Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
342
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2016
best album I've ever owened. the words of each song relates to something in us all. it's a stunning album and I can't wait to hear the rest of his new album. went to see him live and he was brilliant. one of the best male
singers around in my opinion anyways
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
Got this album after hearing Grow old with me, the rest of the album is a very similar tone and all songs are just as good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
I'm certainly not someone who buys much modern music, but do so only when something or someone gets my attention. I don't know much about Odell, but heard some of his material by accident a month or so ago and was rather taken by it. The album doesn't disappoint. It is well produced, performed and written, and Odell comes over as likeable. Yes, there is a lack of variety here, with this being a ballad-led set, but a first album isn't necessarily the right time to go out and take risks. We're not in the 1950s or 1960s when an artist would be given multiple chances to make his mark on the scene. Now, if your first album isn't a hit, you're dropped. Odell presents us with ten songs which concentrate on the style that brought his attention, and there's nothing wrong with that, especially when it's done well. The album IS short (very short, at not much over half an hour), but the deluxe edition adds an extra five tracks, including a wonderful cover of the Randy Newman classic I Think It's Going To Rain Today, which is worth the extra couple of pounds on its own.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
Following the huge success of Jake Bugg in 2012, there is another new, young, British singer-songwriter on the scene. Like Bugg, Tom Odell's debut album "Long Way Down" reached the top of the UK album chart, but there the similarities end. Whilst there are obvious musical differences, given that Bugg is a guitarist and Odell plays piano, their career paths have also followed quite different routes.

For one thing, Jake Bugg was allowed to come from virtual obscurity with few expectations upon him. Odeall, on the other hand, was the recipient of the BRITs Critics' Choice award in 2013, several months before the release of his debut album. This raises expectations, not least because 3 of the 5 previous winners of that award have subsequently gone on to win a BRIT award for the Best British Album. So, no pressure, then. Critical reception to their debut albums was also vastly different, with a 0 out of 10 review for Odell's album from NME prompting an angry phone call from his father. By contrast, the NME scored Bugg's debut album 9 out of 10.

It's not that "Long Way Down" is a bad album, it's just completely devoid of anything to hold a listener's interest. There's little variation either between or within the songs and many of them blend into each other. If you were to play a Tom Odell song to someone, they would be hard pushed to tell which one it was without significant clues. There is nothing here that excited me and, as a whole, the album was so middle of the road it was in danger of being hit by a truck. I can't remember the last time an entire album failed to move me as completely as this one does.

For an album that runs for only 35 minutes over 10 tracks, this wouldn't represent great value even if the album were far better than it is. In buying this, you're taking a chance on something that really isn't good enough to be worth playing more than once. I've played it over and over hoping that it was going to be an album that would grow on me and, many plays later, I've discovered that I should have stopped after that first play, because it doesn't improve with repeated listens.

This review may also appear, in whole or in part, under my name at any or all of www.ciao.co.uk, www.thebookbag.co.uk, www.goodreads.com, www.amazon.co.uk and www.dooyoo.co.uk
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
Downloaded this album by mistake. Listened and loved it. Went on to buy tickets in may
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
And not because he is a kid. This has a certain maturity to it ( as have I) which makes you perhaps all the more drawn to the music created. How can someone have so much angst at such a tender age? Who knows, who cares but it adds to the attraction of his music. The music itself, for my part is a nod to Jeff Buckley, a teenage wave at Chris Martin and more of a, get down on your knees for Bob Dylan. It's a relaxed, enjoyable, does what it says on the tin, (which for a lot of us is the wonderful Another Love) album.
Don't be put off by the over analytical, kill em at their fist album attempt, bitter oldies - - this is a refreshing collection from hopefully, an artist who has a lot more to give and will get better and better. But for now kid - congratulations.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2015
Best album ever!! The quality of the actual vinyl was really good as well, played perfectly. Would definitely if you are thinking of buying it. He's my favourite artist, and this album showcases some of his best work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
Bought this on the strength of the single and did not regret uit. Every track is strong. Looking out for his next one.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
listen to it all the time, my boyfriend played it me , and i was sold..ha
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
Fabulous, I have listened to this again and again.
Just love it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)