Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
17
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Clocking in at an impressive 135 minutes and with most of the tracks sourced from the early Seventies, this is another quality budget Motown compilation. There's nothing here as funky as James Brown's work from the same period (how could there be?!) and a few of the songs are not, as funk goes, that funky. Nontheless, there's still much to enjoy here. Highlights include Gordon Stapes' Blaxploitation classic 'Strung Out' that feaures cool sweeping orchestrations drifting in and out of the mix. Undisputed Truth's cover of 'Ball of Confusion' is 10 minutes of tripped-out psychedelic soul and Odyssey's 'Our Lives Are Shaped By What We Love' has a breezy West Coast vibe. 'T Plays it Cool' highlights how versatile a songwriter and composer Marvin Gaye was and Syreeta Wright's vocals on 'To Know You Is To Love You' are sublime as is the extended outro jam (and Stevie Wonder's synthesized vocals!). Recommended.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
This is a double album that features both well known funky hits such as "Here Comes the Judge" and lesser known tracks such as "Is That Enough" from Her My Dear By Marvin Gaye. There are a number of examples of good quality early disco/proto-disco tracks such as "Girl You Need A Change Of Mind" that Motown produced in abundance. To hear Ball of Confusion by the Undisputed Truth for the first time showed the breadth of this collection. An excellent album in its own right.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
Absolutely great selection, very loosely 'Funk' but a great listen from start to end! CD2 especially hasn't left my car stereo since this arrived. I am a big Motown fan and this goes down with some of the best compilations of their music I've heard.
22 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
CD1 the better of the 2 CDs .A couple of awesome tracks watch out for Bottom & Co and Barbara McNairs offerings.32 tracks its got to be a winner .the name in the title may put a few off 'Funk' .Get it brought and enjoy. Bargain .StefC Leek Soul Club est 1993
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
a great collection if you apply the term funk loosely
I suppose a slinky backbeat can be funky
one of my all time favourites by the undisputed truth is here
I have always liked that syreeta song
some obvious bombs from stevie wonder and marvin gaye are not included
with higher ground and got to give it up this would be worth 5 stars
this is the main problem with budget compilations
Motown Funk
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
there are some very funky tunes on this c.d. listen in the car, great for long journeys, find myself bopping at the traffic lights
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
Once again, some kind of noise reduction has been used on this. Go do some comparative listening, these tracks are not rare. Most, if not all, are available in much better sound quality.....This was put out by Motown/Universal. Motown used this type of noise reduction on their Singles Box to great detrimental, although The Singles Box is not as bad as some.. A few people even noticed it if you dig in the reviews. They clearly know what they are doing, as it was NOT used on the Cellarful of Motown series, thank heavens. .....I hope this is not some kind of trend....what are the people thinking that put this stuff out? I am going to keep reporting this until it stops....Some people can actually hear what they are listening to...The effect of this comes in degrees. It pushes the music into the background so it comes out sounding like what might be called "AM stereo." Use this noise reduction a little more and the loud parts will distort out....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
As a long-time collector of all things Motown, I have many / most of the tracks on here but not all and some of the lesser known ones blew me away. As other reviewers have said, not everything here qualifies as Funk but the Funk Brothers musicianship is on every track. Both CD's have been an regular play in the car for weeks now and this is turning into my all-time favourite Motown Compilation. For the price you can't go wrong. Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
Some pretty sniffy reviews on here, personally I think this is rather marvellous. I'm not a Motown fan, never have been, but there are some brilliant tunes here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Great to have these great tracks on this compilation a valuable addition to my collection and will keep an eye out for anymore rarities like this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.35
£5.00

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)