Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
32
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2013
This is not a typical book in as such as it is divided into chapters and in each chapter there are contributions from a few lines to a page or two from folk who worked in the medical field in the war.
It is a book of deep emotions, from the conditions worked in to the various circumstances .
It is a very well written detailed book of mainly women who were thrown into impossible conditions. These were strong heroic (mainly) women I very much doubt if people today could do what they did in the same circumstances.
The book will appeal to both male and female readers.
It really was a facinating book filled with vivid memories .
Thank you to all who contributed and for sharing such wonderful history .
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
This book gives a perfect illustration of the difficult and humerous times during ww2.
My late Grandmother was a nurse during this period in the East End of London at Stratford E 15
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
A fascinating insight into the lives and work of nurses in World War Two. They've gone far too long unrecognised, but these first hand accounts of nurses' experiences gives us a glimpse into their courage, ability to improvise, and save lives in the most difficult of circumstances. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
I can recommend this as a really wonderful book. Social history, history of medicine and new perspectives on the Second World War. 'We thought the end of the World was coming'. And for all those interested in life before the NHS, finding money spare for the District Nurse visit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
An account of the Nurses in action in North Africa that my wife found very gripping and interesting in the way that it brought to life the daily contact with the awful consequences of war. Very well told.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
This book is an incredible account of the work of Nurses before, during and after World War Two. I could not possibly do justice to how wonderful each and every one of those Nurses were, the work they did, in the most difficult conditions ( even before war broke out) and the sheer heroism of these often very young women. Their sense of duty and responsibility is breathtaking. I had no idea the war was so widespread over so much of the world. Their work and their courage stands as a testament to their profession. Read this book, it is an experience. My daughter, who is a nurse gave it to me, I'm so glad she did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
This was an easy book to dip in and out of. Each story was interesting and different in content and gave a very clear idea of what nursing was like at this time in the 20th century.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
Excellent read. My daughter who is a nurse of many years is now reading it. She will pass it to her twin sister for a
further review.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
I love anything to do with Nursing as I worked as a Sate enrolled nurse at the Stockport Infirmary and Cherry tree hospitals when the children were small then on the foodservice at Wythenshawe hospital this last 9.years.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
This book will leave you with a precious insight into the sacrifices soldiers and medical staff made for our freedom, plus a deep appreciation. A collection of many memories. Worth buying.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)