Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
33
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 April 2013
Played this many times, wanting to love it. Alas It just sounds middle of the road pop to me. I think Kelly Hogan does this type of stuff better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
Superb album packed with quality materiel, much of which is either written or jointly written by Caitlin. She has a wonderful pure voice and I thoroughly recommend this to anyone who enjoys alt.country or Americana. This style of music seems to be getting bigger all the time and Caitlin Rose is certainly one of the outstanding stars from the new wave of artists working in this genre. Favourite tracks for me are "Silver Sings" and "Old Numbers", the latter of which has a retro feel about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
I loved Caitlin Rose's last album which showed what a brilliant songwriter she is, this album has a bigger sound and makes it clear that she should never be pigeon-holed musically as country - she is becoming one of the great singer-songwriters from the wonderful Only A Clown, to the Joan Didion inspired Pink Champagne to the jazzy Old Numbers, she tells fascinating tales with great honesty. She's ably assisted by great song collaborators and a wonderful band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I like this album, but it has its flaws which is a shame because it could have been really good, I think. Caitlin Rose writes good songs and sings them very well indeed. She has a lovely, expressive voice and the ability to put a song over exceptionally well. In an album dominated by loneliness and heartbreak she never slips into sloppiness and the over-sentimentality which could destroy an album like this and she is plainly a genuine talent.

The songs are varied in feel from the excellent, driving, rock-like opener No One To Call via the tango-tinged Waitin' to the tender love song Pink Champagne. Many are very good, although the latter part of the album seems to me to tail off into rather more ordinary material. There is some great, well-used slide guitar throughout and the band are very good. However, the bass and especially the drums are produced to give a rock-band sound and are very prominent throughout. This is very effective on the rocking tracks, but I found the drum sound horribly intrusive on I Was Cruel, Pink Champagne and other songs, and its dominance throughout the album really began to irritate even in songs I liked a lot.

This is a personal response, of course, and you may not mind it at all. It certainly doesn't spoil the album, but it does detract from it for me. I still think it's a good album with some terrific songs by a very talented singer-songwriter, but for me some slightly weaker material and some insensitive production mean it's not a great one. It's still well worth getting, though, and I can recommend it - Caitlin Rose is a class act and will be around for many years on this evidence.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
On the two occasions I've seen Caitlin live in England, she seemed the epitome of East Nashville. This album takes her to a different place - more the Western Swing of Texas - with much higher production values without overwhelming the quality of the song-writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
Caitlin Rose surpasses her debut album with a brilliant new album of songs. Her voice is faultless as before and there is an added sophistication to the song-writing and arrangements.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
There are not many albums on which every track is good. On this most verge on the great. I loved her previous 'Own Side Now' and this is even better. A voice to die for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Read about her in a music magazine, also heard her on a free Cd with the mag. So I bought the album and consider it superb, no filler tracks.Every one a gem!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
Great cd, at first wasnt too sure but after lots of playing its really grown on me! Effortless voice, calm cool and collected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
As an European this is really comtemporary music from US. Thanks to her voice and interpretation of the songs. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)