Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 24 June 2017
MGM are noted for making slushy cheesy films filled with unbelievable stories of rich man meets poor girl; falls in love; and the woman gets to live a life of luxury. Not so here - MGM have broken the mould - for what you have in a gritty 'tell life as it really is' story – the sort favoured by Warner Brothers.

Here is a ‘story well told’ that is filled with twists and turns that will have you on the edge of your seat - a story that is a 'black comedy' full of pathos, juxtapositions, intrigue, murder, and much much more as it examines the ‘dark’ side of ‘the human condition’.

These are not two-dimensional characters without any depth that one encounters in many many films and TV series - these characters are real and 'true to life. All of the characters are seriously flawed; all of the characters are 'two-faced'; not one of them is 'nice' - and every character has their own 'hidden agenda' - and while you find that you cannot 'warm' to any of them, these sleazy double-dealing, double-crossing characters will speak VOLUMES to you – and make you question YOUR integrity.

It is a six-star production - but I am only permitted to award five.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2015
What an explosive series season four is! The build up in season three really does come to fruition here. Each episode is blindingly gripping and the story rattles along faster than any series before. The downward spiral of Jessie and Walt's fractured relationship comes to a giddy head in this series.

Full of twists and turns and double crossing this is superbly written. You never quite know what is coming next and who is playing who but to watch Walt become more and more of a criminal king pin is fascinating. Jessie also steps up to his mark with his rise through the ranks but in a much different way.

Season four ends with a bang and a masterful double play which will keep fans hungry for the final season. Terrific drama played to maximum effect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2016
This series is a guilty pleasure, based as it is on the amorality and casual violence of meth dealing. Th main character Walter White is Hamletesque in the way that he is overtaken by events and cannot extricate himself from them. His boss is Gus who provides a state of the art meth lab and brutally monopolises the supply of the drug by wiping out the oppositon. Alll the performances are believable, and there are also periods of light relief supplied by the Saul caracter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2013
This item only took a day to arrive. Amazingly fast! Very strongly packaged and came with a nice free membership to LoveFILM :D

Upon opening, the item is brand new and sealed along with the delivery note inside. I unpackage the item to find a very nice slipcase for the DVD, and the DVD box itself inside the slipcase.

Overall, I highly recommend purchasing this item as it is very good and the episodes are breathtaking and have you hanging on the edge of your seat wanting to see what happens next.

I must warn you, Once you start watching, it's rather hard to stop. Highly addictive!

Update: 21st January 2013:

Just over half way through this series, the tension between Jesse and Walt grows and skylar finds it more and more difficult to keep Walt's dark secret safe from Walt Jr.

Highly recommend to all. Cannot wait to watch the last 6 episodes and pre order Season 5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2015
Another must have. Watched it in two or three sittings. Anyone who has not watched this series should treat themselves with the first series and work their way towards this one.Just two series left after to make the collection whole. Great entertaining story. Have not heard so many people talk about a series like this in a long time. Excellent story. Human chemistry with elements of undeniable truth throughout. Thoroughly enjoyed and will watch again at some stage. Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2013
This is one of the best productions I have ever seen - absolutely superb acting. Good quality DVD as well.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2014
Not a lot to add really to the other garrulous reviews that have been posted regarding this series.
It is, quite frankly, one of the best, if not the best, series I have EVER seen.
If you are debating getting this, do so. Lock your doors and windows, turn the phone and PC off, stock up with nibbles and drinks for about a week and treat yourself to a masterclass in acting, plot development, characterisation, story-telling and intrigue.
You will be enthralled from start to finish. Nuff said
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2013
You already know it, if you're looking at this season, this is the best TV ever made and I don't even watch TV :)

BB is stunning, acting is off the scale, story line, plot, twists and the gradual disintegration of Mr white from common man to super criminal with all that entails and his final.....climax .... is just addictive beyond anything you can imagine.

If you want to watch a series that will leave you empty on the day after you watch the final episode, wondering what to do with your life ( without resorting to stealing an RV and cooking meth for a kick) then get BB. Buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2013
Breaking Bad is a series i will never forget, gripped me from episode one, it is action packed, violent and documents a "nice guys" fall into the criminal world slowly but surely whilst he struggles with illness, family life, financial trouble, lessening respect from family and peers.
the chemistry (pardon the pun) between jesse and walt (the main characters) played by aaron paul and bryan cranston is perfect and my advice is to buy the whole series because after 1 episode i was hooked!
all about the path we take.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2016
Half way through so far, some compelling episodes, always happy to watch the next one in line! Lots of twists and turns in the plot, deep characterisation of characters etc. Vince Gilligan is a talented producer with well thought out visuals, great storylines and he keeps the tempo varying. For instance, one episode was largely based on Walter White's state of mind after he realises he can no longer go back to the way he was and Gilligan uses a fly to illustrate Walt's psychological state. You'll have to watch it to see what I mean ;0) The only boxset I've watched recently which I'd rate as equal to or better than Breaking Bad is The Walking Dead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)