Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2017
Packed with great tips and practical suggestions. Perfect for Creative freelances. You can dip in and out, then use it as a reference point. Accessible and informative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Very good book perfect condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 June 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
There is so much good stuff in this book it's hard to pick a place to start.

If you are at a place where your ideas are not getting completed, then this book will give you some great tips to addressing that issue.

The book is a collection of themes and each one is written by a different author.

One of the things I was hoping to get out of this book is understanding how to get the most out of the time I have for my projects that are outside my weekly, scheduled work.

Understanding the importance of regularly visiting your project, even for a few minutes daily, allows one to maintain a familiarity with the project. I was making the mistake of allocating 2 days a week to the project and nothing in between. What this caused was a loss of momentum and built in confusion when those 2 days were intercepted by outside events, leaving 14 days or even more before revisiting the project.

Letting go of perfectionism was a good chapter for me too. Yes I want my project to be the best it can be but it also needs to be able to breath with at least a first draft.

When you see a chapter entitled "Finding Focus in a distracted world" how could one not be drawn to reading and consuming the advice?

I believe I found insight in every chapter. Its all really good and delivers on the promise of getting ones current ideas completed before concerning oneself with even more ideas.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
-WHO IS IT FOR?

The sub-heading inside the cover of this title says:

"Build Your Routine, Find Your Focus, and Sharpen Your Creative Mind".

The 'Creative Mind' part of this is the only clue that the book is partly aimed at writers. Indeed, most of the contributors to the book are authors themselves of one kind or another (columnists, bloggers etc.). This isn't particularly surprising as they are all peers of Jocelyn K who herself leads the '99U' and oversees the associated website 99U.com.

That doesn't mean that the guidance isn't also useful for us regular office workers but it would be especially useful to (budding) authors.

-AND WHAT IS IT?

It's a 'self-help' book giving guidance about how to prioritise one's work to achieve more. The book makes surprisingly narrow suggestions as to how to go about this. These few suggestions are then re-iterated in turn by the various contributors. I understand that this may be a way to affirm the points but it does get a bit repetitive.

-IS IT WORTH BUYING?

Overall, despite the book sometimes seeming like an excersise in drumming the same few points home, it IS definitely very useful advice. If nothing else, it will cause the reader to question how they work and how they can achieve more for themselves. With a little imagination, this can be used as a springboard to developing one's own ideas by questioning other aspects of one's working day/life.

However, if you already have a few of these types of books, I'm not sure you'll be learning much new here; this is more of a starting point than an exhaustive guide.

[My Ref: That book about how to respond to emails/distractions Aug 13]
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is an easily digestible, OK self-help book. As with most of the efforts in this genre the core message and info isn't that new or particularly ground breaking but this particular book is well written and nicely presented in digestible, short chapters. Albeit that you can probably get most of what's presented in this book across the internet with little effort, this is a handy little book to have if you want the various self-help strands explored here collected in one place.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
I bought this book based on the first 3 statements of the title: manage your day to day, build your routine, find your focus. Unfortunately the book is entirely focused on creativity. I gave up reading it about two thirds in as not only was the content mostly tips and insight I'd read elsewhere (or was already doing), but the way the content is presented is not engaging. Maybe if you are suffering from writers block this book may be of use, but there are much better books out there that cover the subject matter of this book's title.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
Quite obvious, waiste of time
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
read it a month ago - don't remember anything useful from it. Repeating advices that you've already heard. But if you need an inspirational push, not new insights, this can work for you.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 June 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
you will not find anything within the covers of this book that is earth shatteringly new. It is a series of insights into better managementvof yourself in a world which is frequently frenetic and focused on the short term. So for example, it asks "do we or should we always be connected to the web or your phone? how and when do we seek to become creative eg standing in line, do we muse, or do we dive for the smartfone? Are we seeking perfection, when what we got is good enough for purpose? Do we really believe we can multitask- think again. These essays by different authors, are quite short and snappy, some just a couple of pages or so, and yes, can be read standing in line for the bus, or train, or a coffee.

They are useful hints and thought provoking, and no less valuable because you will already be aware of most of them, consciously or sub consciously.

Definitely useful- only gave it a four star because most of this is well known and around in one shape or form already- but this is a handy and useful read. Having read it, you could dip into it for profit on a weekly basis just to remind yourself how to be more effective.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
This book shares stories on how to manage things that may come your way in an easy to understand, straight to the point kind of way, and I really liked it.
The various people who contributed what they do to stay focused do it in a well written way, but never claim theirs is the best way, instead just giving some inspiration for those of us that aren't as well organized. These stories are interwoven with facts and other tips from the author, and each chapter ends with some key notes to take away from.

What might separate this book from the scores of other books just like it? It's not too long - and like stated above, straight to the point- , and it has a lot of different points of view because of the various contributors.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse