Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
133
4.8 out of 5 stars
Young Montalbano [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 8 November 2013
I was immediately hooked on the original Inspector Montalbano TV series, not only because of the inventive plots but also because of the magnificent Sicilian scenery and filming locations. It is Inspector Morse with an Italian accent. Like Morse, I purchased the entire original Inspector Montalbano series on DVD. Now I see a brand new series of Inspector Montalbano is being aired with the original actors. Luca Zingaretti (I. Montalbano) seems to have aged the least. Doubtless I will add these to my growing DVD collection.

When I heard that a Young Montalbano series had been filmed I was hesitant to go out and buy the DVD. Sequels or prequels don't always live up to the expectations and quality of the original series. I watched the entire first series of Young Montalbano and I can happily report that I am hooked on this series too. I purchased the DVD.

Both series have stuck to the same winning formula: innovative and unique plots and beautiful Sicilian scenery. The actors employed in Young Montalbano bear a resemblance to the actors employed in Inspector Montalbano but approximately 15 years separate the two series. The writers of Young Montalbano have done an excellent job of merging the two series in both chronological and historical order, not an easy task.

There are many detective series on British TV but they tend to follow similar plot lines and the filming locations are mostly instantly forgettable. The Montalbano series is groundbreaking and very, very different. I am now attracted to Sicily as a holiday destination. For Montalbano fans there is even a Montalbano tour which includes visiting his seaside home, the lighthouse and the police station.

The Sicilian Tourist Board must be rubbing their hands with glee because of the unexpected success of both series. I hope more is made of either series.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
Good series set In sicily as enjoyable as montalbano
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Great first series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
Michele Riondino performs extremely well as a younger version of Salvo Montalbano than the one we are more accustomed to. Filmed in 2011 and set in 1990 this is before the days of mobile phones and the currency is still the lira.
These six mysteries are just under two hours long each and are well worth a watch where we can also see the younger versions of Mimi, Fazio and Catarella. We also see the first meeting of Salvo and Livia. Screening on BBC4 in autumn 2013, the episodes on this set are
-The First Inquiry
-New Year's Eve
-Back to the Roots
-Mortally Wounded
-Third Secret
-Seven Mondays.

The episodes feature Italian dialogue with English subtitles throughout.
99 Comments| 130 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
At first I had difficulty in adjusting to there being only an 8 year gap between this series being set in 1990, and the first episode of ' Inspector Montalbano' being set in 1998, and the vastly different appearances of the lead actors in their respective roles.

Having made that adjustment, I quickly became absorbed in the complex storylines, and the filling in of the central characters lives, notably the relationship between Salvo, and Livia ( charmingly portrayed by Michele Riondino and Sarah Felberbaum)

Comment has been made that the young Mimi comes across as sleazy, no doubt due to the nature of his initial introduction to the viewer, but I think he can be forgiven given the 'passing scene'.
Mimi is quickly revealed as being far more than a womaniser, and the interaction between him, and Salvo, contains some very amusing moments.

As for the young Caterella,the actor Fabrizio Pizzuto seems ill suited to the role, but then Angelo Russo who plays the character in ' Inspector Montalbano' was always going to be a tough act to follow.

So, in essence, with 'The Young Montalbano' we have an attractive main cast, absorbing complex plots, and the Sicilian scenery.

Whats not to like?
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
Love him too much
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
Great fun discovering the early years of such a well-loved detective!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
This series screened on SBS Australia in early 2013 and is worthy of the Montalbano name. A good cast and some interesting story lines mixed in with the explanations of how the latter relationships and situations of the original Montalbano TV movies formed combine to keep viewers entertained. There is no need to explain the magnificent Sicilian backdrop to Montalbano fans, any excuse to see more is almost a good enough reason to purchase this set.

There is always a risk of explaining too much (can't we live with *some* mystery and unanswered relationships in our screen entertainment?) but this series seems to have been done with enough sensitivity to keep the setups in their place as more crime mysteries are solved and the explanations of why the characters are they way they are evolve.

The series is good enough for another extension if scripts of sufficient quality exist, but if not it would be a big risk and could end up spoiling the fine Montalbano legacy.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
Well worth the purchase price, this series of Montalbano stories are well acted, run quite well as leads into the senior series, and provide enjoyable viewing.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
It is the Sicilian background that haunts me. The plots are interesting and although far-fetched they are rooted firmly in the small communities. t was a bit of a shock adapting to the younger characters, but well worth it. I could watch forever episode 1 where young Montalbano is trapped in the spectacularly beautiful Sicilian mountains yearning for fish and having to eat goat's cheese, then see his contentment when he arrives in that marvellous house by the beach. It makes me want to go to both places. I shan't do that except vicariously, but that works well enough.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)