Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
23
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 February 2013
I don't profess to be an expert on Northern Soul. Like many I have steadily built by collection through compilations. My attention to this latest release came from this website - [...] , which gave me an indication of a quality release.

It is a wonderful collection of records but I suspect it will be suited to more serious Northern Soul fans. It's not one full of "Indeed I do" type mainstream songs anyway. That's not to say newbies to the "scene" won't appreciate it, but it is one of those compilations of rare and alternative version of classics so may not have that catchy element.

At the moment, it's also not a bad dent to the pocket either.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
I am used to the top class quality of 60ts soul compilations from Adey and Kent, but I believe this is the best yet. From the mind blowing original version of I Can't Hold On with the unbelievable tambourine playing by Jack Ashford, to the best instrumental I have ever heard, She'll Be Leaving You by the Pied Piper Band. The vocal on the RCA CDs was by Willie Kendrick...this is just world class musicianship at a frantic pace, Move over All Turned On and Sliced Tomatoes and I never thought they would be bettered.

The Lorraine Chandler I Hear Music is new to me and also brilliant, as is every LC outing.

I could go on, but this CD has 22 winners out of 24 tracks and is already in my top 3 of Northern Soul compilations. Well done Adey and Kent but why do we have to wait 12 months for volume 2???
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
I have bought hundreds of soul compilations over the years and this is one of the best. Nancy Wilcox and September Jones were new to me, but Im blown away by their tracks here. Special mention also to the original version of Lorraine Chandler's classic "I cant hold on" and the pied pipers players "Thats what love is" - which is actually the instrumental of Eddie Parker's northern stomper "Im gone"
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
I feel the five-star reviews for this compilation are somewhat overstating the case since they are in effect saying this compilation is a classic on the same level as say Aretha's "Lady Soul" or even KENT's own "Once Upon A Time In Wigan" Northern Soul compilation.... obviously absurd. My own rule on KENT's Northern Soul compilations is that those sourced from multiple labels are far stronger than those concentrating on a single label/studio (as this one is). That rule holds here that whilst this is a solid "3-star" compilation with excellent sound quality and songs professionally played with expert 'sub-Motwn' arrangements the songs themselves are pretty generic Northern Soul stompers with little variety (especially in tempo) throughout the 60-odd minutes. This lack of variety can be slightly monotonous even for fans of the genre (like myself) --- the better KENT compilations mix things up a bit more by throwing in the odd ballad or bluesier track.

The usual KENT care has gone into the package with comprehensive (if frankly exhausting!) liner notes relating the story of the Pied Piper Production house including snippets of contemporary interviews with surviving players. The sound as usual with KENT is extraordinarily good and it has to be said that considering well over half of these songs are unreleased the quality is actually surprisingly consistent despite the fact there are no lost classics here, almost every track consisting of medium-fast Motown-style rhythms and boilerplate arrangements. The best tracks are by the female singers with September Jones standing out from the pack with the moodier "I'm Coming Home" probably being the pick of the set. Lorraine Chandler, already well known in Northern Soul circles, also contributes very solid material with her "Mend The Broken Pieces Of My Heart" being the pick (again more downbeat in tone than the majority of tracks which makes it stand out). As ever with KENT there'll be a few mystifying choices of which Mike & Ray's "If You Only Knew" is a prime example with 'whitebread-pop' vocals and piffling lyrics over a Motown beat --- simply awful and KENT's statement that this song goes for hundreds of pounds on the collectors circuit just shows how easy it is to part a fool from his money!

Therefore in conclusion: solid enough for keen Northern Soul fans (is there any other type?) but please in no way is this a five-star item by any objective measure --- three-stars is probably a fair rating (ie. good if you like this type of thing but definitely not for the average soul fan; they should get "Once Upon A Time In Wigan" on the same label instead!).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
This is an excellent cd with rare tracks, by lorraine chandler, willie Kendrick, Michael and Raymond, and the cavaliers, well worth the price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
If you are interested in rare soul this is for you.Kent as done it again well thought out worth adding to your colection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
There are a couple of gems but also some not so good as with alot of these collections, but worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2016
Some good numbers , my favorate is ,The Hesitations Im not built that way,brings back a lot of good memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
Another top CD by the Pied Piper group. Quality tracks .Worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
Another great compilation by Pied Piper, very well put together
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)