Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
30
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2013
Loved it!Epic power metal in its finest. Reminds of old Rhapsody. Solid production.
They do not re-invent the genre but they stand far above the descending Edguy and other epic bands who are trying to find 'new' sound.
I believe they will take off in their next albums.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
I have listened to this album at least a dozen times in the last week or so, no exaggeration. If you want a 'metal opera' with a sense of humour you should give this album a try (and the 'sequel' Space 1992: Rise of the Chaos Wizards). Hail to Crail!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
Ok, I'm a fan of Christopher's other band, the mighty Alestorm, but this offering from Gloryhammer is just stunning. An incredible fantasy orientated Power Metal opus. You MUST buy this cd!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
Great album. Funny lyrics, epic music, great vocals. A must for fans of energetic rock music and fantasy fiction.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
This is an incredibly good debut from Gloryhammer a new Power Metal band from Scotland. It's packed with great melodies and power metal anthems. The vocals are clean and excellent, the production is exceedingly good and all the musicians are on top form. Rather than pure traditional Power Metal it has an epic / fantasy / pirate feel to it. My album of the 2013 so far. It's really good fun just go out and buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
This is one of the more intresting power metal albums. It's good in that it doesn't take itself seriously at all (and with the subject matter that's god!) but the music is still well constructed and well played.

The concept is about an evil wizard overtaking Dundee, and the hero who quests to retrieve the chosen weapon to defeat the evil wizard, save the princess and blah blah blah. So it's basically a mickey-take of the general fanatasy troupes and clichies. This is immediately obvious with the first actual song (after the spoken intro) about an army of zombie unicorns overrunning Dundee. Yup. Zombie Unicorns. This whole album is full of songs and lyrics that raise a real smile (Magic Dragon is my personal favourite - I grin like a loon when it's on.)

This wouldn't mean a lot however if the music was rubbish. Thankfully for Gloryhammer it isn't. The band themselves play well , and the vocalist has the perfect voice for this kind of music. The production is done well, it actually gives the instruments some space so that, unlike a lot of power metal, the bass and drums actually have some prescence outside of being a faint buzz somewhere under the guitars. Yes there are overwrought guitar solo's, but that's kinda what you want from power metal.

It's not perfect, some songs such as "Amulet of Justice" "The Epic Rage of Furious Thunder" drag on a bit and lack some cohesion, and the while the band play well, this is not the most profcient of power metal in terms of the chord strucutures and solo's, but these are minor issues on an otherwise good album. Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
I bought this for myself, I have just found gloryhammer this is my first cd from them I will be buying more. Loved the songs, as a 50 something lady it's not my usual choice, but at the moment it's my favourite
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
Amazing album! Something different and the songs are very catchy! The best songs are defiantly at the start of the album but still an incredible album overall
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2016
Gloriously and unashamedly silly lyrics set to epic power metal. What's not to love?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2015
Gloryhammer, Alestorm singers second band and well its just as amazing as Alestorm
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)