Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2013
This London based band have drawn comparisons with CSN&Y while their singer bears a remarkable similarity to Simply Red's Mick Hucknall. However, the sound they make requires repeated listens to fully appreciate. Having played this non-stop all week it is like hearing something completely new & original, being so unlike anything I've heard for many a year. The strength of the songs and the musicianship is only fully appreciated with repeated listening. It needs a reasonable volume to truly appreciate. While the first track has an immediacy that may not be apparent on some of the other tracks, you will soon realise that 'Houses are burning' is far superior while 'Is it all worth it' is a stunning finale. Some tracks may take a little longer, 'Roses in the yard' could be a Crosby & Nash song and, for that reason, took time to appreciate. The musicianship shines through and you'll find you haven't heard anything quite like this record since the 1970's ended, but this is no retro revival. This is a band that clearly appreciates the West Coast Sound of the late 60's/early 70's but with its focus on the here & now and what a great lead singer they have. Four stars may well be an understatement as this will definitely be in my top ten albums for 2013.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
Excellent debut album from this up and coming young band, winners of the Glastonbury Festival Emerging Talent Competition in 2011.

Saw them live in front of 20,000 people at the 2014 Cropredy festival and they absolutely nailed it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
A really good album that gets better each time you listen; Laurel Canyon/West Coast nostalgia - there is certainly some CSN and Young in there, some America at times great harmonies and good tunes - met most of the band at a recent Devon gig - they are excellent live and have time for a chat too!
Buy this album you will not be disapointed, the band I believe are on the verge of being really big - reminds me of my youth when things were always bright and shiny.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
I read an earlier review that the lead vocalist sounded like Mick Hucknall which had me heading for the door, but the voices are closer to America circa 1972(Dan Peek). The whole record sounds as if the band had immersed themsleves in Laurel Canyon around 1971 - certainly CSN are a big influence. Despite these influences they have enough talent in the songwriting department to make this purchase worthwhile and hopefully they have a future. My concern is that bands like this from England such as the superb Grand Drive failed to make it despite releasing some brilliant records. Good luck to the Treetop Flyers - 40 years too late? We'll see.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
This is what music should be,great songs,great singing,great playing! What more could you ask for.Like all success this album is the combination of talent and hard work. It deserves to be heard. Buy it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
This is a fine strong debut album that is tastefully produced and seems very self assured. There are strong distinct soulful vocals from Reid Morrison, who is a dead ringer for Mick Hucknall. The style is very much classic west coast American rock, so if you like Crosby Stills Nash and Young, America, or the Eagles, then you will enjoy this, and you can play spot the influence . After just a few listens all the tracks stand up well, there is no filler, and it is an accomplished piece of work that bodes well for the long term . There is tasteful guitar work throughout , nice occasional touches with mandolin and gockenspiel, good supporting vocal harmonies, interesting subject matter, and strong melodies that lodge in your head. Some of the songs are more uptempo and rock out more like She's Gotta Run, while Haunted House starts off gently and gradually builds up. The closing track Is It All Worth It, is one of the strongest. One of the best albums I have heard so far this year , which deserves to reach a wider audience, and is a perfect disc for the summer . A fine breath of fresh air that I predict is likely to feature in the best albums of the year lists come Christmas time, it will certainly be in mine.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Treetop Flyers debut album is a folk rock album, a sound which although not unique, is still very pleasant, and The Mountain Moves is a great album. Treetop Flyers use a variety of influences and instruments to get their sound, such as acoustic guitars, electric guitars, and delicate yet confident vocals.

One of my favourite tracks is 'Picture Show' which has a country almost bluegrassy feel to it, with the electric guitar solo and uptempo sound. It's a good example of the different influences and approaches that feature on the songwriting.

Probably my absolute favourite track is the closer, 'Is It All Worth It', which is just a pure and simple folk song. The melody carried by the lyrics is great, and the harmony sounds great in the choruses. Add this to the fingerpicked guitar and you've got a great track. The chorus of this track, unsurprisingly asks, 'Is it all worth it in the end?', and I can say that it is, it's more than worth it.

This is a good album for fan of the Fleet Foxes, or similar bands. It might not be alone in sound, but that doesn't stop it being a great debut. I hope they continue to release good quality albums in years to come.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
I first saw this group about three years ago at a mini "Americana" festival in Penzance in Cornwall and they commanded your attention as soon as the first chords kicked off. Bought the EP and have now got this debut. And what a debut it is.

On the very first track you are motoring down Ventura Highway courtesy of America. By track 7 you are into a bit of West Coast doo wop. Hitting track 9 you are definitely rocking along in Doobie Brothers territory. Track 10 eases you into the world of Crosby Stills and Nash.

But that is not to say Treetop Flyers are derivative. Far from it. The sound is definitely their own but you can certainly see where they are coming from.

On the last track the question they ask is "Is it all worth it". The answer my friend is "MOST DEFINITELY".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
A very nice album, sounds very West Coast with shades of CSN and America. Good to have in the car when driving on a sunny day. My only reservation is that I'm not sure that the song writing is quite strong enough to make many of the songs sufficiently memorable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
I saw this band for the first time supporting The Handsome Family in London end of October and they were excellent and i had to buy the CD on the night. I haven't been disapointed, the CD is wonderful and has hardly been off my MP3 player since.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)