Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
38
Wakin' On A Pretty Daze
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 January 2014
I genuinely look forward to those times when I can play this album in its entirety through a decent set of speakers. Most recently it provided the perfect woozy, uplifting soundtrack to a post-party clean-up. Having only heard a couple of tracks from earlier Kurt Vile records I had listened to 'Snowflakes are Dancing' and 'Girl Called Alex' on Spotify but been wary of the length of WOAPD and the number of longer tracks (which on appearance seemed extravagant). Man was I proved wrong. After the second occasion on which I played this album from front to back I decided, 'Right, I gotta buy this on CD.' This is just such a well-sequenced record and the arrangements are so compelling in terms of their shifting layers that the number of longer tracks doesn't make for a slog but instead an opportunity for joyous immersion. As with any great album, it helps that it's bookended by two tracks that encapsulate everything that is charming, melancholy, and life-affirming about Vile's wise-ass drawl and sparkling guitar tones. Thoroughly recommended and certainly one of the best records of 2013.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2017
brilliant album took me a while to get into at first and the songs to shine through quite a lazy drawn out ssiiiiiiingin styyyle and music but absoulotely love it now listen to it everyday great chilled out vibe to it and a bit reflective fave songs was all talk,girl called alex,snow flakes dancing its a grower so give it time and youll be rewarded .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2013
A fantastic follow up to Smoke Ring For My Halo. The songs are excellently developed with a lot more instrumental layering and incredibly catchy hooks. Each song flows easily into the next but without sounding too 'samey'. One of the best albums you'll buy this year...and probably next year too!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2018
great music at a great price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2015
Bought this is a result of the link with War on Drugs whose album "Lost in the Dream" I couldn't stop playing. This is an excellent album whose tracks nurdle their way into your brain as you penetrate each nuance. Had it for about 4 weeks and can't stop playing it. Current favourite is "Girl called Alex". Will now trawl Kurt's back catalogue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2013
If you liked 2011's Smoke Ring album, you'll enjoy this also. It's the sort of music which couldn't be made by a British band without drawing criticism of sounding retro and contrived. Admittedly all the ingredients are there, skinny white kid, Philly drawl, songs about drugs and women, strong Springsteen / Tom Petty influence. Heard it all before over 30 years ago? - well yes but this kid is also a true and convincing original. He writes great songs, delivered with his own sound and is also a mean guitar player. The album is instantly accessible but give it time and the songs get their hooks into you. Only reason for 4 stars not 5 is the absence of a real stand-out track - they're all good mind.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2013
A great album full of fantastic songs. Could be a contender for album of 2013 already. Get it and enjoy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2013
a fantastic voice,lyrics and guitar sound - it hasn't been off my in car cd player since it arrived - great summer driving music - Kurt Vile is a real talent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2014
This is in my top 5 all time best albums. Amazing guitar melodies and off beat rhythms, with vocals that have a hint of cohen and cash.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2014
son loves it & must admit I've played it in the car quite a bit. Can be a bit too laid back after a while!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Lotta Sea Lice
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)