Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 21 July 2017
It takes a few stories to establish, with the first few bogged down with every character pointing at Dredd and explaining who he is.
The Dredd in this volume has yet to evolve into the quasi-fascist satire it later settled on, but a lot of the world-building is established here. Characters like Dredd's Italian land-lady and house robot Walter are quite odd vestigial limbs before things got grittier.
However, any story-line featuring a psychotic robot named "Call-Me-Kenneth" is alright with me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
This is the very early Judge Dredd comics from 2000AD in black and white. It these case files we see day to day life in Mega City 1, a tour of Luna city to the Judge crossing the Cursed Earth on a mission of mercy. Great read for fans of the Judge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
good stuff, shame kindle app cant perform any form of zooming, even on a 10" tablet its often unreadable, kindle apps shortcomings forcing me to look for a better reader with zoom function, even a rotate option would be preferable as your forced into portrait.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
Loving it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
Long time Dredd fan - first time reviewer.

I started reading Judge Dredd about 25 years ago. I probably missed the first year or two of 2000AD in its original format, but quickly found myself addicted to the comic and have been a long time fan.

I recall in my early readings of Dredd some of the references to things like Walter the Wobot and Maria (Dredd's maid), but never read them. Until now.

I like to read the odd Graphic Novel every now and then, so a bit of nostalgia brought me to Vol 1 of the Case Files.

They say to never meet your heros. I kinda understand that a bit now. Dredds early stories were poor, the writing was cliche'd and the drawing had not yet matured. However, this is the beginnings of a Icon who in my mind has one of the best long term "canons" out there (yes - even to rival some of the big american names). Everybody has to start somewhere.

Overall, I enjoyed reading what the type of Dredd stories that I probably fell in love with - but they are nothing special. However, if you are looking for a glimpse of how an Icon started (from humble beginnings), this is a good start. This Vol will hold a firm place in my collection - because of its importance rather than its quality.

If you really want to read a good Dredd story - start with the mega epics. There is 30 years of quality awaiting you. How I envy someone who is only discovering Dredd now.
22 Comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2010
Volume 1 includes the initial introductory Dredd stories, the Call-Me-Kenneth robot revolution, Return of Rico, the Luna period and ends with Dredd returning to MC1 in time for the Cursed Earth saga. Also included are the first, unpublished, Dredd by Esquerra and a selection of Walter the Wobot one-pagers.

Volume 2 includes the excellent Cursed Earth and Judge Caligula epics back to back and ends with three parter the DNA man

Volume 3 returns to shorter storyline formats and includes Judge Death, Father Earth, Umpty Candy and the blood of Satanus. These all all good stories although this volume is one of the thinnner ones and it must be said the reproduction really isn't good in parts. The backgrounds of some frames are lost completely and some of the best art in Dredd ends up looking pretty pedestrian. Sticklers may be better trying to seek out the superior image quality of the Titan publications.

Volume 4 includes the excellent Judge Child saga, Otto Sump, The Fink, Pirates if the Black atlantic and Chopper's first appearance.

Volume 5 Includes Block Mania and the epic Apocalypse War

Volume 6 follows on from the conclusion of the Apocalypse war with Meka city, Fungus and Destiny's Angels and then it's back to reasonably good shorter storylines with Rabid, Blobs, Night of the rad beast, the slightly naff Starborn thing, The Stupid Gun, Trapper Hag, the good Shanty town and a real forgotten gem The Executioner.

Volume 8 Includes some multi parters but no epics - Cry of the werewolf, the classic fatty eating saga Requiem for a heavyweight, The graveyard shift, Bob & Carol & Ted & Ringo, the Haunting of sector house 9, Citizen Snork and numerous okay single episode stories. This volumes marks a changing of the guard in terms of artists with the introduction of Cam Kennedy and Jim Baikie.

The print reproduction is generally good - but some pages suffer bady and some really great art is made to look very ordinary, particularly when toner is used - this is understandably unavoidable on the colour spreads but surely not on the b/w pages. Despite this minor gripe you won't find a more affordable and comprehensive Dredd collection and kudos to Rebillion for getting these in print. Essential.
88 Comments| 133 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
This may seem odd, but if you are new to Dredd, I wouldn't start here. The early stories are a bit hit and miss as the character was very much being formed "in public". The stories significantly improve in Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files, Vol. 2, beginning with the epic Cursed Earth saga which is a real classic. I would start volume 2, and if you enjoy it, move to book 3 and so on. By all means come back to Volume 1, but I fear it may put you off wanting to explore more of the early stories if you start with this volume. I speak from personal experience. I read 2000AD in the mid-eighties, and when Volume 1 was published in the mid-2000s, was keen to see how the 70's version was. I didn't like it at all, and put it down to overly-fond childhood memories. Friends convinced me otherwise, advised me to start again with Volume 2 and they were spot on.

If you only want to buy one book, it would have to be Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files v. 5, which has three of the greatest Dredd stories ever; "Judge Death Lives", "Block Mania" and "Apocalypse War" as well as a good selection of other shorter stories. Volume 1 just isn't in the same class.
11 Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2006
As a 17 year-old I had only read a handful of these stories in reprints. Now this huge collection of Dredd stories is out I can say that I have experienced the beginning of Britain's greatest comic character (alongside Dan Dare and Captain Britain). The great thing about these stories is that they wear their age proudly. Everything just reeks of the lates 70's and sometimes things even enter a cheesy zone. However, this is still great to read and really maintains the feel of these older strips. Dredd is a young man compared to how old he is today (he ages in real time so he is now nearly 30 years older than he is depicted here) and it really shows. He still comes across as very idealistic, but never naive. He isn't as tough and as harsh as he became later in the strips. I really think this book is great for new Dredd/2000 AD fans and the price is really good for what you get, these are Marvel Essentials on steroids. They may not contain as many pages as the Marvel editions but the paper stock is miles better than the toilet grade paper you get with those books. I strongly suggest that you pick this book up!
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2012
I'm pretty au fait with later Dredd works, but thought it would be interesting to go back and check out some of the earlier stuff and...well...it's not that great. I'd say it's analogous to something like very early Simpsons where, you recognise the characters but it just hasn't quite got the oomph to it yet. Evidently the creative team were still finding their feet, and were probably all pretty young themselves and needed to mature.

This stuff is relatively old - the late 70s - and it's worth remembering this when reading it. Think of 'The Dark Night Returns', then look back at some of the 50s and 60s Batmans, they're very different from a different time.

If I could give half stars I'd probably actually give this 2.5. All that said, there are some entertaining stories here and is well worth a look if you're interesting in the beginnings of a classic character!
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
Absolutely hated this. Because each 'story' is around five pages long, there isn't enough time to develop any depth, and the dialogue is awful. The final straw for me, being when one of the characters explained what was about to crush him as it did, which I assume was meant to subtly hint at the irony of being killed by your own creation. Unfortunately, even though he inexplicably had ample time to describe his final moments, the lack of intelligent writing saw the idiot allude any concise brevity on the matter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse