Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
105
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£34.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2013
at last the perfect simple minds hits package,the first one back in the nineties was far from complete as it did nt have any tracks from the first three albums which some may say was there most creative period .the next one released in 2001 was a double but tracks were just flung together in no particular order.this time we have the complete singles in order of release . this time disc one takes in there best period 79-84. disc two 85-91 marks the period for me when my interest in the minds was fading.nothing on disc three i bought at the time but every album had their moments and there all here.for a starter package this is perfect, then you can start buying the albums starting with new gold dream,empires and dance,sons of fascination,once upon a time and real to real but for now enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
what can i say it's the Minds it's their greatest hits from the very first album Life in a day till the last Big music and i love it. from pop punk to electro rock to stadium rock charts the journey brilliantly
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
One of the worlds most underrated bands, for anyone who understandably believes Simple Minds fell apart at the start of the 90s should listen to the output from Black & White onwards to see how this great band has pulled themselves back from the brink. Thanks to some of the newer bands playing compliments to them they have started to be viewed in a more favourable light by the music critics who seem to have hated them since Sparkle In The Rain. I sincerely hope that the recovery continues and I hope they give everything in the Autumn Shows at the big arenas to prove that they still belong in the big league.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
One more Masterpiece EVERYONE should have . What a nice surprise to hear Broken glass park as well at last ! I suppose I'm not good enough to find the right words ...This is Simple Minds , it's pure and UNIQUE .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
Great album. If you are a Simple Minds fan then you will have most of these songs anyway but a couple of new ones have been added in. Good value for the amount of great songs that is on it. Buy it and enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
Take a superb journey through the musical genres, and personnel changes of, perhaps, Scotland's greatest ever band.

The remastering on these CD's is, mostly, nothing short of revelatory, especially the tracks from Real Life.

This can be purchased at Amazon-ingly low prices! Buy it if you don't already own any remastered tracks by Simple Minds.

Stick it on yer 'Fi' and play it loud!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
great 3 cd boxset ' exellent value for money. has everything for a die hard simple minds fan. 1979-1984. 1985-91. 95-2013.
from day 1 to present day track's + 2 bonus tracks. and 1 live track. this may not be a proper new album but instead you get
greatest hits ever from one of world's best loved groups. 50 tracks on 3 cd boxset. entertainment ' this is a must buy boxset
and you will go back to your early days when you had simple minds albums. please buy this greatest hits biggest release
. many thanks hitman 1
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
This release is just fantastic because it is a comprehensive collection of S.M. catslogue that includes quite a few new and useful tracks.The artwork is very good too.An essential buy for Simple Minds fans.Great to listen to any time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
I always think of SM as like Marmite - love or hate. I don't understand why - if you like; U2, Bowie, Roxy Music, Coldplay (or 'Sons of SM', as I think of them) Kaiser Chiefs, OMD, Pet Shop Boys, ELO, Duran Duran, Pink Floyd, Manics, A-HA and countless others, you WILL like SM - not least because (perhaps inevitably) over their 35 year career they have covered most types of music (apart from disco!) and have influenced many of the above. You WILL find songs you like here ! Although their 'star' has faded in Britian in the past 15 years, I am so glad they are still popular in the rest of Europe and beyond. Infact their last album (2009's Graffiti Soul) was better than U2's last 3 albums put together ! Pleased it was Top 10 - this has debuted at No 19 in the UK ALbum Charts, but deserved to be much higher; SM a PROPER GROUP relying on talent, not Producers to make great music.
PS Having listned to this for a month now, have to add that recent tracks Space, Broken Glass Park and Stagefright are right up there with their very best. Was annoyed that Q said you'd have to be "mad" to buy the 3 CD version - on the contrary - this is where it's at ! Little point in buying the 2 CD one. I stopped buying Q after 15 years about 5 years ago as their review are either too praise-worthy (every U2 album gets 5 stars!) or too dismissive. ANyway - we all know best !
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having been a fan of Jim Kerr and co. for some thirty years, I leapt at the opportunity to see Simple Minds play live on their current Greatest Hits tour. This triple CD is a reminder of just why the band were so successful, with their constantly developing sound from New Wave through New Romanticism and Stadium Rock to sophisticated balladeers and latterly all-rounders. Separated into three distinct periods, the first CD opens with the pioneering Life in a Day and ends with the power-pop of Up on the Catwalk, CD2 incorporates the band's most commercial phase, with the five huge hits from 1985's Once Upon a Time album (plus USA-breaking non-album single Don't You (Forget about Me)), and the groups 'empirical phase' when The Ballad of the Streets EP gained them their first (and only) UK number one singles hit. The last of the discs contains songs such as She's a River and Glitterball from the last hit album 'Real Life', plus a host of more recent (and lesser known) tracks.
Packaged beautifully with a photo booklet and glossy poster, as well as a sumptuous box containing the set, this is a worthy release for a truly great band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)