Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
334
3.7 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 4|Edition: Standard|Change
Price:£19.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2016
I'll admit it, I didn't spend long on this game before shelving it, which is unlike me. However, early into the game the writing is all over the wall. Like some other reviews have mentioned, the game leaves you wondering where you're supposed to be going, despite the fact that there is a waymarker, it's still not clear how you get from A to B. That being said, I could live with that small gripe. The real reason I ditched this game is because it becomes comically difficult in a short space of time. I'm only on the second chapter/level, and having disabled the alarm in the armoury, I'm now to defend the armoury against what seems like an infinite number of enemies. The allies you have/are attempting to rescue are beyond useless and consequently drop like flies, and I follow suit not long after, despite deploying the OWL to attack/shield. So there I am, each time, running out of ammo with no allied support (because they all bit the dust in about five second of the enemy attacking) and no cover (because OWL's shield lasts about two minutes but takes about five to recharge) being surrounded and shot to crap by hostiles whilst scaveninging desperately for ammo. For anyone wondering, I've played difficult games many and varied since the days of the ZX Spectrum. But this game develops no learning curve for the player and leaves you twisting in the wind with a serious dearth of ammunition and cover at the worst possible time. Out comes Kill Zone. Hope I have better success with Wolfenstein: New Order.

PS: Like at least one other buyer on here, I received what looks like a 'Do Not Sell Individually/Separately' copy from a bundle pack. My seller was from EverGames.
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2016
Tedious, boring and the drone thing doesn't work very well. Probably gave up after 2-3 hours as the difficulty level goes from tutorial to 'veteran' ina. Heartbeat.

Your supposed to use the drone to turn off alarms or something, whilst you figure this out BOOM! Enemy spot you, re spawn infinitly and kill you before you can figure it all out.

Whats turd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
I really like this game. Graphically, it's great, the controls are responsive, the guns pack punch and there is a good variety in the environments/levels.

There are some touches that I love - for example the audio logs you pick up play out of the PS4 controller. It sounds like it would be gimicky, but it really does sound very effective with it coming from a different sound source.

The OWL is really good fun, and gives you some good tactical options, as well as ways of making your way across maps.

There are some things that I really liked but which I can imagine some might find frustrating.

Firefights can be tough, and it is sometimes difficult to see where the bullets are coming from. I really like this, as it encourages more tactical combat and not running in without caution. Others who prefer a more Halo-like experience aren't going to get as much out of it.

There are objective markers that appear if you press up on the D pad. However, it is not always clear what it is you have to do. This means that you have to really look around and use some initiative, work it out for yourself a little bit. You are not completely led by the hand and I personally enjoy that.

There is one that is frustrating than fun - there are some levels that are very dark and there is no torch. Your OWL does create some light if you deploy it, but It means that you can stumble around a little blindly looking for a staircase or a ladder, for example.

Overall, a fun, gorgeous game that offers a lot of enjoyment, with a couple of flaws which shouldn't deter you from buying it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
This is a great launch title for the PS4 and really demonstrates the potential of the console. It looks stunning. The new helgan stages are the best, which remind me of Blade Runner. But enough about the graphics, you know its pretty already.

So, the gameplay. How is it? Well it's nothing short of brilliance. As far as standard shooters go these days, Shadow Fall stand atop the best of them with weighty weapons. Excellent hit detection. A great mechanic known as the OWL, which has 4 different commands. Lengthy mission will take you through stages of pure all out firefights, then have you sneaking around trying to avoid ATEC attack drones and massive mech walkers. Its all very breathtaking. The multiplayer is addictive aswell. The maps are small which creates nothing short of hecticness when nearly all players are fighting to control one room at once. All gear is available from the start so you will have to rely on skill rather than upgrades and perks. Which is great. The campaign is lengthy at around 10-12 hours incase you were wondering.

Also I would like to point out the the sound design is superb with a great industrial, futuristic electro, ambient soundtrack. The sounds of the guns are meaty and effective, especially with a woofer plugged into the tv.

overall: looks great, sounds great, plays great.

buy it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
This game is hard. A run and gun COD style approach will get you killed in seconds. The controls are extensive (for an FPS) and you have to learn how to use the Owl. Persevere, however and you will discover an absolute gem of a launch title. Having read the majority of negative reviews its pretty clear that most of these people have spent half an hour with the title, not given it a decent chance and vented their frustrations by posting a scathing review. Shame. I've just completed the campaign, and after a slow start I have to admit I've thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. Some sections require a stealthy approach, some require you to mount a frontal assault. Using your brain and deciding when to use which method is crucial. The storyline, whilst not the most original, sets the scene well. The graphics are, without doubt, spectacular. Anyone who says any different is an idiot. The quality of lighting, textures, shadows, draw distances (I could go on and on) is first rate. This is truly a next gen title of the first order. Can't wait for the next one!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2015
I give this game a 1 star because it doesn't allow a 0 star rating. I'm so disappointed with this game after reminiscing about the first Killzone on ps2 I was so excited for this game. Spawn points are stupid and it alternates between ridiculously easy to hard as nails within a moment. Enemies and maps are all too scripted and linear, and you have I think only four weapons throughout the entire game. The graphics do look good but the plot and scripting of this game are so tedious and boring. The first game was action packed, challenging and tense. This game is like a trailer for some straight to DVD sci fi rubbish. Buy fallout 3 or Deus Ex or Wolfenstein instead.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 December 2013
Not really into multi-player, so reviewing the single player campaign. So far loving it, It's set many years on from the last Killzone game, where the Helghast share the planet with the natives.

Gameplay is fluid an controls as per the previous titles. As it's a launch title, it doesn't really take much advantage of the PS4 features like second screen (tablets) and things like that, but that's not really an issue.

This is great glimpse of what the PS4 is capable of, if launch titles are this good, then the future is very bright indeed for the PS4.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
I've been a Killzone fan since the first one was announced. I admit it, back then when I was practically dying of Halo 2 anticipation/hype. The moment I laid eyes on the first preview screenshots, the striking visual design grabbed me and I kept a close eye on it from then on. The original Killzone bit off more than the PS2 could chew and the game play suffered for it, the notion of it being a "Halo killer" was laughable

Which brings us to Killzone Shadow Fall. Let's get the most obvious thing out of the way first: This game is a dazzling graphics showcase. Sweet, sweet eye candy. Even some hardcore PC gamers are able to admit this. Out of all of the next gen games I've seen this year, this is the one that screams "NEXT GEN" the loudest. It doesn't run at 60fps all the time, but it sure seems close to it a lot of the time. It certainly runs at more than 30, no doubt about that.

The game play has changed, yet it still feels like Killzone to me. The pendulum has swung back from the "WW2 in teh future vs. the Space Nazis" and closer to the feel of the original Killzone. It's a futuristic cold war secret agent mission, where you're a one-man infiltration unit using some fancy gadgets. There are a few big battle set pieces where you're fighting along side a squad of allies, but they're few and far between. There are a few issues with the designers being typically stingy and thoughtless with checkpoints, and there's a particular section towards the end of the game that is one of the most frustrating sequences I've played through in many, many years. I have honest serious doubts that they even showed it to play testers, because if they had I simply cannot fathom how they could have approved it to be in the game. I'm not kidding, it made me fantasize about kidnapping and torturing some Guerrilla Games staff so that I could cause them the same amount of pain they caused me. Still, a few rough patches aside, it's a very good single player campaign that, while very different, is on par with Killzone 2 in terms of length (about 10 hours, if you're not some freak who plays as if you're being timed) and fun. Even the aforementioned rage-inducing free fall sequence wasn't bad enough to merit taking off a whole star.

Seriously, I would love for anyone to come up with any Playstation launch title since the console debuted in 1995 that's as strong as this one. I honestly can't think of any.

As for the multiplayer, I'm only writing this review during a new new match loading up.... Addictive to say the least!
66 Comments| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
The Game is gorgeous, truly a technical marvel. The first level of the campaign is easily the ONLY highlight and is the main reason Sony decided to show it at many of its gaming conventions etc. it has an open world nature to it and open ended gamely (much like the original crisis) however shortly after this level the game resorts into the typical conventions of a shooter...with dull lifeless enemies and a complete lack of variety in mission progression.

The game does have BOTS which is a god send in this day and age of constant focus of online.
The game is an excellent showcase for where the Killzone series could go (1st campaign mission is just 10/10) however falls short of itself rather quickly.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
If this is a launch title and the graphics can only get better, then I can't wait to see what they can produce!

Cracking game and visually stunning!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 13 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)