Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
19
3.8 out of 5 stars
Size: 10-12 Years|Change
Price:£10.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2017
Great costume. Bought for 7 year old son for school dress up day. Shirt nice thick material. Trousers very thin but he wore a pair of track suit bottoms under them and you couldn't tell. On the day I set it off with a red neckerchief. Only criticism is the hat is very small hence four stars and not five. Swapped the hat for a flat cap instead
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2017
As expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Bought to fit my 7 year old but very disappointed with this costume so had to return for a refund. The hat was tiny and the trousers not full length like in the picture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Why is it that these days any school trip out requires dressing up? In my day you went off for the day with a cheese and pickle sandwich and that was that.
Anyway having scoured the usual places (e and A) for suitable outfits, plus the local shops, this seemed to be the best option for a tall 10 year old (152cm).
For the price including postage it's not bad, the shirt is a bit thin and stitching weak, but it looks the part. If you have a 'larger width' child then I wouldn't think the stitching round the arms would hold up to much. Think about wearing some layers under the shirt too.

The trousers are on the short side compared to normal length but that's what they are supposed to look like, they are thin but we wore them over normal school trousers tucked in socks and it looked fine and was warm for a February trip.

The waistcoat is the best bit, it's cordouroy and looks the part.

The hat is useless unless you have the head the size of a cat, in that it doesn't stay on or stretch much. Maybe you could carry a cat as a prop, and have it wearing the hat? You can always tell people 'it's a good mouser'. Maybe the hat was designed for this, who knows?

TIP : give it an ironing before use it looks much better, steam iron was fine on low setting.

If this was helpful, please click below, then maybe Amazon will send me free stuff to review, or a indeed hat that fits, or maybe a cat. Adios!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
The costume was great made Victorian day at school a lot less hassle than it had to be. My son liked it and it was cotton and comfy.The size was on the small side , so had to send first one back for next size up but the customer service was first class.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
This fits the bill for a school theme day or fancy dress party. The costume matches the picture reasonably accurately. The purchasing process itself was straightforward. It arrived promptly in suitable packaging.

The fit was surprisingly good for my (just turned) 6-year-old boy. He is of average height and build for his age. Bear in mind that a smaller/younger child might find the sleeves and legs a little too long, and vice versa.

My child can be fussy about clothes but he didn't complain about the comfort. The material is quite thin but will withstand some rough play.

The main problem with it is the elasticated hat. It is far too small for the age range (4-6)and would have barely fitted my son when he was 2. He decided to forego the hat - a wise choice.

All in all, a decent costume for the money but pretend that there isn't a hat included and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2016
Really pleased with this outfit which we got for our nine year old son's 'Titanic Day' at school. It comprises of shirt, trousers, waistcoat and cap and all fitted well, although the cap was a little small for him (he does a big head!). It was perfect for him to wear as a third class passenger. We washed it after use and it came out fine and will no doubt be rolled out again and adapted for other school dress up days!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2016
Hat is really small snd trousers are really short. One of my sons is 10 and they are swinging round his ankles. The other is 7 and they fit lovely. Overall the outfit looks the part and is all cotton which is better than alot i looked at. The waistcoat is great and lovely material. Just the trousers and cap that let it down which i why i gave 3 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2016
Item as pictured and good condition, but trousers were shorter than expected my son is 120cm tall and it states for age 6-8 height 124cm so just beware if your child is between sizes get the next one up I personally would say it's age 6-7 not 6-8, Lucky trousers just fit in length so will keep ready for Victorian day first week of school.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2016
Perfect for dressing your child as a street urchin....or for Victorian Day at school as we did

For those of us who do not own a sewing machine or have the ability to knock together a costume every time school requests this was a cheap and cheerful solution. My son actually looked rather smart in his waistcoat and shirt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)