Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
124
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2017
interesting idea of parallel worlds - love Nicholas Courtney Lethbridge Stewart character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
Specially liked the colour effects. Poses an interesting question- how safe is fracking? Enjoyed episodes on parallel world with bad versions of the main characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Absolutely fantasic Doctor Who story!

However, the DVD came in a black case which for me was strange as the other DVDs come in the special silver grey case, other than that it works fantastically.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Happy with the dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
It's mine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2007
This was one of the first classic Doctor Who episodes I watched, and after viewing more than 40 others, this is still my favourite.

The Doctor is being provided with the means to experiment with his TARDIS console in exchange for him working as a scientific advisor at a drilling project. But when he goes into a parallel universe using his TARDIS, he discovers the horrors that will take place if the drilling on our world isn't stopped...

This episode is fantastic. It was the last episode to be recorded without incidental music, but the ever present sound of the drill reminds us constantly of the danger the Earth is in.

If I had to point out one bad point of this story, it would be that LIz does an awful lot of running between the drill and the Doctor's hut, even in the parallel universe. However, the acting is superb, and although the sound effects of the monsters aren't very convincing, it still deserves five stars.

My final point is that the cliffhanger to episode six is the best I have ever seen in Doctor Who.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Inferno is a brilliant story, well presented with just enough twists and turns to keep excitement levels high and to make this a fun ride. This was a serial of which I was unaware as a young teen in the mid to late `70s. At the time the only way you could experience the thrill of Jon Pertwee's Doctor stories, apart from very sporadic omnibus showings that you just happened to hear about, was via Target's brilliant novelisations. (I loved these so much that at the end of 1978 phoned in to Capital Radio to tell them that buying them was the best thing that I could remember about the year!) To my knowledge Target didn't issue Inferno as a novel, so my first experience of this early story is this DVD and I've had a great time with it. There are some genuinely exciting and, dare I say it from behind my sofa, scary moments and the actors all seem to be having a whale of a time, with some great monster transformations- especially by John Levene- and the HAVOC team serve up some wonderfully over the top stunts. It's a shame that Caroline John didn't have longer in the role of Liz Shaw, she really comes into her own in this story.
Wonderful fun; one of the best Dr Who stories ever.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2010
Sadly we live in an age these days where everything is done on the quick, what I term 'The Twitter Generation'. A story like 'Inferno' just wouldn't get made today and even suggesting making a story of seven (yes, seven!) 25 minute episodes would give most TV executives a heart attack! And that's a shame, because in my ever changing top 10 of 'Doctor Who' stories 'Inferno' is always high up and is often at the very top.

As with the wonderful 'The Mind Robber', necessity is the mother of invention, and so when this story had to be elongated the idea of the parallel universe came into its own, and is one of the things that makes 'Inferno' a top-quality story. The idea is simple, but effective and we get to see a dystopian alternate world which is a little further along with the same experiment in 'our' world. The Brigadier in this world is a domineering but ultimately cowardly 'Brigade Leader' (sans moustache!) and is a highlight, but you get the sense from these episodes that all the actors enjoyed playing different personae (I expect Pertwee was a little jealous at missing out, if truth be told!).

Despite what younger people may think, a longer story can work and be invigorating, and the proof of this particular pudding is in watching the joy that is 'Inferno'. If you haven't seen it I envy you, as you're in for a real treat!
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
This Third Doctor (Jon Pertwee) adventure is an odd one - originally intended to comprise of four episodes revolving around the dangers surrounding Project Inferno, an attempt to drill into the Earth's crust to unleash limitless energy, the studio asked the script writer, Don Houghton, to extend the serial by three additional episodes, causing him to write in the sub-plot of a parallel dimension in order to prolong the story without adding more expense in terms of additional sets and actors. Considering the decision to add the parallel universe was a last minute one, it works surprisingly well and doesn't feel tacked on at all.

The Doctor is an adviser to Project Inferno, something that irritates the project's co-ordinator, Professor Stahlman, who is obsessed with drilling to the Earth's crust despite the constant warnings of the risk associated with such an endeavour. One of the side-effects of the drilling is an unusually green liquid which poisons those who have contact with it, reverting them back to a prehistoric state, intent on a crazed rampage. The Doctor, meanwhile is working on his TARDIS console, in an attempt to reverse his exile imposed on him earlier in the season. This backfires sending him to a parallel universe, where everyone is warped versions of themselves, giving the actors a chance to play outside of their typical characters. Aware of the deadly consequences of the project from the parallel universe, the Doctor must get back to his true Earth and stop the Inferno from destroying everyone he cares about.

I wasn't expecting to enjoy this serial as most of Jon Pertwee's adventures up until now have felt slightly lacking in the grand feeling of adventure from the black & white era episodes, mostly due to their fixed setting on 1970s Earth with the UNIT team. The change in pace and direction that occurred after The 2nd Doctor (Patrick Troughton) left has been something of a shake-up and left me wishing for the classic time-jumping adventures, so this parallel dimension voyage was a step in the right direction, bringing back the sense of travel and wonder to the series.

I really enjoyed seeing the 'mirror images' of the supporting characters and spotting the minor differences between the two universes. It took me a few times to realise that the Brigadier in "World B" didn't have a moustache, although I did keenly observe the eye-patch! Liz Shaw (Caroline John) seemed to enjoy playing a more villainous role, giving her more to work with than being the Doctor's `yes woman'. Even the characters who were introduced in this storyline were given compelling backstories and character traits in both dimensions, making the viewer care about them. (Twice over in some instances!)

Overall, this is quite easily the best of the Third Doctor's opening season, beating the more monster-driven stories of The Silurians and The Ambassadors of Death that preceded it. I hope that the upcoming serials return to the classic template of having the Doctor travelling to new worlds and time periods experiencing different cultures, rather than having the creatures visit contemporary Earth, which doesn't feel like Doctor Who at all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse