Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 11 September 2012
Whilst the first volume of The Complete Case Files is made up almost completely of short stories this volume presents us with two Judge Dredd epics, and possibly the best epics ever written about Dredd.
This volume kicks off straight away with "The Cursed Earth". The story takes up nearly half of the book and charts Dredd's mission to go from Mega City 1 (New York) to take a vaccine which is killing all the inhabitants of Mega City 2 (Los Angeles). Superb writing and artwork has made this story a Dredd classic and should not be missed.

Following directly on from "The Cursed Earth" is "The Day The Law Died". This story takes up almost all of the remainder of the book and is on an equal par with "The Cursed Earth" in my opinion.

I deliberately have not gone into too much detail about the stories as I think it's best that you read and discover them for yourself. Suffice to say I think that volume 2 of The Complete Case Files is the best of the lot.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2017
Classic Dredd. 10p!? That was the cover price of the weekly comic back then in 1978. The whole series was way ahead of its time, and in another league from the other dull comics of the same period. Now time for Book 3 . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2018
Brilliant artwork all packaged in a lovely book. Recommended for 2000ad/Dredd fans and new to Dredd people as well! Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2017
Great book and great Seller. I totally recomend it.Great book and great Seller. I totally recomend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2018
For any 2000ad fans. This is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2018
Fantastic collection of early Dredd! Vol 1 was a collection of shorts. Vol 2 is dominated by two much longer stories, and all the better for it. Good value for the amount of content too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2013
This review is about the product rather than the content - which of course is great.
The sub £2 price tempted me to try this on Kindle for my Nexus 7.
Bit disappointing really. Tiny text. And the option to zoom on individual panels is very slow. So not a great reading experience and I won't be repeating it for other Dredd titles going cheap.
Might be better on an iPad.

Wish I'd seen a review like this before buying it. Dredd deserves 5 stars.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2006
Whereas the continuity of the first Dredd Case Files collection was very slap-dash, here we start to get a lot of much-needed history and backstory for Dredd's world, establishing why the Judges came about, how their world became like it is, what surrounds the city, etc. In short, Dredd's world finally feels three-dimensional and fully-realised, and is much the better for it.

The bulk of the book is taken up by Dredd's first two epics, and this creates a far more stable line-up of creators (only two writers, for instance) that again give the adventures a more coherent voice and feel. The first tale, Pat Mills' The Cursed Earth, is absolutely manic - mutants, tyrannosuars, vampires, aliens, punk bikers, vengeful robot armies and gambling-obsessed mafia judges all throw themselves at Dredd in a roaring blood and guts epic that never lets up once. By the time you get to the base-under-seige ending, you'll actually be breathless, I guarantee it. John Wagner's The Day the Law Died slows things down (but only a little) and lets a raving maniac take complete power of Mega-city One. The results are too brilliantly mad-cap to go into here, but the wonderful satire and black humour in this tale mean the more unstable line-up of artists doesn't really matter. It's worth it anyway just to see a goldfish become Deputy Chief Judge.

As for the art - Mike McMahon and Brian Bolland are of course the stars, dominating the book as they do, McMahon's sometimes scratchy-looking art still conveying a madcap energy and glee at working on such stories, and Bolland producing some of the most intricate, detailed, well-handled art in comics. An essential purchase, containing classic Dredd tales only possibly bettered by what's to come in Books 4 and 5...
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2012
Whilst Dredd volume 1 was a compilation of mediocre short stories that did not really world build or provide any character development whatsoever, volume 2 is the exact opposite. What you have exactly here are the first two Dredd epics- The Cursed Earth and the Day the Law Died- collected (but not in their entirety- more on that later). Thrown in at the back are several short stories. Both epics are absolutely fantastic and some of the best comics I've ever read- whilst dated, the momentum never lets up and the ferocity is always there. Cursed Earth is particularly memorable for Dredd's pseudo sidekick, Spikes Harvey Rotten, a criminal motorcyclist turned anti-hero when offered a clean slate. Add to this the tragic character of the alien Tweak and you already have a memorable set of characters- however, their trek across the Cursed Earth is what really stands out, the challenges that they face vary and are always life-or-death. Tension is always high and Dredd is a total badass in every scene. Whilst he has little character development, the genius in his writing is more in his interaction with others. A down-point for some of this particular printing is that four chapters have been removed due to copyright disputes. I read these chapters online, at: [...], but honestly they add very little to the story and only the completist should pursue copies of them down. And just when the Cursed Earth saga is finished, and we think Dredd is going to get a rest- Judge Cal takes over Mega City One in a fascist dictatorship and Dredd must lead an underground resistance against the mad tyrant. Whilst ridiculous at times, the story is fantastic for it's satire of 20th Century history. Whilst I thought Cursed Earth was the true standout of this collection, the Day the Law Died is still great. Both showcase why Dredd is such a fantastic character and round him out nicely, unlike the first volume. For new readers, I would simply skip the first volume and read this volume- it serves as a much better introduction to Dredd's world than the first and is actually fantastic. Included at the end are a few short stories, which are good adventures but one does question their inclusion in this volume- the volume could only have been strengthened by their removal. They'd find a better home in volume three, which is actually very short. Nonetheless, volume 2 is a fantastic collection and a must read for any comics reader looking to break into British comics. Roll on to volume 3!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2013
This is a great place to start if you are new to Dredd. Volume 1 is OK, but it doesn't have the brilliant story telling volume 2 has. The two Dredd epics, "The Cursed Earth" and "The Day The Law Died" are legendary Dredd stories for a reason, and truly deserve the title of "epic". There is a lot of reivew time given to these, and rightly so, but don't overlook the shorter stories in the this volume. "Crime and Punishment" is an excellent prelude where Dredd takes on the ultimate enemy (I won't spoil it by saying who) and the stories near the end, "Punks Rule", "The Exo Men" and "The DNA Man" are Dredd getting back to the streets to deal with the perps in the only way he knows how. "Punks Rule" is a particular favourite of mine, with witty writing and Dredd using the infamous Hotshot mode on the Lawgiver.

If you want to start at the beginning, by all means start with Volume 1, but if you want to read a good selection of Dredd stories, then this and Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files v. 5 are probably the best you can get.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse