Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2017
Les Brown wrote two books, Real Hard Cases, and Glasgow Crimefighter, his third book was going to be about my fight to get justice for the murdered English woman Janet Farrar murdered on 13 November 2006, and the help Les and the NCA and the British FCO African section in London and others have been trying to get justice in Tanzania, Africa. I have to wait until after the trial in Tanzania before I write the true murder story. My story is about the Janet Farrar murder and other murders, and the title of the book will be WE WERE MURDERED in Tanzania.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2011
Why would a balanced, intelligent young man buy a cinema ticket moments before throwing himself from a car park roof? He wouldn't, yet police initially dismissed his premature death as suicide. They were equally dismissive when another youth was found on the seabed at Wick Harbour, ignoring his ruptured spleen (most likely evidence of a kicking) in favour of an accidental death.
Fortunately former detective Les Brown delves beneath the official explanations to suggest more likely, homicidal scenarios, hence the subtitle of this book: Unsolved Crimes Reinvestigated. He looks at cold case murders throughout Scotland, including my home town of Dundee. There are famous cases such as that of twelve-year-old Moira Anderson who went to the local shops in Coatbridge on an errand for her grandmother and was never seen again, and that of Renee McRae and her son Andrew who went missing in the Highlands in November 1976. Are Renee and her little boy buried under the A9? Specialist equipment has identified three unexplained items under the road...
Les Brown often helped the families in such cases as they were crying out for answers and found the official version of events unsatisfactory. Annie Davies son, Bryan, for example, was convinced that his elderly mother had been murdered whereas the police said that she had died as the result of a fall. Yet two thousand pounds was missing from her home and there was a footprint on her outside door, as if someone had kicked it violently as she answered, sending the door battering into her frail body and leading to her death.
Brown later went on to work for the Federation Against Copyright Theft and he scatters anecdotes throughout the book about his seventeen years there as well as his previous twenty-six years with Strathclyde Police and his part in the now defunct organisation A Search For Justice which liaised with the media to turn the spotlight back on long forgotten homicides. This is the humane side of detective work and it's both uplifting and enlightening. I can't wait to read its predecessor, Glasgow Crimefighter.

TW Reviewer Carol Anne Davis Author of Children Who Kill
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2010
Once I started reading this book I couldn't put it down.The cases in the book had been well researched but I wouldn't have expected anything less from a very experienced senior Glasgow detective like Les Brown.If you like a book that keeps you interested then I would recommend this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
I was born in Glasgow, Scotland the centre piece for many of the seriously bad crimes that remained us solve in and around Glasgow. I recently reacquainted my self with the works of Edgar Lustgarden and stories of locked room murder mysteries. Some of the stories in this book come close to Lustgarden's for detail and almost unbelievability.
For any 'fan' of the genre' that is crimes that defy, I can recommed this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
General crime stories reported in bite size pieces. Not in depth enough. Leaves you with more questions, like newspaper articles ....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
Interesting book, but Les brown may not be what he seems
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
Very good and well investigated now we have the proper tools (ie DNA) to catch these people,looking forward to the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
Bought this and discovered unsolved.never even read it.
Hate unsolved murders,my own fault for not looking right
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2016
Interesting read some parts more than others but a good read for the price and would recommend it at this price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2016
Another fantastic read and going to look now for the next book like this to read. Fantastic reading xxx X
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)