Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
11
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.89


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2015
Listen, I don't care what you call this, some say hip hop, some say trip hop others say chillout, lounge, breakbeat. It doesn't matter as it is just well produced music. So, I wouldn't even compare it to anything mainstream, or anything else as it houses so much more than a mere attempt at general genre. What this is is UK beat based music and we are the finest creators of this music in the world. I think this is a fine album. If you are looking for other great UK beat based music try....

Who else are great? Try
> Fila Brazillia
> Rae and Christian
> Only Child
> Baby Mammoth
> Bonobo
> Quantic
> Backini
> Wagon Christ
> Howie B
> Flevans
> DJ Food

This AIM album is a must have in the collection though so no matter what you do grab this one!

There are many more great UK producers that have a funky edge yet comprises of darkness, melody and touches on the original sounds of the late 80's early 90's. The point is, this is a UK genre so to speak where we are the masters of such wonderful surreal beat based music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2002
Take all your preconcieved perceptions of hip hop, tear 'em up and throw 'em away! Andy Turner (aka Aim) a former indie rock loving anorak has redefined the genre. In many ways this is car boot sale hip hop in which obscure samples are snatched from old vinyl and put together in a breath takingly beautiful way.
To be honest, "Hinterland" is closer to the blissful downtempo moments of Air rather than the normal raw, in-your-face attitude of hip hop. Whereas his "Cold Water Music" debut was much closer to the hip hop blueprint with an emphasis on rap collaborations, here he concentrates more on his moody but beautiful instrumentals.
As a result, when vocalists are sparingly used the impact is much more dramatic and welcome. Again, Kate Rogers is in fine form on the heartbreakingly gorgeous "The Girl Who Fell Through The Ice". Anyone familar with her "Sail" track on "Cold Water Music" will know what to expect...but this is even more moving. Stephen Jones and Diamond D also contribute some fantastic vocals. In fact, the only vocal track that slightly disappoints is Turner's own sung "A Twilight Zone" which seems a little out of context with the feel of the album.
However, I personally feel Turner is at his best when concentrating on the more mellow and soulful instrumentals with "What Do People Do All Day", "Fall Break", "Linctus" and "From A Seaside Town" all being paticular high points.
"Hinterland" really is a beautiful and moving album that you just want to curl up with in front of a warm fire on a winters afternoon. It mat only be February but I'll stick my neck out and say this could already be one of the albums of 2002.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2002
This album has a bit of everything while still remaining true to its roots.Its blend of soulful hiphop has been around for a decade or more in the small town where the ablum was created and Aim cut his DJing teeth.Finally its becoming more mainstream thanks to Zero7 , Avalanches and Aim himself people are starting to listen.I both dread and look forward to hearing one of his singles in the charts..it will happen soon. Crongatulations to Aim and the rest of the team for a quality album that is definitely a grower.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2002
Aim's first album, termed as coffee table hip-hop, definitely carved out a distinctive sound for the man from the West coast of England. Hinterland builds upon this with some sweet beats, merging all kinds of styles. The song with Kate Rogers is poigant modern soul, Souls of Mischief rip it like the natural born emcees that they are, and their is a phat performance by Diamond. The rest of the album is made up of sweet samples and loops to bounce to - if you haven't listened to AIM before your in for a total treat, because it is all good!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2002
i am a big fan of aim, particularly his early 12's and the album cold water music.
sadly, hinterland is, for me sorely lacking the elements that made his previous music so good. gone is the atmosphere of c.w.m. gone also is the big sound of his more up-beat hip-hop tunes such as loop dreams, and the simplicity and feeling of their brilliantly worked loops.
i feel that what we are left with lacks purpose, and seems to wander off, ending up sounding like a film score rather than a collection of separate tunes. not one of the tunes really stands out.
maybe this will be your thing, but for me hinterland is a real dissapointment.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2003
What is all this speak of hinterland being inadequate? True, cold water music is a hard album to follow up, but i think hinterland is a match for it in all aspects. The vocal tracks on offer are brilliant, kate rodgers latest contribution far better than her last effort on cold water music while stephen jones delivers a brilliant falsetto to make a beautiful song out of good disease. Equally, the rap offerings shine with diamond d and the souls of mischief providing tight rhymes - all this over the usual dope beats AIM so often provides. Admittedly some of the instrumentals do drag on a little but that is not enough to convince me this album deserves no less than five stars.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
If you like the others albums from Aim then you will love this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
All time classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2002
i had to write a review because the average rating for this LP was 4 stars and it certainly doesn't deserve it. i would give it 2.5 stars but i can't. i couldn't give it 2 because its not that bad. so 3 it is.
i bought this blind, solely of the quality of the previous LP Cold Water Music. when i got home and eagerly lashed it out onto the turntable i was let down by what turned out to be a distinctly average LP. not what i was expecting.
okay, there are a couple of fairly decent efforts, such as "The Omen" (rescued by Diamond D's rap) and the more laid back "From a Seaside Town", but the rest is fairly bland stuff.
the very essence of what made Cold Water Music so sublime got lost somewhere in a deep hole and decided not to turn up on Hinterland. its a dissapointment, but he had a pretty difficult task of following a debut album like that. Just get Cold Water...
...and if anybody wants to buy a pretty much unplayed Hinterland (2xLP) at a good price...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2002
I was very disapointed by Hinterland, after hearing much of Aims' earlier releases, including the phenomenal Cold Water Music, I was really looking forward to this release. Then I listened to it. It lacks the heart and soul of Cold Water Music, and while there are highlights, (Linctus, From a Seaside Town) the rest of the album simply passed me by with little effect. Its a neither here nor there affair, losing sight of its roots while at the same time finding nothing new either. Trying too hard to tap into the mainstream perhaps?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)