Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
15
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.33

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2013
Although I am still reading this book I am finding it very intriguing. The author shows an infinity with young children and their thought processes. She is very good with the adult characters as well. She also paints a picture of the Welsh mountains and landscape like a native of those parts.
I look forward to reading other works by Babs Horton in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
I've not had the pleasure of hearing Babs Horton read aloud from her work, but her prose carries the rhythm of a folk tale expounded before a roaring fire of black Welsh coal as the unforgiving wind batters at the window.
This story takes the reader back to a baking heatwave whose power drives out almost every dirty secret from its hiding place as four vividly drawn children suffer the trials and tribulations of their narrow existence in a village fraught with poverty, despair and madness.
Gripping, charming and disturbing by turns; tragic and comic in equal measure, yet she shows how love is triumphant if you can rise from the coal-black mud to find magic in the likeliest places.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Had me captivated from page 1. I was born in the 50s and this book captures the time beautifully from the descriptions of the clothes, sweeties, buildings, right down to the rhymes we said as kids. You lived the story along with Iffy and the others and laughed and cried with them through to the end. What characters! A joy to read. Marvellous - writing at its best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
A beautifully written book in every respect. The desciptions and the setting are worthy of Dylan Thomas, in some ways very poetic. The characters, particularly Fatty, are perfectly drawn. I certainly hope Babs Horton has more in the pipe-line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
I throughly enjoyed this book, it brought back lots of memories of places long gone but told beautiful story with a twist I didn't expect. very well written I can't wait to read the next book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
Babs Horton is the best writer around today.
She can tell a story like no other from a child's view. and Holy Mackerel is the funniest book I have read in a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
I loved this book. The language flows beautifully and the story telling from the point of view of the children is both funny and poignant. I thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
I absolutely love this book . It's so around tge time I was this age group in tge sixties. She writes with such lovely humour and I just loved it to peices.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
Know the author and love her work - her stories can have you in fits of laughter and floods of tears
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Excellent read - would recommend to anyone living in the Welsh valleys!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.29
£2.98

Need customer service? Click here