Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
10
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2009
Excellent; you feel as enthusastic as she is. Far, far more interesting that Fanny EDEN's journals, which I bought at the same time.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
Absolutely fascinating account of life in India before the mutiny written by an amazing and mostly unheard of lady who developed a true empathy and love of the country and its people and as far from the prissy and straight laced "memsahib" attitude as it is possible to get
One of the best things I have read in a very long time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
I loved this book, couldn't put it down. It gave fascinating insights into 19th century India, particularly the details about life in the harems and the difficulties of travelling at the time. Mrs Parkes was obviously a wonderful woman, open-minded, with a great spirit of adventure and of fun too. My thanks to Mr Dalrymple for giving me an opportunity to read it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2010
This is a most wonderful travelogue for anyone interested in the history of travel in India, 19thc adventurous women and the East India Company. It made me want to have known Fanny and to have had her spirit of discovery.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
Marvellous account of a fascinating life well lived in India! Parkes writes well, much better, say, than Lady Brassey where I read her books because her travels were great but the writing is pedestrian. I envied Parkes her adventures and can only wonder how she survived when rshe retired to St Leonards, Sussex!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
As it is based on diary extracts the content can sometimes appear to be random but stay with it. It reflects the expectations and values of its times but illustrates how, in some areas, some things remain unchanged. . It has some wonderful 'nuggets' re the status of woman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
A really good read, revealing lots of fascinating information about India and life in the Raj. It is only a pity that none of her paintings are included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
The period in India of the old bygone years is beautifully portrayed. Very fluid
language - easy reading. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
A great first hand account of life in India, written by an extraordinary woman. Thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2014
Fascinating account. A useful primary resource for any serious visitor to India
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse