Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now



on 2 September 2017
Little bit too much sexual assault for me to be comfortable with honestly. This is coming from an avid slasher/gore film viewer. ABCs 2 is better. The delivery and quality were perfect though. The low rating is for the actual film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2017
inside the minds of horror writers... surreal and brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2017
shocking
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2013
Everyone who knows me knows that I love drabbles. Drabbles are stories that are exactly 100 words long, this film is like a collection of drabbles. Inspired by the ABC books you read as a child this is a collection of films from different directors all over the world about death. Each film is quite short, only a few minutes each.

As with any collection of short stories these are a varied bunch leading to an uneven watch. Some of the stories are superb, others not so great. With each story being so short it's really a sequence of grim tableaux. And for the most part they are very grim and pretty gruesome to watch.

A few of the stories stand out from the rest. One of the early ones about a dog is a poignant watch. Some are funny, some are sad, the whole spectrum of emotions connected with death can be found here. Be warned that some are quite horrific, XXL where a fat lady trims her weight down is a good example.

It's always tricky rating something like this, many people would be turned of due to the format, which would be a shame. The range of quality also makes it tricky, when it's good it's awesome, for other occasions it is merely ok. If you have a macabre mindset then I'd say this is a fun and worthwhile watch.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2016
Seriously, don't waste your money, this has to be one of the worst movies ever released, pointless, random, these directors were given really loose guidelines, and most of them still managed to totally miss the point. Usually I'm more than happy for people to express themselves artistically, but these people didn't even do that, it's almost like they were given a little bit of money, and they thought to themselves, "well if I just re-cycle some crappy thing I did in film school, then I can go down the pub and spend the money that these idiots just gave me".
I mean, most of these stories make no sense at all, for instance if somebody takes a swim with a back-pack full of bricks, then that story isn't about gravity, it should be under B-buoyancy, or D-drowning.
To sum up, there's nothing here for anyone, unless they only have an incredibly short attention span, or don't care that they just completely wasted a couple of hours, I owned this movie for about 18 hours, it's in the bin now, and I paid a fiver for an empty box.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2016
This movie isn't really fun, not entertaining, it's just gross and disturbing. When it's not disturbing it's just boring. Not all the shorts in this film are good, some of them have a comedy aspect to them which may make the film more light hearted for some but most of them are just boring or really disgusting. It's just pretty unnecessary and to be honest I don't see the point in a film like this. I have watched some not nice films, but I never go back to them and this is a movie I threw away as soon as I got done with it. The movie as a whole is just demented, sick and hard to watch. I felt quite horrible after watching this. I went into this expecting really cool horror and action, but I had no idea this movie was nothing more than a stupid boring shock fest. Avoid this altogether.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2015
The ABCs of Death is a fantastic idea. Get 26 young and upcoming directors and have them shoot 5 minute short stories on the subject matter of death- from A-Z. So it is unfortunate that so many of the stories fall flat. It is also unfortunate that when you view a movie anthology with death in the title and take a look at the cover and posters, you're expecting all out horror. But that's not quite what we get. True some segments are of the horror genre but others are comedy, ableit dark humour and even drama seeps into proceedings. So don't be disappointed if you don't get 26 horror stories. What you will get is every gore scene and downright bizareeness thrown into two hours of sometimes utter mayhem.

Of the 26 segments, 6 were very good, 13 were not what you would stick on again however they were well made and 6 were simply poor. The best of the bunch will be different considering on your taste/opinion. Personally the shocking and rather moving Libido comes out on top for me. A story that could easily be a feature length movie concerning 2 prisoners who must watch vile acts and masterbate, whoever ejaculates first lives! Unearthed is another great segment, we never see what appears to be a cornered vampire by its hunters but the camerawork is superb and takes you into the heart of the action. Vagitus is stand out stuff, a sci fi segment that feels as though it was picked from a Philip K Dick short story, the effects are superb considering each segment had reportedly $5,000 to work with.

Toilet is done very well, a stop-motion animation with tons of gore, a very neat entry. Ingrown, XXL, Dogfight, Orgasm, Removed and Pressure are all very good pieces, with excellent camerawork, and all deserve a huge round of applause.

It's just a shame that with young creative minds we couldn't have had better segments. Opener Acopolyse is dull, Cycle goes nowhere, Exterminate is dull and Gravity must have cost $50 to make and is utterly contrived. There is a cartoon animation about a poo attacking its victim, what it is in the 2010s the fascination with poo? Chillerama had a similar fascination. Miscarriage is the worst segment on here. Not because of the obvious controversery of a woman attempting to flush down her dead foetus in the toilet but the fact that it lasts about 2 mins if that, half the allocated time and there is simply no story to be told. We don't do shock, ok? There are 2 stories that break the fourth wall and they are mildly entertaining, Q and W. Q thinks it's clever but falls flat but W works somehow.

The second half of ABCs is better than the first- but this is a real mixed bunch of stuff. You get the feeling that this wasn't executed in the way that the idea first originated. It's unfortunate that the movie was clearly marketed to draw the horror crowd in, because there are too many non horror segments. Imagine how great this would have looked had it been made in the 70s or 80s?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2015
The trendy expressions 'OMG' and 'WTF' are really the best ways to sum up this collection of tales. Some such as 'M for ...........' left me open-mouthed. In fact all of the tales involving toilets had that effect. This is what I really enjoyed about this collection: it was insane and there was no way of anticipating what outrageous spectacle would come next. Not all of these worked but, hey, it was just refreshing to see something in the horror genre that wasn't like a dozen other films and showed that it is still possible to be outrageous and imaginative.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2014
I have watched this dvd 3 times so far and will it again this weekend. A murder for every letter of the alphabet makes for some very cool (if thats the right word) and short short little featurettes. Brilliant!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2013
Anyone wanting to watch a "film" should probably not bother with this. Being 26 short vignettes, it is very unusual - the good side being that if one of the shorts is boring you, you only have 3 minutes until the next one...
Most of the scenes/stories are worth watching; scary, gross, interesting, funny...there are a few that seem lazy or mundane, but on the whole this is well worth watching. I'm not sure I understood all of them, but I was certainly entertained.
Loved and hated D in equal measure. T was brilliant. Everyone will have their own favourites. I would say watch it with an open mind and you may be surprised.
Looking forward to the sequel already!
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)