Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
41
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2011
Who was on the cxxxing mixer desk? 8 year old Tobias Smedley who turned the volume down? Also the direction mics were hopeless. There is no point making a dvd of an opera if, with a powerful stereo system, I can't get a decent volume going. I had an 80's version of this opera on videotape and it had a louder sound volume/body through a mono telly!
Tattybye forever Silentbourne, I'l purchase namore from thee. As for the production, it wasn't bad,good singer/actors I guess. Just couldn't hear them.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2000
I agree completely with the parisian friend! The sound is fantastic, great performance of the LPO, very nice stage direction, and great performances of Gerard Finley and Renèe Fleming. I hope that NVCARTS will make soon other titles of that quality. So, opera-lovers, let's make our voices loud, and let's ask all together more titles available! They are really too few!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2002
What can I say? I can only recommend this DVD because it's absolutely gorgeous. The soloists are not only fantastic singers but also great actors. Alison Hagley (an impressive and charming Susanna) and Gerald Finley just seem to be the most wonderful Susanna and Figaro on stage ever. Simply wonderful!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is an excellent production of Mozarts 'Figaro'. We need more on DVD of this quality,the perfect medium for opera.Come on production companies we opera lovers are waiting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2009
I believe that the Glyndbourne productions of Mozart's are some of the best ever, and this version of the Marriage of Figaro gives all the depth and emotion that this popular opera requires.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
Love this performance - only drawback for me is poor subtitles I think you are expected to know the words and meaning of the actual main arias etc which sadly I don't .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
In a long life 100years this september have seen the marriage umpteen timesThought this well acted,well sung and thankfully well directed -can thoroughly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
I love this version. I now have four versions of this opera and they all have something to commend them. The staging is simple but effective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
Beautiful,lively, thoroughly enjoyable production. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
Who am I to comment on the work of Mozart!! Arrived early
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)