Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



VINE VOICEon 21 September 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
There is a storage capacity of 4 gb. This doesn't seem very much but it's more than ample. I like the idea that you can't use the USB stick unless you put your password in first. I use a USB stick for almost all of my everyday `jobs' on the computer, but if someone was to locate this, they would be able to find information that I wouldn't perhaps want them to read - this solves that problem, making everything nice and secure.

If you're a new user to a USB stick, here we go - Insert the stick into your USB port. The stick will be found and the driver installed automatically to your computer. You will then get a dialog box that says "run ironkey software". You are then given the option to set your new password - I had to think about this because not only do you have to have capital and lower case letters as well as numbers but also special characters too. You'll end up with two dialog boxes on the screen, just exit the `black' one and off you go.

Regarding the password, when you insert the USB stick, you have 10 goes to get your password right and if you forget it, on the 11th go the USB stick will reformat.

For a USB stick this is expensive, but for the added security it isn't. It comes in a nice box if you wanted to buy this for a present. If you're not `computer savvy' there's no instructions on what to do, but I think there wouldn't be anyway because it's very simple to install and following the onscreen prompts is straightforward.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 September 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The ironkey D80 is a secure (256 bit encryption) hardware protected 4GB memory stick at a pretty affordable price.

I have always flinched at the product prices of secure memory sticks but having discovered them at work think they are a good idea and everyone should have at least one. We all have stuff that we would be upset about losing and other people seeing and memory sticks are so small and easy to lose.

This is great for:
Personal information
Business information - say you are a consultant working for a couple of clients and need to keep their information private
and ...

My only caveat is that it is black - which is sort of cool but makes it hard to write your name on it or put any other identifiers. I'm sure a sticky label will solve this but I think a couple of colours and an id panel would be great.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 November 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This hardware encrypted memory stick seems like a perfect solution for keeping super secure those precious or sensetive files. Although it ticks the security box the price does seem a little steep. Setup was a breeze Excellent product.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 September 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
One of the great fears of my life is losing a USB stick. They're so tiny, I could easily put my hand in my pocket and knock them out. So every time I lose track of where one of the fellas are, I begin to worry about what information I had stored on it, who might have it, etc. especially as I use my own at work a bit. No need to worry with the IronKey D80 because it's password protected. You have to have a big and small letter, a number and special character to create your password and then it will stay locked even if some interfering busybody gets hold of it. Bliss! at 4 gigs, it has plenty of space too!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 October 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Once you've got this out of the rather robust packaging, this is a doddle to use. It is small, but as long as you don't lose the actual stick, this has capacity to hold a lot of data for the average user.

Initially, I was going to use this for some editing and proofing work that I do for a couple of authors. It is very easy to use: insert and you're asked to create a password, which you'll then need to enter each time that you insert the USB. Simple and efficient, and I was ready to go. However...

...my YA son is currently doing a PGCE, with many, many pages of written work that he can securely save to this device and then submit/print off at uni - he is a bit of a tech geek, specialising in ICT, and whilst he initially scoffed at the 4GB specs, he has admitted that the device is pretty impressive and does hold far more than he'd anticipated. Following a Microsoft office failure this week (installed 3 months ago, at a cost of over three hundred squid), and being asked to pay for assistance, as the 3-month warranty had run out, he's now backing up without fail to this device. As long as he doesn't lose it, he's sorted.

It is a bit expensive compared to some models, but what price security (and convenience, and no hassle and knowing that your hard work is protected)?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 October 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
When I did a speed test, I got 7.7MB writes and 16MB reads, which is noticeably slower than the indicated speeds, but still at least 2/3 of the listed speeds, so slightly disappointing, but significantly faster than many cheap drives.

I tried unplugging the drive without locking first, and it was encrypted still - while this could lose data if the write hasn't completed, the encryption side doesn't seem to be a problem. I also tried entering the wrong password - after 10 failed tries (not 6 as advertised) it wipes the drive. I then tried some basic forensic tools having set up another password, and this failed to find any files - it looks like the process or the encryption may prevent recovery, which was what you'd hope would be the case.

Given the £30 price tag, this is obviously an order of magnitude more expensive than a basic flash drive of a similar capacity - it does then seem rather expensive, although it's not expensive compared to many other encrypted devices, so I guess it's not bad on this score, if not that impressive either.

The software doesn't work on Linux, which is a major negative for me, and it's quite sluggish to lock and unlock, with a delay of a few seconds after each action.

I can't help but think that you would generally be better off installing TrueCrypt or the like to encrypt your data - it may be marginally less secure, but probably secure enough for most requirements, and works on a standard drive AND Windows/Mac/Linux, which makes it more widely usable and much cheaper because you can get a 64GB drive for less than the cost of a 4GB hardware encrypted one. I only give it 3 stars because of that question of real value, but it does work pretty much as advertised (barring the speed discrepancy).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 21 September 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a 4GB usb which can hold that much data. It comes in a rather sturdy [and slightly difficult to open] black cardboard box, and the device is held in a plastic tray inside.

It looks big and sturdy and it feels that way as well. The end is protected by a black cover that comes off with a slight tug.

Copying files from your computer onto it is very speedy.

But the best feature is the password protection.

When you first use it you will be asked to input a password. Which requires upper and lower case letters, numbers and special characters. At least one of each. But it will allow you to input a hint to self which can be brought up should you need a reminder.

Once the password has been set up, a screen that requires it to be input will come up every time you then use the device. Do be sure to get it right because too many failed attempts will result in it automatically reformatting and wiping all th data on there. Which will keep it safe if the usb is stolen. But the hint facility should mean the user won't have any problems.

This is the quickest and easiest password system I've ever seen on one of these. That and the general strength of the whole thing means it's a pretty impressive device. And well worth getting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 November 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I tried this memory stick on both Mac and Windows XP systems and its security system worked flawlessly. You just set up a password to access the area where files are stored. It functioned correctly even on my locked down work PC. An ideal solution to securely transporting data that mustn't be accessible (e.g. data covered by the Data Protection Act). Recommended, but do compare prices before purchasing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 21 November 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have also reviewed the Ironkey 8GB D250 model, there are some similarities with this so I have focussed on some of the key differences...:

I know people who use these USB sticks because their job involves carrying very sensitive information - and I can see why these are the preferred models used.

I was concerned to start with that having an encrypted stick would make accessing and adding files a bit of a chore, but thankfully it is pretty simple. As with the (considerably more expensive) D250 model, once you've created the password all you need to worry about is remembering it, otherwise you run the risk of losing your data (enter it incorrectly 10 times and the stick will wipe itself). This D80 isn't quite as tough in the hand as the D250, this has a loop rather than a hollow tube to clip it to a keyring, it is very secure though and I have no doubts about it coming away from the main body of the memory stick. This is still far more rugged than any `standard' memory stick I've used.

So if you want a secure memory stick then this is excellent - but, as with the D250, performance is disappointingly average and capacity is clearly quite low - you would only purchase this is you *really* needed the security features when cheaper memory sticks are available with considerably more memory.

In a nutshell: This is an average performing memory stick with a low capacity, for general use this isn't a natural choice but it occupies a niche which some will find essential. It isn't as expensive as the D250 which perhaps makes this a preferred choice for those wanting to carry around sensitive information which consists of fairly small files.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 November 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The propensity for USB sticks to go missing, get picked up by somebody else and so on means that data on it is not safe - unless you can password protect and encrypt the data.

And that's where this comes in. It works well on my Macbook Pro - plug it in, click the application icon (after a quick scan of the user manual) and then type in a password. It forces you to choose one that is over 6 characters long and has upper case, lower case, numbers and special characters in it.

Each time you plug it in, you are required to enter the password to unlock. Then when you are done, you click 'lock' and eject and away you go safe in the knowledge that should you lose the stick or should someone else get hold of it, they can't access the data easily.

Depending how 'top secret' the data needs to be, the downside is that after 6 wrong attempts at the password it will wipe the stick clean. So whatever you do, do NOT forget the password!

I transferred a file of photographs (213MB) and it took just about 30 seconds to transfer, so not too bad from a time perspective.

I've only given it 3 stars because you can buy this - Integral Courier 197 4GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive with 256-Bit Hardware Encryption for considerably less and it has lots of positive reviews too.

I can't think of anything that would make this work the additional £12.

Hope that helps
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)