Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 8 June 2013
I sometimes enjoy the acting of David Tennant but he's seriously off game, this season, with 'stack 'em high, sell 'em cheap' offerings like BROADCHURCH and this pathetic attempt at televisual drama.
It was so badly written that I imagine the script was done in purple crayon.

How can a writer demonstrate a rising sense of distrust and hostility within the marriage of two successful politicians....? By having the man forcibly sodomise the wife.
But what if viewers don't realise what is happening? They may think the couple are simply wrestling?
By having the man spit into his hand and lubricate his pyjama escaping member whilst wife appears goggle eyed with fear and all things proctorlogical.
And how shall said wife handle this situation, once the actual rape is over and the two face each other over a breakfast of boiled eggs?
With a mild rebuke....!!!

I don't know why so many of these inconsequential and instantly forgettable shows continue to be commissioned but I really wish that occasionally something a little more adult, a little more educated, would come along.
Something like The Fall with Gillian Anderson.

In summary The Politicians Husband was unoriginal, badly written and tedious. It appeals to the type of people who want to enjoy sophisticated television but, in truth, are more comfortable with Noel Edmonds style banalities. I believe that anyone who liked The Politicians Rapist Husband must be suffering the onset of dementia....And speaking of mental cases - Am I the only one who wished they'd let Noah drown???
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2015
Depressing, full of nastiness. Possibly representative of politics, hopefully not of the world. Thankfully not my world anyway.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2014
Having enjoyed David Tennant's performance in the "Spies of Warsaw", I ordered "The Politician's Husband". In the first episode of the 3 part series, the scene is set of a very happy, powerful and successful couple moving forward to the next stage in their careers in parliament where they are MPs. The plan to usurp the prime minister's position by the husband, Aiden Hoynes (David Tennant) with help from his long term friend and godfather to his children, Bruce Babbish (Ed Stoppard) is shockingly destroyed by Bruce in an 'et tu Brute' moment. The resultant collapse of Aiden's career and position then almost destroys his happy marriage to Freya (Emily Watson), as Aiden tries to use Freya for his own political ends. This is a gripping drama that follows the complex lives and emotions of the characters with loss of love and trust gradually undermining all the family relationships. The final scene is one of simultaneous success and failure. There are many Shakesperean undertones of love, lust, jealousy, betrayal and vaulting ambition. Paula Milne’s excellent screenplay and each of the actor’s perfect portrayals makes this riveting and satisfying viewing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2014
If you have a cynical view of our current politicians and politics in general then this DVD will do nothing to dispel those views. Well paced, well acted and all too credible, it follows a period in the life of two married Westminster politicians as they plot their way to..............well that would be telling. David Tennant and Emily Watson are excellent in the lead roles. The ever-reliable Roger Allam effortlessly steals his scenes, all quiet menace. Jack Shepherd is impressive as the dignified father. Indeed there are no weak links in this cast. At just under 3 hours set aside an evening and watch it from start to finish. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2017
This just does not sit right . The acting is marvelous . The script is too far over the top , the writers personal prejudice submerging everything else . I thought the sub plots of children and aupair , were completely , unnecessary , distracting , making the nearly three hours , drag .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 May 2013
Written by Paula Milne, 'The Politician's Husband' is a drama of ambition, intrigue, betrayal, divided loyalties and jealously all delivered convincingly by a superb cast. Aiden Hoynes (David Tennant) is an arrogant and ambitious frontbench minister who resigns his post as a ploy to seek party leadership (no party is actually named). His wife, Freya Gardner (Emily Watson) has played second fiddle to her husband's career and is a junior minister. The plan backfires and is sabotaged by Aiden's old ally and friend, Bruce Babbish (Ed Stoppard). Whilst Freya is climbing the political ladder, Aiden becomes isolated and frustrated. Their marriage and professional relationship (they have a 10 year old son, Noah, with autism) begin to develop cracks. The events that follow are compelling.

This is a compulsive viewing of how power and dominance can corrupt and warp values. David Tennant and Emily Watson give outstanding performances. I doubt this will improve viewers' opinions concerning the machinery of politics and its membership. An excellent thought-provoking and enjoyable production.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2017
This is great until part 3 where a large chunk of the plot goes missing. It jars with the previous detailed intrigue. Disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2016
this is not the sort of film I would normally watch but I love David Tennant in anything. I was surprised I watched the three episodes back to back and thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2018
love David Tennant! great series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2015
Big fan of Mr. Tennant but this one had his character playing the part of a devious husband, clearly jealous of his wife's career and undermining her success. Excellent acting - I am rating the DVD and not Mr. Tennant's outstanding acting ability.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)