Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
28
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2013
This DVD i really like - the content is what i wanted, How did they construct the Underground system - This DVD gives the two versions that were tried and found suitable for the various ground conditions that were to be encountered. Good DVD for what I wanted to know.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
Not the most interesting and it repeats it's self on various reports if you only want to see films about the underground then it's not for you if you like construction stuff then it's for you .....
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
I cannot fault this continuing series of BTF films. They are very watchable, informative, entertaining, and bring back the memories. My only quibble is why the change of packaging from the original releases? Looks odd on the bookshelf now. I watch these with a friend and we get no end of fun watching the meetings when out come the pipes and baccy, "snorkels at the ready!".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
If you're interested in how things are done, transport, vehicles of the 60s, tunnelling, tube trains etc then this is a great DVD for you.
Two discs and five short films detailing the planning and construction of the Victoria line. Good solid engineering when Britain could actually get things done without reams of paperwork, emails and yellow jackets....I watched this and wondered why the a Edinburgh tram project had been such a mess as it was above ground and far easier than the tunnelling these guys had to do with their technology of the day!
Also one to watch if your politics are for an independent Scotland...here's where most of the UKs money goes..into very expensive London projects to keep London happy at the expense of everywhere north and west of Watford!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
An absolute gem, some very rare footage and really informative. A must for all persons seeking a piece of nostalga with a combination of imformative commentary
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
This is another excellent BTF DVD with lots of informative commentary on the construction of the new line across London from start to finish. Don't hesitate to add this to your collection
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
Have always been interested in steam railways since 1952 but now I am looking at the London Underground and this one gives you an insight to the early days of the Tube.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
Yes this was another good episode from the BFI Transport Film Unit.I was very pleased with this edition very much.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
As alway a pleasure to see a new title from BTF it seemed to repeat itself in part and the Bonue film had no sound with it by design or fault I am not sure, still a great record of the hard work carryied out in those days, as for health and safety we have come a long way, wearth having .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
This DVD set is About Victoria From 1960 to 1971. this your one stop for all the film's and BFI did a top Job on this set. If you buying From outside of Britain (United Kingdom) You mind Have DVD Player problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)