Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
71
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 August 2017
Well I finally got down to reading a book, acknowledged as a POW escape classic, and I was not disappointed. Set in Italy, it had all the cliche's, poor Italian farmers, dastardly Germans, near captures, and more than the average love interest. The plot is similar to many I have read but the writer is an accomplished author who really made the story live, unlike many other books on the same subject.

Ultimately he did not make it to the Allied lines, but he did get the girl in the end !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
This is unlike any other prisoner of war story which I have read. The local villagers in the mountains supported him secretly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
A wonderful story of survival, trust and peoples unerring capacity to help each other even in the face of great danger to themselves. Descriptions of the country were amazing and I really felt I was doing the journey with him. Let us not forget the moments of humour as they are what often see us all through. Recommend to anyone who wants a 'war story' away from the battlefield.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
He is a great writer - love his books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
Not very well written, although very laudable subject. The minute descriptions of the countryside would have been enhanced by a decent map &/or pictures
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2017
A quite lovely story told in an honest and engaging way. An absolute joy awaits you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
Not quite finished it yet but like it so far - good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
A gripping read. He involved me right from the start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
Fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2000
This audio version of Eric Newby's tale of his experiences during WW II after the invasion of Italy is enthralling. Richard E. Grant is the perfect choice to read Newby's story. He reads the book with great passion and a fondness of a wonderful tale of survival and love. The vividness of his voice, the loving descriptions of the countryside and the people Newby came to know, the voices used for the people and the tale itself had me listening to the whole three hour book in one sitting. Well worth a evening curled up in a comfortable chair relaxing. Will undoubtling listen to again and again.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)