Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
35
4.1 out of 5 stars
Devil Girl from Mars [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 October 2014
A collector's item because of its curiously quaint style. And it's interesting to see quality performers like Hazel Court, John Laurie and the under-estimated Peter Reynolds delivering the goods with admirable seriousness. The dialogue creaks and so, metaphorically, does Patricia Laffan's space girl costume, but the film has a certain flair which is ahead of its time and is worth a view in its present very well remastered condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 15 June 2013
Much is written about this film. Many have seen only a poor quality copy that circulated for many years. Now is the time to purchase an excellent copy on DVD at a reasonable price too.
The film is wordy, the effects not high tech and yet work very well. The entertainment value is certainly there and the face spotting is a great game. This film features plenty of well known faces from both the theatre and film. Hazel Court looks business like and Patricia Laffan looks amazing in her PVC? costume. John Laurie plays John Laurie, brilliant. Peter Reynolds most often cast as a shady son or crook is back in character again. There are many good characterisations in the film and plenty of actors too. The science fiction element fits in with the homespun ideas of such things in the 1950s that made the audience laugh so enjoy...
This is an early Danziger production long before they had a production line in second features at their own studios. This film was made at the larger Shepperton and although on a budget does have decent sets.
Included in the slimline packaging are images of UK and USA posters.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
This movie is of interest to any collector of classic sci fi and horror movies. The usual list of suspects are gathered in a remote location and find themselves challenged to fight a superior enemy from outer space. Great stuff. What is important to collectors is the print quality and this is of the highest possible standard. Both picture and sound are pristine. The movie probably didn't look this sharp when it ran in cinemas in 1954.

Buy with confidence and enjoy.

For clarification I purchased the Region 2 edition from Network.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
When I went to the cinema as a child in the early fifties, quite often the B picture or second feature was a british black and white film, which sometimes was better than the main feature, of which Devil Girl from Mars is a perfect example. My only complaint is the credits should have shown starring Patricia Laffan, [who had given a great performance as Poppea in Quo Vadis[ not, And Patricia Laffan at the bottom of the credit seeing that that she was playing the title role. I did have a dreadfull imported copy released by Westlake [region free], buyers beware,this copy from Network is a vast improvement.If like me you like a. trip down memory lane, or you are a film buff [both applies to me] buy it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 April 2017
We all know the Devil wears Prada, but Nyah, his counterpart from Mars, prefers Pac-a-Mac, and what a stunner statuesque actress Patricia Laffan is in her PVC microskirt and leather boots. Yes, she's a pitiless dominatrix (well, by 1954 standards) who has landed on earth to hunt for men to repopulate her home planet. Out of this World!

This is a wonderful Sci-fi film of the Truly, Madly, Cheaply variety, produced by the All-Expense-Spared Danzigers, with a screenplay by James Eastwood of 'Scotland Yard' fame and directed by David MacDonald. It boasts a terrific supporting cast, with the gorgeous Hazel Court looking very fetching in a tightly cut velvet jacket and British actor Hugh McDermott doing a pretty good job as a brash Yank reporter . Others actors include Peter Reynolds, Adrienne Corrie, Joseph Tomelty and John Laurie, not to mention little Anthony Richmond who did such a good job in the touching movie, 'Bang You're Dead'.

The DVD is a Network release, so we get a beautifully restored black and white print, with reasonable sound (I had to turn the dialogue up a little but there was no hissing), but, sadly, no subtitles. Extras consist of a shortish Image Gallery and, according to the cover, a Press Book PDF, which I didn't check out. There's a good score, and the sets aren't bad for 1954, although the spaceship doesn't come close to the one in 'The Day The Earth Stood Still', on which it is obviously based. By no means a classic, but good value - I got it for under a fiver. Enjoy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
Transform the Arizona roadside diner into an inn in the Scottish Highlands, throw in a vinyl-clad dominatrix from outer space, and you've got an atom age ripoff of the 1936 melodrama The Petrified Forest. Scottish stiff Hugh McDermott, who should've known better, does a Bogie impression as the two-fisted newspaperman; Peter Reynolds takes on the Leslie Howard struggling-towards-redemption role, and the glamorous Hazel Court is the Bette Davis stand-in.

The movie's not that much fun to watch; instead of over the top crazy, it's a mildly dotty, stagebound piece of Exposition Theater. The Devil Girl (Patricia Laffan) takes great pains to explain (over and over) to her seven captives how powerless they are to stop her from doing whatever she wants, which is apparently to kidnap one physically adequate Earth male to service the entire female population of Mars, who've inconveniently killed off their men. The "nuclear," solid fuel belching flying saucer's kind of cool, and it's priceless watching the cast flee in terror from the ridiculous-looking robot -- a shuffling, transistor breadbox with a built-in death ray -- but this stately sci-fi drama is neither good sci-fi nor good drama; it's a good title, gone to waste.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 April 2008
A lonely inn Scottish highland is visited by a meteor. Also the usual collection of personalities. After we get all the introductions and drinks on the house, an unexpected visitor appears from the sky.

Yep looks like a neighboring planet is deficient of a certain commodity. Yep it is Nyah (Patricia Laffan) an aloof min-skirted man less female alien. To satisfy the sci-fi in all of us the mention antimatter (in so many words) and the nest dimension. Does the space vehicle look like a prototype of the familiar Spielberg vehicles?

Will Ellen Prestwick (Hazel Court) suddenly switch from tomato juice to whisky?
Will Robert Justin (Peter Reynolds) kill or make time?
Will Nyah get what she came for or more than she bargained for?

See Patricia Laffan in a more dangerous role as Miss Alice MacDonald in "23 Paces to Baker Street" (1956) adapted from the book "Warrant for X"
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
Two Stars, yes the story is dated as is the dialog. The special effects well, special effects do not make a good movie and I suppose when this movie was made, they were "good" today well the Robot enough said , I have purchased the Earth Dies Screaming, Night Caller, Village of the Dammed and Invasion and these do have a good story lines. The Devil Girl from Mars, story line is to say the least not good. Not a movie you want to add to your collection
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 May 2014
I would love to have given this more than 3 stars, but just can't. For those who don't know anything about the film don't be influenced by the rather lurid title and repro publicity on the front cover. This is in fact a very talky 1954 Danziger Bros re;lease ("U" Cert then, "U" Cert now), with 3 basic studio sets - The Inn, the Space ship and the surroundings. There is about 3 mins of location filming. The cast is (at the time) fairly low key, but interesting. Hugh McDermot (Canadian?) is the nominal hero, a bulky 40 plus. The gorgeous ladies Hazel Court and Adrienne Corri brighten things up and try hard. Peter Reynolds is a convict on the run and Joseph Tomelty is a professor investigating "goings on". Light relief comes from John Laurie and Sophie Stewart as the owners of the Inn where most of the film is set. Anthony Richmond, so good in "Bang You're Dead" is a nephew caught up in the action. Now let's get to the raison d'etre for getting this DVD...Patricia Laffan-perhaps best known for her Poppae (Spelling??) in "Quo Vadis" here she plays NYah, a Martian who lands on earth looking for men to restock Mars-As you do. Dressed magnificently if not a little fetishly in black latex and black tights she does look scary and dare I say it-pretty sexy. Personally I found some of the film a bit boring, but when push comes to shove I enjoyed most of it. Even the SFX weren't too bad (tho not very good). I do have one little grumble and I don't see anyone elser emarking about it so it may be my Flat screen TV, but the sound track whilst good (as is the 4.3 B/W picture) varied in volume so much I had to have the remote to hand all the time. The dialogue was fine but when the music and Sound effects came in the volume notched up to Heavy Metal level. Don't let that put you off. Good for Network for finding yet another long lost British film. Worth a view, I just wish I had liked it more No extras.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse