Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
15
JOHN MORALES PRESENTS THE M & M MIXES VOLUME 3
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 May 2013
I'm not going to add to Jay's excellent and expansive review (that i wholeheartedly agree with) .. but i would like to add my own thoughts of this outstanding triple CD

I'm more than familiar with John Morales' other works and i'm a soul/disco fan and collector of 25 years or so

This is truly a great album .. john has clearly identified his market ..THE DANCE FLOOR

In the great traditions of Dj's john has crafted something very special here .. he's taken great tracks and added to them giving his own take

If you think of Larry Levan and the work done by Mel Cheron at west end records or the great Tom Moulton , they all in their own way created something from what they heard
in a record . John with this release has listened to whats there and listened and watched the crowd as he dj's and given his public something that they want .. very very good dance music

The work that has gone into this triple set , well you can just hear it in every track , great mastering too ... you know this begs to be played LOUD ... which brings be back to how john has
looked very carefully at the market for this album ... i'm sure John has played early demo's from this album on his extensive DJ commitments throughout the world and observed the dance floor ... then gone back to the lab and added some extra M+M magic ...

I hugely recommend this album .... can't wait for Number 4
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2013
John Morales just can't go wrong. In my humble opinion, this is the best M+M compilation so far. Spread over three CDs, are real gems of disco classics, treated with respect and imagination from one of the giants in mixing and editing. The sound and mastering are excellent, the vibes are fresh and re-imagined with full respect to the original releases. If you like long disco versions, this compilation will definitely satisfy your ears. A big thank you to BBE for doing the job right on this one. Mr. John Morales, keep this stuff coming!
Some info about the packaging: It's a digipack that unfolds in 4 parts, with liner notes from John Morales (1st part) and all the info about the original releases under each of the three CDs. CD labels are reproductions of "knobs" from old 70's sound-equipment (a clever detail). I'm gonna spin these to death!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2015
I only bought this to get the M&M mix of a Teddy Pendergrass "Only You" which originally came out as a sunshine sounds dj only acetate in 1979. Am not really a fan of all these 30 years later dj re-edit comps but paying under a tenner for this track alone was worth it for me.
Some of the other mixes on here do look way too long and am not sure when they were remixed but I haven't gotten round to them yet as I'm still dancing around the kitchen to Mr Pendergrass!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2013
I bought it for Jean Carne as this one of my favourite records of all time and didn't think it could be improved on. I was wrong the re-arrangement of the song is a masterpiece but the best part the sound quality is off the chart this absolutely sings out of my home system and I cant wait to hear this on a Funktion One system AND THEN you have Barry Whites Never Never which is a different mix to the cd a ten minute opus which again is taken to a completely different level I am gonna stop gushing now and simply say this is the best piece of vinyl I have bought this year
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 May 2013
This is the third volume of John Morales M&M Mixes. There are some fantastic mixes on this volume. I would buy this alone for the the ' now that we found love' mix from Third World. I never liked this song very much but John Morales does the trick and have made it a fantastic version. Also Barry White's ' never gonna give you up' is great. Buy this if you liked the first two volumes. this is the best out of three!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2014
This is what happens when you choose hard work and honesty as a path of choice.....Stunning work.
Also Dj's will play this for years to come. Couldn't wait to purchase This one. Excellent!
Paul Simpson
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2013
Some classics on this album if you like the sound off Philadelphia some of the tracks go on a wee bit too long but still worth a listin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2013
Great item ,and number three as made it better .well done mr morales keeping the disco beat alive awesome and class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 May 2013
Anyone who loves this music and admires the production and mixing skills that still stand the test of time will LOVE this compilation !!! Thank you John Morales ...awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2013
The mixes stay close to the original vibe and sound terrific. Keep the series coming and the music alive. Mastering is perfect.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)