Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 April 2013
I am familiar with 3 of these performers through previous solo recordings and seeing them live in concert,but had not come across Kate Young before. Northumbrian Piper Kathryn Tickell apparently suggested they might try playing together, and despite fears of a female folk supergroup collaboration, overall it seems a very democratic ensemble that definitely sound like they are having fun together. Each artist is responsible for bringing 3 tracks each to the album,and some of the tracks selected are not all traditional folk staples, for example a cover of Patsy Cline's classic Walking After Midnight is included. All of the girls play fiddle, and there are some nice vocal harmonies, with the deeper voice of Eliza Carthy clearly standing out. I am sure that live in performance they will be a great spectacle. This is an enjoyable and pleasant album, overall very good but perhaps not outstanding. It seems an inspired moment in time, a fortuitous coming together, whether it will be a one off recording or the first of many we will have to wait and see. I see they are going to be playing live at a variety of venues over the coming months, and I am sure they will be a good group to see in concert. My favourite tracks so far are June is the Coldest Month of the Year and Chickens in the Garden chosen by Liza, and Walking After Midnight chosen by Bella. There is not a duff track here, they are all accomplished performers who are supportive and egg each other on to good effect.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2013
I received my copy of Laylam yesterday, and have played it a few times in the car and have to say it really grows on you. I'm very familiar with the work of Eliza Carthy and Bella Hardy through their solo work, The Imagined Village and The Life of Birds with David Rotheray, so I knew pretty much what to expect, and was not disappointed. I have heard little or none of the music of Lucy Farrell or Kate Young, and was pleasantly surprised. The album is varied, Chickens in The Garden gave me a chuckle, other highlights include Dewdrop, June is the Coldest Month, and 100 years, which has a rustic, eastern European/Romany feel to it. All in all, highly recommended. I'll defo be looking out for future solo work from messrs. Farrell and Young!
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2013
Put together 4 of the top women folk singer/fiddlers, give them free reign and they'll deliver something unique. Tight harmonies are the consistent feature of a wide variety of tracks supported by a superb range of strings - a musical journey through English ballads, sea shanties, American pop and gospel often in an enexpected version. Although a joint effort of the quartet, whose enjoyment shines through, I would guess Eliza Carthy had the most influence. I look forward to being able to see them perform live - it's got to be fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2013
Interesting collection of performers in this folk 'super-group'. All excellent fiddlers of course, they have chosen a thoughtful collection of songs I personally found very enjoyable. Maybe more relaxed than some tracks on their various individual albums?

If you like any of the group as solo performers you should buy this album, I'm sure you will like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2013
I bought this because of Carthy & Hardy's involvement and was not disappointed. It is an eclectic mix of self penned, american folk and old standards all performed and arranged superbly. Four female vocalists and fiddle players does not sound like a good combination but the variety of styles and sounds produced are a breathe of fresh air and highlights just how poorly served most other modern female performers are served by towing the corporate line.

I love this record (Greasy coat often goes on repeat), marked down one star purely because some of the song choices will not meet the approval of more conservative tastes or people who like folk musicians to only plough a very narrow furrow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2013
fine harmonies by four young fiddler-singer-women; the risk of such operation could have been becoming boring by the extreme use of vocals and fiddle melodies; this doesn't happen because the four gals are discrete and each one endowed with strong vocal character and personal style; they're all very different but very close to one another in terms of musical approach and folk interpretation and attitude; not to miss; another star would have been gained by addiong to the product a booklet of notes.

0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2013
Good voices, good music, good lyrics. If you like listening to any of these artists, then having them all together is a bonus.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2013
These four ladies make a delicious, original noise. 4 intertwining fiddles and luscious vocal harmonies - and a fabulous song selection. I only hope they make another album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2014
Saw the girls at David Hall,South Pertherton.They were wonderful and full interactive with the audience.
They have now gone seperate ways,but any of them are worth seeing on own.
This at the moment is a one off CD with great music from each of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2013
I first heard a track from this on Mike Harding New folk prog. proof pre-ordered on the strength of this on track. I certainly wasn't disappointed the whole album is beautiful with superb harmonies from all the girls.but special mention must go to Bella Hardy what a voice that girl has got
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)