book , there is so much to learn but this book makes it fun and easy x
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
Real value for money as it has lots of pictures which I find a lot of these cheaper kindle books dont have. Good projects and list of stuff you need to achieve.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)