Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2014
i had already seen it so no suprizes, was a doc from tv, what else can I say>? i suppose there are bits that I could watch again, the live footage, but would have liked more of that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Having loved JCC since 1978, or something, I was excited by the documentary. Its great because you see a fair bit of His Johnness, but I got sick if the 'celebs' going on about how great he is. I would have liked less of them and more of him. They are not interesting and he is. Here's the thing though, its still a canny documentary, like.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2012
New and entertaining dvd release from the bbc and its about time someone put out a dvd of this legend,chock full of visual delights,and some cool extras too..but my only minor complaint(being a hardcore fan of 30+ years) is it misses out on key albums like"Zip Style Method" and the documentry covers/talks about certain singles but misses out on others?....apart from that minor niggle its a joy to watch. 8/10.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Didn't pick up on John Cooper Clarke at 'the time' as I was living abroad. Then I recently saw this docufilm on TV and was bowled over. Wow he's a modern day 'Manchester Poet' who rivals the latter day 'Liverpool Poets'. He's the punk Mcgough'. Poetry is alive, well and grows in his hands.

The big plus for me was the uncut version of Evidently Chicken Town no bleeper just a wonderful poem as it was (is) meant to be heard ffffffffffffffffab

This man needs far greater recognition as he is clever, witty and a wordsmith of merit.

This DVD is a great introduction to an uncompromising man who makes poetry exciting and, more importantly, accessible.

Get this DVD now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
That's my experience - definitely worth watching. Enjoyable appreciation of the massive talent and character of one John Cooper Clarke, plus a mini history of his life so far. I found it absorbing. He's still here and performing, which is gratifying for his sake and others, considering some of his story... Anyway, I like him, and he's accessible - I met him once at a gig, and he's a nice guy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
Fab book has loads of old familiar JCC poems in, beautifully illustrated too.
One two three four five six seven.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
I got sent a free copy of this along with John Cooper Clarke - South of the Border: Live from London's South Bank [DVD] in preparation for interviewing JCC for a magazine. "Evidently John Cooper Clarke" is the same hour-long documentary which was screened on BBC4 last year, with some additional extras - 15 interesting minutes of JCC talking about his early life, an extra 12 minutes of talking heads, and recent live performances of 3 poems. Some will doubtless say there are too many talking heads in the doc, but most of them do actually have interesting things to say, although the best bits are undoubtedly when JCC himself is on camera. It's difficult to think of a more loveable cultural icon than this friendly, funny, down-to-earth punk poet with the skinny legs and big hair. It's good to see him receiving the recognition he deserves and it's equally good to see that this is a product which has been put together with respect for both the fans and the man himself.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
Fittiing overview of Punk Poet, Gag Merchant, Bon Viveur. Legend. Give the national treasure a record deal. Or a TV show? Imagine!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
Excellent! I love it. The transaction was smooth all the way through. Perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2015
He's great music not so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)