Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
187
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 August 2017
Arrived in good time, item exactly as described - and great communication from the seller, who took the time to contact me with a dispatch date. I would recommend this seller. As for the film, ithe is a favourite of mine and was ordered as a gift for a family member. Two great actresses and a vampire theme - perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
Really care about them!
Love to find a new "twist" on things.
Great stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 February 2017
This is an interesting, well-made and entertaining film - offering a somewhat different interpretation of the vampire myth. This is a finely crafted movie, from director Neil Jordan (who has presented us with other films in the 'horror' genre - including 'The Company of Wolves' and 'Interview with the Vampire'). The two principal actors are Saoirse Ronan and Gemma Arterton, who play daughter and mother, both centuries old vampires. The pair are on the run, as they're pursued by a 'brotherhood' who doesn't accept female members into their undead fraternity. The daughter is haunted by her past, and troubled by her need to feed on humans. The mother is more pragmatic, struggling to makes ends meet while finding temporary respite from the ever-present pursuers. As the pair seek to make a home for themselves in a quiet seaside resort, the past catches up with them ...

I was fascinated by Jordan's distinct 'take' on vampirism, and at how this movie represents an unusual narrative concerning how these vampires come into being. There are definite similarities to the recent Let Me In [Blu-ray], in terms of focussing on a young-looking but very old female vampire who regularly moves from place to place to avoid bringing attention to herself. Yet this film offers an original storyline. And, for the most part, it's concerned with how someone who doesn't change perceives the passing of time. As such, this vampire film is far removed from the likes of 'Blade' and '30 Days of Night'. The flashbacks in the movie present a secondary narrative, exploring aspects of patriarchy - in particular, the oppression and exploitation of women by men. This has impacted upon the mother, who has endured life as a prostitute.

This is an engaging film, offering a dark and chilling experience. It's not action-packed, nor full of CGI special effects - but, rather, is content with providing an insightful and character-driven story. While I personally preferred 'Interview with the Vampire', this is nonetheless a good contribution to the genre. As such, I highly recommend this movie.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
Having watched parts of this on TV I ended up buying the DVD as the film was always shown late at night, usually finishing at 2am way past my bed time! I actually enjoyed watching this film even though some parts are quite dark. It is similar to 'Interview with a Vampire' with Brad Pitt, Tom Cruise and Christian Slater with lots more gore. This film as a horror, doesn't show you too much blood for a modern day vampire film. Gemma Arterton is good as the mother vampire who tries to protect her daughter Eleanor from the nasty Bretherin who are tracking them down as they don't allow women vampires into their club. Its ends up with Clara and Eleanor staying in Clara's new boyfriend (Daniel Mays) hotel called 'Byzantium' where they end up eventually being tracked down by old foes. The story is good if a bit predictable. It has an interesting cast; Warren Brown appears briefly as the sleezy lap dance club manager, Thure Lindhart (danish actor from ww2 film Flame and Citron) is one of the Bretherin as well as Sam Riley who ends up helping out Clara (Arterton) to be safe. Johnny Lee Miller has a part in as a baddie and Eleanor's strange new friend Frank is a bit of an odd character who puts lives at risk by telling the school where Eleanor goes to about her 'past'. I can't give 5 stars as I did find the film was a bit long 1hour and 50 minutes but will probably watch it again as it was good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Great product, great service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
Like this one - Atmospheric - unusual storyline - Gorgeous Gemma Atterton - great locations & cast (Hastings on SE Coast UK)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
interesting film and thankfully a much better film than his verison of interview with the vampire which i felt he wasn't allowed to make the film his way. this in contrast to that feels much more personal, not as much a horror story but a long mood piece.

i recommended it hugely even though i know its not for everybody.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
Here, we are given a pair of two hundred year old vampires Clara (Gemma Arterton) and Eleanor (Saoirse Ronan), who drift from place to place in hopes of finding peace and comfort, without any trouble. To uphold the average human lifestyle, Clara 'works' for the money to support her and her daughter Eleanor, as they approach a quiet seaside town, one which holds distant, dark and harsh memories for both of them, which begin to resurface with the return of certain characters from the past.
Neil Jordan has directed yet another entertaining and dark, historical vampire horror, that focuses more on a gritty atmosphere and a well-structured storyline with a narrative, much like IWTV, than the gore-laden sub-category of a vampire film. The blood isn't frequent compared to other modern-day horrors, but on the occasions when blood is present, there's a lot of it. The dark atmosphere and the quiet location of the seaside town add to the story as it creates references that connect with Whitby; the location of Bram Stoker's original novel. The soundtrack for Byzantium perfectly reflects the strained relationships between Clara and Eleanor as well as Eleanor and Frank (Caleb Landry Jones), especially Ronan's hypnotising piano sequence in the restaurant, which creates a somber atmosphere. Thankfully the atmosphere is held throughout the film and it never distracts us from the main storyline. I love this film because I had relatively low hopes for it, as I was more interested in watching The Purge, which we went to see straight after Byzantium finished in the cinema. It's funny how Byzantium proved to be much better than The Purge. The acting, the location, the story, and of course, the Blood Red Waterfalls on the coal black island, all contribute to this fine piece of cinema which I would surely watch again. It is well worth a watch.
0Comment| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 January 2014
A stunningly original film, full of yearning and sadness, this has to be one of the best things I have watched for a very long time.

Quality Vampire fiction is out there and relatively easy to find but quality Vampire films are a rare breed indeed. Byzantium manages to be one such film through a combination of original elements, intricately woven amongst staples of the genre.

Two female Vampires live a transient existence, fleeing from those who hunt them. The pursuers are no Van Helsings but their own kind. In languorous, dreamlike flashback and modern day counterpoint, their relationships to each other and the strikingly different ways they view the world unfold. Flashback in film is often tricky to pull off, making one element always seem to over power the other but Jordan skilfully interweaves the narratives making both equally compelling and surprising.

Part horror, part drama laced with love and loss, this film is one for true Vampire fans. Saoirse Ronan, who plays Eleanor and Gemma Arterton, (of whom I am not normally a fan) playing Clara act their socks off, fully inhabiting the strange and lonely lives of the immortal. Caleb Landry Jones, who plays Frank, a teenage lad who tries to befriend Eleanor is a revelation in a pivotal role that would have been easy to crash and burn. His yearning is painfully real to watch and it is he that in many ways drives the piece, providing a glimpse of a life that Eleanor wants but can never have.

Neil Jordan's direction and vision is utterly perfect for the subject matter, rendering the film a visual and aural delight as much as an absorbing story. The colours, the lighting, the setting and above all, the knife edge between savagery and vulnerability is handled with masterful subtlety.

For the true aficionado there are markers from the canon of historical and modern Vampire mythology to be found. Numerous in-genre name checks and esoteric gothic touches give this an additional depth for the well-read Vampire fan. Highly recommended and one I will watch again and again. A glorious, gothic masterpiece.
44 Comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Love the story, others are better at reviewing this then me. I felt this was a very nice twist to the traditional vampire story so I definitely liked it a lot.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)