Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
506
4.8 out of 5 stars
Mario Kart 8 (Nintendo Wii U)
Platform: Nintendo Wii U|Edition: Standard Edition|Change
Price:£35.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 October 2015
I've now had this game a couple of months and the only disappointment is that I didn't buy it when it first came out! Race around a wide selection of fun, colourful, and imaginative tracks, choosing from a vast array of vehicles, wheels, parachutes, and characters (you can even play as your Mii that you've created on your Wii U console).

As you race around the tracks you can collect 'prizes' that assist you in winning the races by disabling your opponents momentarily. the tracks range in difficulty so it's ideal for family members of all ages, and four players can race against each other at any one time. There are five categories of racing - firstly 50cc, 100cc, 150cc, and 200cc (super fast and very difficult!) which are simply different speeds of racing, and each time you complete a set of four races (known as a cup), achieving 1st in each race, you will unlock a new item/character to play with going forward. Lastly, there's the Mirror category, which allows you to race all the tracks the wrong way round - once you've been conditioned to learn the tracks, this is super hard to do!

If you want to take a break from trying to unlock all the items and win every cup, you can switch to Online Mode and play against other Mario Kart 8 players across the globe - this is (in my opinion) by far the most fun thing about this game. As long as your Wii U is hooked up to a wifi connection, you can simply select the Online Mode from the home screen, choose your character and vehicle, and you'll be automatically entered into a 'room' with up to 12 players. Two players can play online mode together at any one time. You can also add your own friends if they have this game, and they can join you in a room any time you're online, or you can create a room solely to race against your friends!

I regularly play this game with my six-year-old nephew, and he absolutely loves it, which shows just how versatile the game is with regards to age suitability.

When playing online, players in a room are able to chat to each other, but only by using a selected few phrases already built into the game, such as "hello', "good game", "that was fun" etc. therefore ensuring online security and peace of mind for parents of your children playing this game.

This is good fun for all the family, and not your average racing game - I highly recommend you give it a try!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 February 2015
I last played Mario Kart on the Wii and loved it, in fact it was my favourite game on that console. MK 8 is fast becoming the same on the Wii U. There's just something so appealing about playing multiplayer on Mario Kart. The smooth movement, sliding round corners, taking out other racers, it's just so much fun. Mario Kart 8 isn't exactly bursting with game modes nor is it that much of a change from the old Wii game. However for those new to the franchise it provides hours and hours of fun. For veterans of MK its worth upgrading for the graphics and music alone.

MK 8 includes some great new features such as gliding, racing upside down and up walls and some new weapons. It doesn't compromise on what makes the game great, so the older fan favourite tracks make a return. It features lots of tracks from the N64, Game Cube, DS and Wii plus new Wii U specific tracks. All of them look and play great. Multiplayer is smooth with no lags at all. The interface is simple and lets you and either play your friends or anyone around the world... and play quickly.

The only downside is Nintendo's stupidly strict internet communication rules, some router configurations mean you can't play with other players, you just get an error message... dumb in this age and day.

There's plenty to unlock and as always the replayability is really high.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
Bought for my 10 year old, he adores this game. The graphics are absolutely top drawer, as good as anything I have seen on any other consoles. The game play is tremendous, and the invention and design of the tracks is brilliant. He particularly likes playing online against other players from all over the world. In summary, a great game on a severely under-rated console. If you like gaming, do yourself a favour and ditch the xbox one and ps4 and get yourself a WiiU.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2016
I have been collecting Nintendo consoles and purchased all games and machines on release... I have owned the Wii U since launch. Previously I played Wii Mario kart and have had hours of fun.
What's great about this new one

1)stunning juicy graphics, being a massive Nintendo fan it doesn't disappoint

2)some of the old favourites like moo moo meadow and road tracks.

3)the multi player allows control with the Wii u remote pad and you can go old school and use D pad or tilt option...

4) standard Wii White remotes work.

5) insode the box there aren't instructions and it's a very simple game to learn and play.

6)nintendo have gone back to the 10coin collections method, this was previously seen in the Mario Kart Games of the past when the more coins collected the faster the vehicle potential is gained.

In short Nintendo have really pulled it off with this kart update game and the progressive level play that unlocks new characters cars and now vehicle upgrade....
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
good but ultimately nothing special, much like the wii u in general. There seems to be little advancement from the wii version and i don't think the tracks are as fun.

Too much emphasis seems to have been put on the anti gravity idea which is just not that exciting. I'm sure if you watch the videos back then it is quite interesting seeing the cars upside down but when you are actually driving then you don't really notice as you're concentrating on the track, car and opponents.

There are some fun tracks, especially with the new link download. I will always love the franchise but I don't think it has quite lived up to my hopes after the wii version.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2014
This game is quite frankly Awesome! It is the perfect kart racing game and quite possibly the greatest ever Mario Kart game. The visuals and controls are simply flawless and the track designs have reached an all new level of scope and inventiveness. Gameplay is so smooth and slick and you'll never experience tighter and more comfortable controls in any game whatsoever. The HD graphics are simply stunning but the games runs so quickly and smoothly alongside that. There is fabulous presentation and course design throughout, this a hugely enjoyable game for all ages.

There are a variety of controllers that can be used with the game such as the Wii U gamepad, the Wii U Pro Controller, Wii Remote, Wii Remote Plus & Nunchuk, and the Wii Remote with steering wheel attachment. All the control schemes appear to work perfectly (although the steering wheel method can be quite tricky, loose or cumbersome for some - it is a fun feature though which kids should especially enjoy trying out) but I tend to favour the gamepad or the Pro Controller.

I've mainly used the gamepad which also supports Off-Screen or Off-TV play (allowing you to play on the gamepad screen without having to view the game on your TV, similarly to playing on a portable console like 3DS) which is an always useful feature, although the gamepad screen reflects exactly what is/would be shown on your TV so if you're playing split-screen multiplayer the game will reflect the TV display (showing all other players and "splits" in the screen) rather than allowing you your own single display which I suppose isn't a major drawback but also doesn't make much sense.Nintendo could also have extended the 4 player limit to 5 players quite possibly with the gamepad user having their screen all to themselves and 4 other players on TV. Alternatively, the gamepad screen can be used to view race details such as the course map and a horn icon that can be pressed to produce the kart horn sound.

It really is a stunningly beautiful game and there is so much content and plenty of enjoyment to be had with this. You have various single player modes and multiplayer modes and also online play for either 1 or 2 players. It will be difficult to get tired of this game, you'll just keep coming back again and again! Extra DLC in the form of new cups, tracks and characters can also be purchased online from the Wii U eShop and this content is absolutely brilliant and definitely worth the extra outlay. It expands the longevity of the game even further. There is also some free new content such as extra vehicles and an all new 200cc mode which is stupidly fast and a lot of fun, it just adds to the enjoyable mayhem!

All I need to say is...

Get it, play it, enjoy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
Turn your racing experience upside down! Nintendo’s Mario Kart franchise comes to the Wii U console in full HD, introducing new racing circuit designs and anti-gravity karts that will have players driving upside down. And for the first time, all of Bowser’s seven Koopalings are playable characters-- get a taste of being bad on the race track by playing as Iggy, Larry, Lemmy, Ludwig, Morton, Roy and Wendy. Players will also enjoy a variety of series-favorite features, including the return of 12-player online competitive play, hang-gliders, underwater racing and motorbikes.

Mario Kart 8 is the best kart racing game Nintendo has made in a long time. It strikes a careful balance between refining old ideas while introducing fresh new ones. Admittedly, its gorgeous graphics and jazzy orchestrated soundtrack bolster its presentation, but you’re getting a lot more than just looks with this one – although I spent an awful lot of time gawking at the details in slow-motion, the fast and furious pace of racing with friends both locally and online is what really kept me coming back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 July 2014
The game is worth buying for Luigi's "death stare" alone and when you add on the fact that this is one of the best games ever made by Nintendo - and by far the best kart racing game - it's a must buy.

There are thirty two tracks that can be unlocked through Grand Prix mode in a career style progression. Grand Prix mode has three engine "cc" difficulty settings from 50cc to 150cc. The tracks can also be accessed through a Time Trial mode that has elements of free play track selection for tracks that have not been unlocked through GP mode.

It really shines in local multi-player mode where the split screen arrangement and the lack of animation slow down speaks of a rare genius in game design.

What amazes me about this game is the huge range of ages it appeals to: five year olds and forty five year olds (seriously) have played my copy and they are all genuinely engaged with the gameplay. More strikingly is the fact that a five year old can play competitively with an adult and, often, win (without the adult losing on purpose). The drifting mechanism is so intuitive that it needs no explanation even for a young child. This speaks of genuine thought being given by Nintendo to both the idea and the reality of family entertainment. Nintendo has pulled it off in this game like nobody else has or perhaps can.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 August 2016
This is one crazy game! Basically, the player can customise his/her own Kart to compete against other Nintendo characters. It's more difficult than you think, but it's enjoyable too.

I tend to prefer using the Wii U Gamepad to control the action as it's more ergonomically designed to sit in one's hand. We also purchased a couple of Wii Wheels into which a controller can be placed and used to control the driving. Either works well.

My son, who's nine, enjoys this game. Recommended, although if you're prone to seizures/epileptic then I'd give it a miss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
Mario Kart 8 has been a very highly anticipated game for Nintendo's latest console. We all know it has (sadly) not sold very well but I hope MK8 will help boost sales. The console itself is very good and Nintendo’s output has been, arguably, the best it has ever been.

So, MK8 is the latest version of the karting franchise. The main thing that is new here is the anti gravity, this allows the tracks to go in all kinds of crazy directions and you will often find yourself driving on the ceiling!

The graphics/presentation have had a big lift from the previous versions of the game, now in stunning HD with so much detail it makes my head spin. The level of care and craft that has gone into this game is astonishing, from eyeballs of drivers following rivals and dangers to cones made out of ice cream on the sweet level.

Mario Kart TV is also new, after each race you are treated to highlights which you can fast forward/rewind and then upload to YouTube if you like, directly from the game. There have already been plenty of excellent videos uploaded and I can see this feature being used very often!

Online is a little barebones but nonetheless very fun, have had zero issues so far and have even joined a community tournament.

Many people are complaining about battle mode as they have not included dedicated arenas, I can see why this would be a issue for some but I have never really cared for battle mode, so doesn't affect me. I hope Nintendo release some DLC soon however to keep fans of battle mode happy!

So to sum up, fantastic game, please if you are on the fence jump in. There are plenty of great games out on WiiU now, Super Mario 3D World, New Super Mario Brother U, Donkey Kong Country, Pikmin 3, Zelda Wind Waker, Wonderful 101 and many more!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 27 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)