Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
Awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2017
Great series very compelling story even for someone who like me hates zombies, there is an English dubbed option on the discs, menu is easily navigatable
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2016
Brilliant!! one of the best animes I've seen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
i found this really funny crude even more so but in a good way i found it great laugh ....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 May 2016
This is a thoroughly enjoyable anime TV series about a bunch of high school teenagers who struggle to survive the zombie apocalypse.

This show is set in Japan, and the story starts just as world civilisation comes to an end ... crashing down on those left alive. As it happens, a group of teenage kids were at school, waiting for their next lesson to start. It never did ... everything ended. Now these kids must learn to trust each other, and get along. They have to escape the school and make their way home. Only they realise 'home' is gone. Now they've got to figure out where to head next, as the zombies try to eat them. Finally, these teenagers make their way to a beautiful tropical beach.

The story, although not exactly original, is well done - and there's plenty of humour, action and excitement, involving guns, swords, lust and love. This show is based on a series of comic books (written by Daisuke Sat' and illustrated by Sh'ji Sat') - and much about these comics literally leaps of the page and onto the screen. The animation is excellent, and the characterisation is good. It's amazing how much fun the zombie apocalypse looks! There's some fan service thrown into every episode ... plenty of bra and panty shots, as well as some boob and bum shots, of several very cute young ladies. But the nudity is not over the top.

This DVD set consists of the entire show of 12 episodes, as well as a one-shot ('ova') concluding episode. It's such a shame that a second season was never made ... I do recommend the hardback omnibus editions of the comic book series (in two volumes).

If you enjoy anime, zombies and titillation then you'll love this!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
hated everything, from the story to the style, the OVA also is in japanese for those who would watch it in DUB, which i found pretty stupid considering the rest series has a DUB...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2016
Don't expect a zombie-killing gorefest with HOTD, the emphasis is definitely on teenage histrionics and numerous (almost to the point of being distracting) shots of bouncing boobs.

The animation looks decent at times, but it's pretty lifeless for the most part. The violence is oddly subdued, you never really see anything really gory actually happen. The shot is always framed in such a way as to obscure the impact of weapons on undead flesh. I can only assume the 18-rating is to cover the absurd amounts of sexual fan-service.

The actual series doesn't get a satisfactory ending, plot threads are picked up then discarded almost as quickly. The characters are your typically broad anime stereotypes, so you never really end up liking any of them. Coupled with the gutless violence, there's not much to recommend HOTD unless you're just after the occasional bit of T and A.

This might scratch your horror and/or fanservice itch, but there are series out there that do both things much, much better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
Zombies, Fan service, Comedy and a Plot line that is entertaining! I mean what else could you ask for?
The OVA is in Japanese but the subtitles are easy to follow (Its a purely fan service oriented episode anyway, just the main characters messing around on the beach, a recap of the season and a hint at what`s to come.)
For just under a tenner its more than worth giving this a go, the second season hits later this year I believe (2013 at some point).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
ANIME REVIEW: So I finally bought this and just whoa. Ok I admit the panties shots and boobie jiggling are a slightly frustrating when you're really just in this for the story but getting past it is worth it!
There are over used plot devices & character traits too but hey nothing can be perfect. This is a story of survival, so it's either man up (which the character I call 'geek-boy' affectionately does epically) or die. I laughed when it said London was one of the only places maintaining order and me and my friends high-fived each other happily because ha I thought we'd all go to hell first.

By far this is one of the realistic depictions of zombie apocalypse I've seen in anime in awhile with people turning to crime, being affected by having to slay or loose loved ones and friends. It made my mum actually learn to tolerate anime because it was pretty good. I haven't watched the OVA yet (it's in japanese just so people know) but it seems like one of those 'oh we escaped and got washed up here' eps.

It's best to also watch through the credits as there are additional scenes sometimes.

PRODUCT & DELIVERY REVIEW: This came quickly and in good condition. The inside art and design is good with all disks packed great and not overlapping like say Haruhi Suzumiya's boxset.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)