Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
34
4.9 out of 5 stars


on 16 March 2013
Carol Klein has yet again given us a book as beautifully illustrated as it is written. The winning combination of her writing and Jonathan Buckley's photography makes for a joyous read. I always think of Carol Klein as one of our great gardening writers. She's so lyrical and enthusiastic about the plants she grows. She knows her stuff but the excitement has a newness, and an eagerness to experience all these wonderful plants have to offer. She's our modern day Vita Sackville-West, but with a rather more glorious accent.

This books concentrates on British wild flowers and their cousins. Some books on wild flowers extol their virtues and suggest their use in all garden settings, sometimes with predictably untidy results. Here Carol rightly sings the praises of our native flora and suggests where it might be used, but also looks at the "cultivated cousins" and related plants from around the world. As we would expect from Carol Klein she also explains propagation methods used for each group (though she does direct us to another Klein/Buckley masterpiece, Grow Your Own Garden, for further information).

The sections on each plant are fairly loose categories, some a particular genus of plants, at other times families. With some the same family appears several times - for example there are separate chapters on Hellebores, Clematis, Celandines and Buttercups - all part of the Buttercup family itself. All however are logically grouped and highlight the similaries and relationships between different species.

The writing is warm and effusive, at times touching and poignant and always makes us want to get and grow the plants she talks about. A lovely book.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Supper good reading lots of lnformation in it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2017
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
This is just what I needed for planning my wild garden
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
Having just taken on a new area of land this book has given me some wonderful ideas to make it more 'wild' friendly.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
The previous review says it all beautifully and concisely. Carol's style of writing is so inspiring which makes the reader feel anything is possible, so why not get out there and try! All the information you could need is offered and put in a very readable fashion that is purely 'Carol Klein'. As usual the photography is truly in a class on its own and enhances and supports all aspepcts. It is a joy to read, and certainly contains a 'feel good' factor for me. I shall be buying an additional copy for a very good friend who appreciates and enjoys Carol Klein.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
fantastic book, has the history of the flowers as well as useful tips, lovely photo's and easy to understand chapters. brilliant price for what you get. great present for gardeners who grow wild flowers. love it
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
I love Carol's enthusiasm and the way she descibes the textures, colours and habits of our plants. It's really interesting to see how garden plants have evolved from wild flowers and which ones are related.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
Another fantastic book from Carol Klein, well worh buying if you are a Carol Klein fan or if you love books about gardening and being outside amongst the plants and flowers. Beautifully illustrated and well written, highly reccomend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)