Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

The Croods [DVD] [2013]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 3 August 2013
Don't get me wrong, I love these animated movies from Pixar or Dreamworks or Disney, but this is a shocker. It has absolutely no warmth or humour about it, which is something these films usually have in abundance. The basic story and message about not being scared of being adventurous may be fine but its delivered in such a cold, humourless and uninspiring way. Definitely the worst animated movie I've ever seen. Avoid!!
88 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2013
The opening sequence introduces us to the family, the set up, the rules they live by, and telegraphs pretty much how the next 90 minuites is going to turn out.The father Grug (voiced by a monumentally miscast Nicholas Cage,) is a traditional father, who insist the family live by his rules. The Mother (who doesn't really have a lot to do) is a loyal support voiced by Catherine Keener.Eep, the teenage girl (Emma Stone) is a feisty clued up sassy fireball of frustration and teen angst and is without question, the star of the show.The Son,Thunk (a scene stealing Clark Duke)is of indeterminate age, and basically, comically stupid.The fact that he looks like Steve Jones from the Sex Pistols amuses me too. The family is completed by Grandma (Chloris Leachman) who exists purely because there was a similar character in Ice Age 4, a real dog of a movie if ever there was one.

Ahh yes. Ice age 4. it shares some DNA with this movie, and it shows.The hunting sequence at the beginning, echoes Scrat and his nut, and it is meant to.There are other nods to this movie, and amazingly, A Bugs Life, and others, and therein lies one of the movies many problems. It is formulaic and derivative and relies to much on stock sequences when the plot sags, which it does. A lot.

The family wake up every morning with the cry "Still Alive!!" and then go hunting for food.As with everything else, it has to be done Grug's way.One done, the family retire to their cave, where Grug regales them with a story. The story always describes how, if anyone ever does any different, takes risks, thinks for themselves, they die. The message is, don't think, don't change, always fear the unknown.Yep, That's what they mean by crude. (unfunny pun intended)It doesn't take a genius to work out what is going to happen. it also doesn't take much of a leap to realise its because of a boy-Guy, (Ryan Reynolds). Guy is smart, radical, everything Grug is not, and his new ideas soon cause new verus old conflict,with poor old conservative Grug on the outside.The movie covers a journey undertaken when the Croods cave is destroyed, and naturally a voyage of personal discovery goes along with it. Plot holes, a complete loss of suspension of disbelief, predictable scrapes,the token comedy animal all follow.The plot, such as it is, somehow combines tedious meandering with spectacular unexplained set piece in a mish mash of moralising. The more I think of this movie, the more annoying it becomes.It isn't the worst animated movie I have seen, (Ice Age 4 definitely wins that one- and Pokemon 3!!!!!) and full credit to the at-all-costs avoidance of Flintstones cliches, well, most of them anyway. But it is long and very disappointing and short on laughs. I can't see kids liking this very much, when there are much snappier offerings like Wreck it Ralph out there.Croods 2? don't bet against it, but please don't waste money on it either. Or this.
55 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2013
This film had promise but fell well below normal standard of DreamWorks productions it not really worth buying rental would be enough for this film as it isn't watchable again.

It does have that heart many of the past had Madagascar really failed until the third outing but this can't continued more time working on au wickedly funny script may have saved this film DreamWorks animation is good but the subject matter maybe the problem.

Lets hope the next has more fun maybe could try tried an true stories which are funny or action packed The Croods should be left to die out this film is just another failure of a film with so much promise DreamWorks needs to find some kind of Disney magic from somewhere and give the work heart and a life of its own.

Like above this film is better suited to the rental market so that said Love Film or other rental sites or companies is your way to get this title.
33 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2015
At this point I am pretty cynical when it comes to CGI cartoons on the big screen. Once upon a time it was the genius of Pixar and the entertainment of DreamWorks Animation. However, with these animations making more money than most live action films the number of them have increased and not always the quality. DreamWorks themselves have had a few dodgy films in their back catalogue so watching ‘The Croods’ was no guarantee. Thankfully, although it may lack some of the intelligence of the best modern animations, this is a heartfelt, colourful and fun entry.

‘The Croods’ centres around the titular family of Neanderthal people who have only managed to survive by hiding in their cave. When the cave is no longer an option they are forced to seek new ground with the aid of Guy, a Homosapien and is belt. The film is a mixture of coming of age (Ice Age) and family drama. It is the relationships between the family that makes the film fun; the protective father, overbearing grandmother, adventurous daughter etc. The dynamic is a very modern feeling one, but transported back to a lost age full of danger. It is amusing watching the naïve Croods barely managing to stay alive.

As well as having great chemistry, the film also looks extremely lush. The setting of an alternative Age means that colours and creations explode onto the screen. The makers have created many made up animals for the film that look brilliant in BluRay and are different from the norm – almost Suessian. Voice acting wise the cast do well, even Nicholas Cage seems to fit as the father. He is able to bring a bit of depth to the character which makes the finale far more powerful than it deserves to be. It is these final 20 minutes or so that really make the film as the relationships in the family are truly tested. It is credit to the film makers that you care about the Croods and their happiness. With some great action set pieces and humour thrown in, this is the type of quality CGI film that both children and adults can enjoy.

As mentioned the visuals are spectacular and would really benefit from being in HD. There are several versions of the film available; the one I saw had a fair few decent extras that covered several areas of making the film, as well as some fun activities for younger viewers.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2014
THE CROODS [2013] [Deluxe Limited Edition] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray + DVD + DigitalHD] [US Import] One of the Best Animated Movies We’ve Ever Seen! Meet The First Modern Family!

Join the Croods on the journey of a lifetime in the epic comedy-adventure, that has the magical wonder of ‘How To Train Your Dragon.’ When their cave is destroyed, the Croods set out to explore a spectacular landscape filled with fantastic creatures, strange surprises, and a whole new world of adventure!

Voice Cast: Nicolas Cage, Emma Stone, Ryan Reynolds, Catherine Keener, Clark Duke, Cloris Leachman, Chris Sanders and Randy Thom

Directors: Chris Sanders and Kirk De Micco

Producers: Jane Hartwell and Kristine Belson

Screenplay: Chris Sanders and Kirk DeMicco

Composer: Alan Silvestri

Cinematography: Yong Duk Jhun and Roger Deakins [Visual Consultant]

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1

Audio: English: 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, Spanish: 5.1 Dolby Digital, French: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Russian: 5.1 DTS, Estonian: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Latvian: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Lithuanian: 5.1 Dolby Digital and Ukrainian: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English SDH, French, Spanish, Estonian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Russian and Ukrainian

Running Time: 96 minutes

Region: Region A/1

Number of discs: 3

Studio: DreamWorks Animation

Andrew's Blu-ray Review: ‘The Croods’ is a surreal, heart-warming and an intelligent animated adventure-comedy and is just a typical caveman day out, especially showing us the eponymous family of Neanderthals that is forced to leave the relative safety of their cave. This animation cartoon via DreamWorks, is the definition of a sometimes hit-or-miss animation studio. 'Rise of the Guardians' was superb in both substance and style, especially likes of 'Puss in Boots' 3D [that I thought was totally awesome], whereas 'Madagascar 3' and their most recent dreadful animation 'Turbo' have all been definitely thumbs down, big time! At some point all the CGI children's animation films that come out nowadays, sort of blend together. But the occasional release stands out, and it is usually a PIXAR production, but even that's an iffy prospect these days, but mostly it feels like a whole lot of sameness. Most of them are colourful, have simple plots, and have a few funny moments.

Anyway, we're in prehistoric times and the Croods are a loveable family of Neanderthals trying to do what every Neanderthal is trying to do, not get killed. It's a dangerous world out there, so the Croods tend to stay inside their cave cowering in fear. As Grug Crood [Nicolas Cage], papa caveman of this clan, always says, "Never not be afraid." The Croods family is taught that curiosity is just about the most dangerous thing a caveman can have, so of course their daughter Eep [Emma Stone] is naturally curious. A good old strained father-daughter relationship is brewing here. But, the movie wouldn't be complete without a few comedic generic characters like the sassy grandmother [Cloris Leachman], the doltish son [Clark Duke], the congenial mother (Catherine Keener), the wacky baby, and the loveable stranger [Ryan Reynolds]. Now that they've got the formula down it's time to run the characters through the predictable paces, picking up a few zany animal friends along the way.

So, now you know what you're in for. As far as a children's animation film goes, there's much worse out there than 'The Croods.' At least the animation is absolutely stunningly and at the same time brilliant to look at. No matter that none of the animals featured appear to have come from this planet since not one of them appears to fit into the evolutionary chain at all. Giant flying turtles, land whales with stubby legs walking around in the desert, and leafy elephants just to name a few of the stranger creations in this film.

At some point you just have to say, "Hey, if it makes Junior happy, I'm in." As far as competing with the strongest entries in the DreamWorks catalogue, 'The Croods' is great. The hardnosed father is taught a lesson by his spunky young daughter in acceptance and living life to the fullest. In turn, she discovers that maybe her dad really does care about her and all that paranoid parenting actually meant something.

That said, there's some really fun animation in this film. It's as if they said, screw the geological record, we're making our own evolutionary creations. Because of the inventiveness of the world of 'The Croods' and the creativity applied in the animation, the animation film rises above the other formulaic children's films. Not by much, but enough that it stands out among the rest.

The comedy only gets more inspired and idiosyncratic. While most new cartoons feel as if they've been assembled by committee, the only credited writers and directors here are Chris Sanders and Kirk De Micco, plus, intriguingly, John Cleese, who worked on early drafts of the screenplay and their humour, shines through. They even get laughs from mother-in-law jokes and a banana-skin pratfall, despite those chestnuts being Stone Age. It is also on par with the other brilliant Oscar® winning PIXAR/Disney animation cartoon ‘Brave’ that is also a stunning 3D Blu-ray disc.

Blu-ray Video Quality – `The Croods' looks absolutely stunning in 3D and there's nearly no difference in brightness or definition between this version and the stand alone 2D image (also included in this set). Colours are just as bold, details are just as fine. The image never appears any darker in 3D, which is a big plus, particularly in the film's more naturally darker scenes. Details still look incredible, right down to the finest terrain textures, whether gritty earthen elements or lush natural vegetation. The 3D effects are brilliant. General depth impresses me greatly. The transfer shows off the sprawling landscapes really good, again both the rocky lands to start and the more colourful vegetation areas later. Shots down on the ground are particularly impressive in terms of realistic spacing and depth. A few odds and ends do stand out; animal beaks and noses sometimes seem to extended beyond the front of the screen, while dust particles and other floating objects on the air seems to drift far back into and well out of the screen. Very little of the dreaded "crosstalk" effect was visible throughout the animation film. Overall, this is a brilliant 3D transfer.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – This 3D animation film is provided with a 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio mix, 'The Croods' matches the exceptionality of its video presentation with its audio. This is an immersive, entertaining audio mix that sucks you in and never lets you go. There are plenty of examples where the movie's sound design makes great use of the seven channels. The opening chase scene where the Croods attempt to procure breakfast by stealing an egg and uses every channel in its arsenal. The action zooms from one speaker to another. The sound travels flawlessly back and forth through the sound field. There are other moments, like when the earth starts cracking up, where the surround takes hold, providing deep, rumbling bass. Explosions of lava and smoke erupt from the earth's surface, causing the sub-woofer to roar. The rear channels are equally impressive. The soundscape of 'The Croods' prehistoric world is a lively one. Once they enter the jungle the rear channels are alive with all sorts of far off jungle noises. This is an extremely interactive audio presentation and it is definitely one that the whole family will enjoy.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Special Feature: The Croodaceous Creatures of Croods [1080p] [8:00] A lightly interactive supplement in which two of the film's characters teach audiences about the various creatures in the film through voiceover, graphics, clips from the film, animated drawings, and more. Included is the Bear Owl [0:43], the Piranhakeet [0:38], Belt [0:37], the Liyote [0:29], the Punch Monkey [0:45], the Turtle Dove [0:43], the Turkeyfish [0:42], the Girelephant [0:33] and the Sharkodile [0:42].

Special Feature: Belt's Cave Journal [1080p] [6:15] Guy shares his companion Belt's history with the help of some basic simple animation.

Special Feature: Croods' Cuts: Lost Scenes [1080p] [8:00] A Writers/Directors Chris Sanders and Kirk DeMicco introduction [0:25] is followed by the following deleted scenes: Crazy Grug [2:36], It's Rain [3:08], It's a Great Cave [1:09] and Termites [1:15]. The filmmakers also introduce each scene and explain why scenes were removed from the final cut. Some scenes appear in a very basic state of progression.

Special Feature: Be An Artist [1080p] [35:00] An introduction [0:17] to the supplement with Supervising Animator Sean Sexton is followed by his lessons on how to draw the following characters from the film: Belt [12:00], Macawnivore [15:22] and Mousephant [7:45].

Theatrical Trailer [2013] [1080p] [2:11] Here we have the original ‘The Croods’ trailer.

Sneak Peeks [1080p] Previews for `Turbo' [2:26], `Shrek the Musical' [1:03], `Epic,' various Holiday-themed films including the DreamWorks Holiday Classics collection, and `Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters.'

World of DreamWorks Animation [1080p] Titbits from `Shrek,' `Madagascar,' `How to Train Your Dragon' and `Kung Fu Panda.'

DVD Copy [Standard Definition]

DigitalHD Copy [For Portable Media Players]

Finally, `The Croods' offers a hugely satisfying animated film experience, particularly beyond the fairy-tale and predictable superficial dynamics. Under the surface is warm, welcoming story, a fun, honest, heartfelt tale of discovery, of satisfaction, of accepting new things, of understanding the greater world. It's a very sweet and touching experience amidst all of the humour, most of which hits and none of which falls completely flat. To be sure, there's not much room to reinvent the wheel, in this case, being the modern Family animated film, but there's something to be said for sprucing it up and getting the most out of its capabilities, which `The Croods' does very well. The DreamWorks Animation Blu-ray 3D release of `The Croods' delivers an awesome 2D picture as well. The 3D transfer and the amazing sound are a brilliant factor to purchase this 3D extravaganza. A very nice array of extras are included, and the animation is sure to leave audiences of all ages extremely satisfied and all in all I was so happy to get this brilliant 3D package and has gone pride of place in my Blu-ray 3D Collection. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2017
We buy 3D movies, but aren't very discriminating as we tend to buy them because they are 3D rather than whether we would normally purchase based upon a review, personal taste etc. The Croods was a purchase that didn't really figure on our 'must have list' but it was reasonably priced so we thought we'd give it a try.

Well, I have to say that the movie was a total delight! From the start to the end it amused and absorbed us with its slick animation and likeable characters. The 3D was very nicely used... not too gimicky but very obvious in places. The various scenery creations were frankly superb, colourful and wide-ranging. Visually I think this movie is one of the best 3D films we have watched. The soundtrack was also nicely handled with pleasant music and well recorded voices etc.

The characters also very quickly become quite surprisingly real, a trifle corny maybe, but a delight. There's an underlying message in the story that gives it some weight. I think it could appeal to children and adults — with both getting a lot of fun out of the antics on screen.

The animation is smooth and wonderfully drawn (obviously created on computers rather than actually drawn!) and in the fast-paced sections the animation is some of the best I have seen.

I can't understand why this movie hasn't received more attention and it's definitely one of our favourite 3D movies. I haven't written many reviews about movies, but I did feel compelled to jot down my thoughts about "The Croods". It's a jolly good example of this type of genre (i.e. modern animated 3D).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2017
Item received was not a UK version and also did not have digital UV copy so item not as described.

The cover was different (looked like a foreign version), the Blu-ray case was also much slimmer than normal UK Blurays and finally it didn't mention anything about the UV/digital copy hence the 1 star rating as this was an important part of my purchase decision.
review imagereview image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2013
When I heard about this film I won't lie, I wasn't that enthusiastic. My reasoning for this is mainly that I thought it would be a rehash of other pre-historic animations we've been barraged with in recent years. Now I'm not pointing any fingers *cough* Ice Age *cough* too-many- sequels *cough*...okay, so I am. But anyway I just figured that there was only so many ways you can tell that "its-the-end-of-the-world" story without killing (pardon the pun) the subject. After watching The Croods however, I quickly changed my mind, because the film doesn't just tackle this subject but a whole lot more.

The film tells the story of The Crood family who are living a simple and desperately frustrating life in a cave where there day-to-day routine consists of hunting and sitting in the dark listening to the same stories from family patriarch and all-round fuss-pot father Grub (Nicholas Cage). All of this changes however when an earthquake destroys there cave and they must travel across the new and fantastic planes of a land they have never explored. Along the way the Crood family pick up Ryan Reynolds' character Guy who shows them that there is more to their caveman lifestyle than simply surviving and forms a romance with the adventurer of the family Eep (voiced by Emma Stone).

The characters that make up this family are surreal in their realism...if that makes sense?! We've got the pre-requisite rebellious teen Eep, the understanding Mother (Catherine Keener) trying to keep the family together, the loud and opinionated mother-in-law that you love to hate (Cloris Leachman), the oft-humiliated middle child (ain't that always the way?), the kid sister and the over-protective father. The actors portraying this everyday family bring an hilarity and sincerity to their roles and really play up to the stereotypes attached to each archetype, to the point where you're watching and thinking "oh-my-god. It's like my family. In fact it's so much like my family that it's kinda scary". The fact that these animated characters seem like real people is important in emphasising that heart-warming message of love and family that we are left with at the end, and also makes those funny family frustrations that much more hilarious.

Fancy reading the rest of my unedited thoughts on The Croods? Come see my film blog... ([...]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2013
I took my family to see this film - age range of 9-65 and everyone came out saying how much they had enjoyed it. We have seen loads of animated films and thought we had seen it all, but this proved we haven't. There is plenty to be amused by and the story is interesting - the scene when the family are introduced to fire is really funny (the character is advised to hide from it in the tall dry grass) but there is one scene involving the dad which is quite moving (my 10 year old was crying). The basic story is that our cave family is the only one left in the area and the father has taken an overly-cautious approach to life to keep the family safe making them spend a lot of time closed in their cave. The daughter is bored and frustrated and one night sneaks out of the cave and finds a boy who can make fire. He tells her the end of the world is coming and the action begins from there after the familys cave is destroyed. Should they trust the new boy and follow him to the mountains or keep with the fathers idea of finding a new cave to hide in? The ensuing journey has plenty of ups and downs along the way and there's the message about sometimes taking risks in life to make it better. Visually the film is stunning, the animation is fantastic and I highly recommend it.
11 Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 20 April 2013
Be wary of all the hype surrounding this movie. It is one of the few films where the saying 'all the good bits are in the trailer' is true, the other being Ice Age 4 which this tries hard to replicate, and succeeds, they are both very poor movies. There is not one original thought in this whole movie. It has only one joke that is worthy of the name, and that is a running joke that involves a sloth used as a belt. When you consider the talent behind the animation (Nic Cage, Emma Stone, Catherine Keener and Cloris Leachman) you can only come to the conclusion either they were sent a different script before signing on or were in desperate need of the money. Any positives? Well of course the animation is out of the top drawer, but let's face it these days that's no surprise. Now of course it maybe that I missed the sequence that took this movie out the bad category when I fell asleep, but my wife assures me that is not the case. My 7 year old of course did enjoy it and to be fair that where the movie is aimed. If, though, you are over 10 years of age and you are going to see this film, all I can say is be afraid, be very afraid. Toy Story this is not.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here