Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 21 February 2016
There are many flaws in this book, there are a few inconsistencies, but it grows on you the more that you read. A few pages in, I was tempted to dump it, fifty pages in, I was disappointed and hoping for something better, two hundred pages in I was considering buying the next book in the series. Apologies in advance to A.J. but he/she is no David Gemmell or George RR Martin but that does not mean that he/she cannot tell a good story. A story that grows upon you the more that you read. I am going to buy the second book, it obviously cannot be that bad when I am willing to pay again to read more.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2017
Truly, truly enjoyed this book!
From characters to world building to writing to dialogue to fight scenes- everything was described and executed to perfection making my reading experience a nice flowy, enjoyable one.
Loved the larger than life characters and the pace of the 600+ pages of a book was balanced in terms of keeping to the current progress and for building up the sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2016
Nothing too complex, a good fantasy read with interest characters. You will be hard pressed to struggle understand the factions and locations as you progress through the story. Enjoyable reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2017
It's a good mix of a traditional fantasy setting with some new takes on old ideas and a few new ones thrown in. His writing style took a while to get into and there is obvious over elaboration of the characters thoughts that does get tiring at times. The story picks up after a while because it was hard to care at first but I finished the book and now want the next one. Let's hope it keeps getting better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2017
Well worth a read, I'll be buying the next one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2016
A well thought out book that isn't a simple "good v evil" or "hero meets destiny" storyline. The characters feel fleshed out and not there to just move the plot along. The bestiary at the back was helpful, although the character index contains spoilers and is best avoided on a first read. All in all a really good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2015
Excellent epic story . Very similar to GAME OF THRONES . I enjoyed it very much and look forward to reading the sequels
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2016
There can be no doubt that this author knows how to keep the reader wanting to read more. The mode of breaking the story down into different scenarios seems annoying at first but as the pace increases so does the readers desire to get to the next scene of action. A really good read for any Fantasy follower.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2016
OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2016
superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse