Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 10 May 2015
My first kindle book, I am 3/4 of the way through and I am finding it hard to put down, bought because it was cheap but I am really enjoying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2014
I am amazed that this book is so highly rated. In my view it takes two very serious subjects - Mao's decimation of China and the despicable one child rule - and trivialises them by weaving them in to an highly unrealistic plot. The central character is portrayed as a saintly being who emerges from the terror of the Mao regime and devotes his life to saving abandoned girls from the gutters. Unconvincing to say the least. I won't be reading the sequels ....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2014
A very sad story but it is also truths in what the author's written about girls being abandoned in China. Only boys were welcomed especially old traditional family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2017
really enjoyed this book, so different. as soon as I finished it I got the sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2014
An excellent book full of pathos. Describes a way of life we in the west can only imagine, it's a look into another worldwide
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2017
Excellent reading. Didn't want to put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2014
I absolutely loved this book, it just flowed, from one page to another, I just could not put it down. The trials and tribulations and triumph in the face of hardship. A truly beautiful read.....!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2014
Liked the book very much, was an easy read. Loved the characters can't wait to read the next one soon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2014
This book in its own way introduces the reader to life in China during and after Mao's reign . It is absolutely mindboggling
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2014
This book is interesting in that it gives an insight into the China of the past and the present. However it was spoilt for me by the poor language - it was full of American anachronisms and very poor grammer. I read it to the end but would not read the sequels as it made such irritating reading.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse