Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2013
The Ascension Day cantatas were missed out of the Gardiner Cantata pilgrimage, probably because Ascension Day always falls on a Thursday, and it would have been an impossible job then to do the cantatas for the following Sunday. (BWV11 is often omitted from cantata surveys anyway, as it's subtitled "The Ascension Oratorio", and is seen as something different, like the Christmas Oratorio). However, thanks to the contributions of many donors, Gardiner has now done the business and recorded the four surviving Ascension Day cantatas at St. Giles Cripplegate, London, scene of some of the Cantata Pilgrimage recordings.

The Ascension Day cantatas are wonderful, joyful works, full of trumpets and drums. The best is BWV11 "Lobet Gott in seinem Reichen", but the others are also right up there, and Gardiner does them justice with great singing, great playing and, to my ears, perfectly judged tempos. A must-have for any Bach lover. Indeed, I would go further and say that, if you want only one CD of Bach cantatas, this must come perilously close to being it.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
Not as sparkling a performance s some of the series but well performed all the same. Filled a gap in our collection..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
This is the 28th and final volume celebrating the complete sacred cantatas of J S Bach by Sir John Eliot Gardiner, supported by the Monteverdi Choir and English Baroque soloists. I have collected the CD versions in order to enjoy the extensive reviews and personal commentary of Sir John on the 2000 pilgrimage that saw the majority of the Bach cantatas recorded in venues around Europe and the US. The booklet that came with each release is highly informative and beautifully produced. The musical treatment of these superb cantatas by Sir John and his vocal and orchestral forces is peerless. I am no musical expert, and not especially religious, but my spirit is lifted and my heart is moved whenever I listen to these wonderful recordings.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
Absolutely superb work - both the cantatas themselves as well as the interpretation by Gardiner and the performance - although a live recording, there are no blips or background noise. I have experienced Himmelfahrt many times in the last few weeks both on the way there and the anticlimax of coming back down to earth.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
This Gardiner 'Pilgrimage' series is unique. The first day that this Vol 28 came out, it hit the number 1 spot on Radio 3 for new releases. And quite rightly so. It is nothing less than 'SUPERB'.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
Missing from the original recordings because Salisbury cathedral refused permission to record, this is a live recording from the performance in London in 2012, only possible because of a fund raising campaign. I was at the performance in London - crisp, clear, fast paced genius of Bach and a brilliant performance faithfully captured on cd.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
It's Bach who, as Douglas Adams said understood the sounds of the Universe. To my untutored ear it's beautifully done. I loved it. I wish I could afford all of this series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
Each of Bach's cantatas is a masterpiece of blending of biblical texts and music. Lutheran faith melded with musical colour, excitement, emotion, creating a spiritual experience for the listener. Gardiner's recordings of the cantatas are a joy.
Mozartiana.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
This kept up the very high standard of the series, all of which I have collected. Even though this was not recorded during the pilgrimage, it is good to have the Ascension Day series to complete the set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
I cannot add anything constructive to the reviews of others. But if you are in any doubt that this album will lift your soul listen to track 23.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)