Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
43
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£14.02+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2014
I would agree with many of the previous reviewers but please be aware the images in the film and the starkness oB the black and white photography are very powerful and eventually I gave up and did not watch the film to the end as I found it quite harrowing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
Watched this on a flight from San Francisco,and have never seen a film like it.Truly made it's mark on me. Based on the Snow White fairytale,it is beautiful and mesmerising,emotional,and oh so clever. It is a silent film,with subtitles,but this only adds ,and does not detract from the brilliance that is this movie.Six stars worth for me really.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
totally lost on me ....sorry !

Bizarre and terrible...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
A beautiful film with wonderful cinematography, it has drama, humour, pathos and much more. There are dark moments, but overall the story is tender and uplifting. The characterisations and performances are exceptional. .
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 May 2013
The professional reviews for this were so ecstatic that I may have been
a bit over-hyped, and felt a twinge of disappointment in seeing it,
which is not to say I didn't quite enjoy it

Entertaining and beautifully made, this is another modern black & while
silent film, this one an adult re-telling of the Snow White myth.
There's no denying the technical virtuosity on display, and the ways
that film-maker Berger finds to update the tale to Spain in the 1920s,
center the story around bullfighting, and still stay true to the
original story are clever and sometimes very amusing.

What was missing for me was a deeper layer of emotion. I appreciated
and respected the film, but it was too much a fairy tale for me to
believe in it, yet too real for me to be carried away into a fantasy.
That said, it's good enough that I will gladly re-visit it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Black and White silent film based on a fairy tale with no dialogue....ho hum.

But stop there....

This takes the original story Snow White and then strips it back to the roots - a story about child cruelty, abandonment, neglect and a tale brimming with violence.

Bettelheim noted fairy tales contain some vivid truths about the real world wrapped up in fantasy. But what if it is not fantasy, but just a way of expressing child cruelty. Grimm originally copied the story and marketed it - the tale of Snow White and it wound its way into children story books as happy ever after, a type of comfort blanket for children. The original was far darker.

The story is about the wicked stepmother and the deep hatred she emits for her step daughter and how she wants to colonise her fammilies soul. It has many similarities with the Anne Cooper Hewitt case, the original tale of eugenics and sterilisation (well worth looking up).

Steeped in the harsh blanco noir worlds of 1920's Spain, dominated by the fetish for killing bulls as mass entertainment, the hangover from the Roman Empire, this particular fetish towers over the story line. It is about the world of connections and emotions with a dark undercurrent running through the black and white world of both good and evil and the grey world lying in between.

Filmed as a homage to the early silent films, it displays a natural sheen where the silent is no longer resoundingly evident. Instead the soundtrack takes precedence along with the beauty of the cinematic photography.

Not a film to watch but one to be pulled into.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
This modern, that is set in the 1920's, filmed in Black & White and is a silent film, retelling of the Snow White (Blancanieves) is a gem. Superbly capturing the feel of early film making, storytelling & characterisation. The two main female leads, Maribel Verdú & Macarena García are perfectly cast. The music score is excellent and evocative, adding to the suspense and drama. See it and you will rememer it. A modern reinvention that supercedes earlier versions of this tale.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
The greatest adaptation of Snow White I've ever seen, and the best family film since.. Spirited Away? Babe? Muppets Christmas Carol? no, better.. When you start comparing it to other family films you realise how light most of them are. This one is silent and black and white, I was sceptical of this at first because I don't understand why modern silent films have to be B&W and set in the 20's, let's have some colour and contemporary stories in silence please? But this suits the fairy tale aura of it. And it's dark, grim even. Most of the characters we're introduced to at the start are dead half way through, love goes unfulfilled, it has bullfighting, and the most problematic part of the Snow White story - the kiss by a suitable man (who's willing to take advantage of a sleeping girl) to wake her up - is given a lovely twist.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 June 2016
A long time ago in the land of sun, when the world was filmed in black and white, a brave matador, Antonio, was gored by a bull, while his beautiful wife died giving birth to their daughter Carmencita. Wrapped up in grief and a new selfish wife, Encarna, Antonio ignored his daughter for many years. The little girl grew up knowing both love and sadness. Her adventures took her from her wicked step mother to life on the road, with seven dwarves who named her Snow White.......

This fantastical story line has all the melodrama and darkness of a grown-up fairy tale and is at times genuinely moving. It observes many of the conventions of a fairy tale with the put upon child and evil stepmother in a spacious villa that stands in for a castle, and uses them to illuminate the best and worst in human behaviour. Shot in and around Seville, the black and white cinematography is outstanding. It is made as a tribute to silent film, using the expressive faces of its excellent cast and a changing score of apt music for each scene to move the story along. There are cue cards in English for occasional dialogue.

...And they all lived happily ever after? It's well worth watching to find out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
It took a few minutes to get into the format of this film. It was cleverly done. I liked it very much. As the title says - Snow White but with a twist.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)