Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
92
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 August 2017
Really care about them, MUCH better then the US rehash.
Love Supernatural monster stories.
Afterlife,Blood ties,Dead like me,Grimm,Hotel BeauSejour,iZombie,
Jordskott,Kindred,Lost Girl,Lucifer, Misfits,Moonlight,Santa Clarita Diet,
The Returned-Fr.,Thrones,Torchwood,True Blood,Walking Dead,
"Orphan Black" is not supernatural but makes my skin crawl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
Love this series and couldn't wait for the last instalment. Well written with a Classic British comedy twist. Really enjoyed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2017
I just love Tom and Hal's bromance, it's genius and hilarious, and oh.....Captain Hatch 😱😱😱 such a great baddie *shudders*
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
Brilliant. Watched when originally on telly now son old enough we have watched from series 1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2015
Not worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
The product itself was in great condition. Being Human is an amazing show and as the last series it was unforgettable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Fast delivery. New item. So pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
Well, what a ride it has been. Seven stars, five series, countless tears and endless embarrassing snorts of laughter. Being Human, I will miss you.
Series 5, where to start? It's been brilliant. The design and soundtrack are as always flawlessly selected and utilised, the premise and plot carry along nicely and never feel awkward. The guest stars are predictably wonderful - the superbly twitchy Mr Rook played by Steven Robertson makes a welcome return, and Colin Hoult earns his well deserved acting stripes as socially awkward Ian Cram, like the runner. Then, of course, there's the inimitable Phil Davis as - well - a role he was absolutely destined to play. And there are many more wonderful guests, bit parts, even creator cameos who all provide excellent support to the impossibly talented trio at the heart of the story. (There are some welcome returns too...)
Hal (Damien Molony), Alex (Kate Braken) and Tom (Michael Socha) are truly a dream team, I warmed to them almost immediately and their chemistry as a trio is second to none. It's all a matter of opinion, but I actually prefer them to the original cast - just a tad. And this series the actors really prove how talented they are. And they're very talented.
As for the series overall, the direction, writing and cinematography have all been kicked up a gear this year. And to make up for BBC3 cutting the series length by two episodes we were gifted a wealth of extra material online, most of which I expect will be on the DVD. We have also been promised an exclusive to DVD extra scene that will settle (probably, a bit) the wonderfully disconcerting ending, which I shan't spoil.
Probably due to the reduction in length, and the fact that the show was not recommissioned, the series occasionally feels a little rushed (especially the last episode, which is an odd waltz of action and anti-climax) but all the character development felt natural and the plot was always gripping, so I wouldn't even think about rating it fewer than five stars. In terms of all time, it's currently sharing second place with series one (for me, anyway).
This series feels like it has so much to prove, to show the BBC it was wrong to cancel it (it was always too good for BBC3 anyway); and you know what? It does. I feel fully justified in my five star review; rarely has a series kept me this hooked, this excited, this emotionally engaged. I encourage anyone reading this review to buy this DVD.
Five amazing years culminating in a truly spectacular, and utterly worthy final series. Bravo.
33 Comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Fifth and final season of Being Human, the BBC show about a ghost, vampire and werewolf living together and trying to lead normal lives.

This is not an ideal jumping on point, so new viewers should start with season one.

And as reqular viewers will know, the ghost, vampire and werewolf are completely different ones to those at the start of the show.

There are just six episodes in this season. All run for one hour [approx]. They are presented here spread across three discs.

Needing to pay the bills, Hal and Tom take jobs at a hotel. Alex is living with them and still coming to terms with her new existence.

But beyond the need to get by, threats await. The leader of the men in grey, seen at the end of last season, will do anything to keep his existence as it is. A newly sired vampire causes problems. And the foul mouthed old man in the hotel is the biggest danger any of them have ever faced...

Die hards may not be happy, but the change in line up has really worked. The three main characters are different to those we had before, but they do have an equally good dynamic. And remain incredibly sympathetic as a result of all they go through.

There are monster of the week storylines again. Some very strong new characters. But the season story builds very nicely, leading to a superb finale which confronts the central theme of the show once again. Resulting in a decent ending. Which does bring things to a close. Without necessaily closing the door on it.

A really great final season of an excellent show.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English.

Subtitles: English.

Extras are as follows:

Alex's unfinished business. Spread across the three discs, these are five short unaired scenes showing Alex attempting to find what's keeping her from moving on. The ones on disc two in particular are incredibly funny. And fantasy novel readers pay close attention to the list she has in the fifth...

Cast and crew interviews: Five five minute long chats with the three main cast members, plus the show's creator and the producer. A bit short, but all very good. The one with the show's creator in particular is worth watching for a part where he explains a few things about the ending. And another of the extras.

The third disc has one extra scene from episode five.

Plus an extra scene that acts as an alternate ending of sorts. As mentioned, the interview with Toby Whithouse does explain a few things about it.

There's also twelve minutes of deleted scenes. These can only be watched all in a row. But they're all really good and worth a look.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
For anyone unsure of buying this season: do it! It's an excellent ending to an amazing show. Being Human as such a breath of fresh air on UK TV when it first aired. In my opinion, the UK has always been a bit rubbish when it comes to decent horror television; but Being Human got everything right.
Season 5 continues this trend with a new line-up of principal actors who all manage to being true to their own individuality as well as paying homage to their predecessors. I loved the original cast; but never found myself pining for them during the six episodes of this series.
As other have said, this is the last ever series and that's very sad; but, at the same time, they did an amazing job of finishing the story in a very satisfactory manner. There was a moment during the final episode where I thought the ending was going to be a disappointment; but then they did something completely unexpected which totally elevated the series.
Highly recommended to anyone who has seen the previous four series.

Regarding the BLU-RAY - Picture is excellent; but, despite listing a DTS-HD Master track there is only a Dolby Digital 5.1; which is very good; but not what I wanted. The bonus features are good but not great. The best being a deleted scene/alternate ending - which is what I think would have been on the end had the series been commissioned for a sixth series.

Now to a couple of side notes: If you like Twilight then this is not the show for you! Twilight is great (the incredibly annoying trend of having to 'hate' twilight because it's so not cool is, itself, so not cool) but it belongs in a category of its own within the Vampire/Werewolf cannon of material. Stephenie Meyer did a very good job of creating her personal version of vampires and I applaud her for it - after all, they're not real so they don't always have to be bloodthirsty monsters dripping blood from inch-long fangs. But, if the scary type is what you like then BH IS for you.

Finally...don't despair if you crave more Being Human... I've watched the first two seasons of the US version and I really enjoyed them. The first Season takes a while to find it's feet because it retreads the UK storyline; but in Season 2 they move into new stories unique to their version of the show and it starts to get really good. The actors are great and there's 13 episodes per season. It's definitely worth checking out. Is it as good as the UK version? No. But, in the absence of a UK Being Human I will happily continue to watch the US version.

EDIT: Only Disc 1 has DD5.1 sound. The other two discs ARE DTS. Weird.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse