Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
15
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£26.36+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2016
This is a very enjoyable and obviously western-inspired soundtrack that is full of contrast, and it is also unmistakeably a Hans Zimmer one. It may not be up there with some of his more daring and memorable soundtracks, but it is solidly entertaining and surprisingly varied. There are fast- and slow-paced tracks alike with a variety of sounds and tones, reflecting the film's mix of comedy, drama and action.

My favourite tracks include the mournful and haunting 'Silver', the sombre yet triumphant 'Ride' - and the entire album is probably worth getting just for the fantastic, ten minute long 'Finale' incorporating the iconic William Tell Overture in a non-stop, emotive, action packed track, especially if you've seen the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
Once again some incredible peices of work by Hans Zimmer especially track 10 Finale which is my favorate but there isn't a track I do not like.

At Over 20 pounds for a cd copy it's pricey but trust me it's well worth it.

(Overall Review) 10/10 As awsome as the movie
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 November 2014
"The Longer Ranger" is an absolute delight to listen to and is certainly one of the best soundtracks of the year so far. There's a nice blend of melody, drama, and intensity. There are some unique instruments and vocals used in the score, which clearly have both western and Native American influences. In particular, the first two tracks on the album are very effective in placing the listener in the appropriate time and place.

One thing that's great about this album is that the music is given a chance to develop. This is becoming a rarity on film scores - too often a track is over just when you're starting to get interested. On "The Lone Ranger", the music has plenty of time to build (and sometimes shift in tone or intensity), creating a more complete experience. There is only one track that is shorter than three minutes in length, and quite a few that go 4+ minutes in length.

For those that are wondering about the original Lone Ranger TV theme (William Tell Overture by Rossini), fortunately it makes an appearance in this soundtrack during the cue titled "Finale" [Track 10].

Composer Hans Zimmer also scored this summer's "Man of Steel" - I liked that score a lot, but I found "The Lone Ranger" soundtrack to be a better overall listening experience. Zimmer is a frequent collaborator with director Gore Verbinski; and he has done some of his great work on Mr. Verbinski's films (including "Pirates of the Caribbean" and "Rango") - and now you can add "The Lone Ranger" to the list.

FAVORITE TRACKS:
[3] Silver
[4] Ride
[10] Finale
[11] Home
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
I was a bit hesitant at the price of this CD but it is was worth every penny. I really love the different shades and recurring themes througout and have listened to this infinite times since purchase. The arrrangement of the William Tell Overture feels like a complete score on it's own.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
Hans Zimmer writes incredible music scores and this one is up there with the best. If you like his music, you wont be disappointed, especially if you ignored the critics and saw the film, as he catches the atmosphere of it completely.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
Another brilliant soundtrack from Hans Zimmer. His interpretation of Gioachino Rossini's William Tell Overture was the highlight.

There were parts of the score that resembled Rango, Pirates of the Caribbean and Sherlock Holmes soundtracks too which was fun, though it might have been good to see Zimmer compose a completely different score.

Overall excellent value for money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
This soundtrack really hits the spot. Not only is the William Tell Overture well done, but the accompanying pieces carry the movie through. Home is one of my favourite pieces. It is heard at the end of the movie when old Tonto walks alone into the horizon. His memories, his sadness at being alone (question: what happened to the Ranger???), his entire life history is captured in the music of Home. A mood similar to that of Old Spock in Star Trek and his last days. It is just beautiful and something that words cannot capture. Well done Hans Zimmer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
[...] It offers some really good moments, such as large parts of "Finale", the theme heard in "Silver" and some of Zimmer's action writing. However, I find that the whole is less than the sum of its parts. Any orchestral subtlety is once again drowned out by layers of synthesizers; creating not only this `fake' sound that dominates most of the composer's output of the last decade; but also makes the score heavy-handed. Somehow, Zimmer's music always sounds forceful, even during quieter moments. With few exceptions, Zimmer seems to keep layering sound upon sound, creating an immensely dense sound - more so than I personally belief to be necessary. This is one of the key problems I have with his (recent) output. It may be frivolous and fun, but it is never `light'. Ultimately, it just becomes tiresome.[...]

Read the full review at [...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
It was well worth the wait to get hold of this! My sisters and I saw the film several times, so we HAD to have the soundtrack! Wonderful music - it could only be Hans Zimmer! If you loved the film, then you have to have this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
Absolutely superb score from The Lone Ranger! after watching the film on Amazon Prime I just had to download this, if only for the last song it was worth the price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)